Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
2,130 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top reviews

RD

Jul 31, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

Feb 6, 2021

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 627 Reviews for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

By veronica g

Nov 23, 2022

It's a wonderful course!!! I really loved it!!! And Professor Seamon was very helpful and made very interesting the course. Thanks.

By Mathew T

Feb 13, 2022

Informative and interesing due to its good and relevant choice of movies shown. Very good narration down by the author of the book.

By ANGELA C

Sep 14, 2020

A very nice opportunity to review the concepts about memory, a subject very important through all the stages of the life. Thank you

By Darlene d V

Aug 29, 2020

This is an excellent course, I would take another course from this professor. Thank you, I learn much and have much to think about.

By Yenai J

Aug 13, 2017

I have fully enjoyed this course. I have learned a lot and the movies were great examples for the topics that were being discussed!

By Carole C

Dec 2, 2016

I loved everything in the course: the structure, going in depth in the concepts, the little quizzes and the movie clips. Thank you!

By Prabhleen A

Aug 3, 2020

It was an interesting course. I loved the peculiar movie selection and the way various aspects of memory is described through them

By POTHURI S V

Jul 7, 2020

It was a breezy course. My interest was kept intact throughout because of the the wonderful explanations of Professor John Seamon.

By Thomas d S

Apr 9, 2018

Came for Memento, stayed for the soothing, sexy voice.

This course is a perfect example of how to use entertainment for education.

By Brian R

Mar 1, 2022

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The lectures were interesting, on point, and the movies clips brought the topic to real life.

By Siew L T

Jul 6, 2020

Interesting approach in the use of films to teach such a topic. It helps me to learn both visually and auditorily . Thank you.

By Nurtan T

Mar 10, 2021

I really loved it. Especially as the movies made the course more alive and I will remember the material better! Thanks so much.

By Tilman J

Jul 28, 2016

A thoughtful and sometimes touching course. It gave me a lot to think about memory and the changes that occur in us as we age.

By Nishita B

Oct 12, 2022

me myself being a science student (undehsrgradduate) , i enjoyed the course lot more than my physics chemistry and maths

By Karthigeyan

Aug 30, 2017

The course was really entertaining. Came to know a lot of concepts related to memories and also some good movies. Thanks!

By Stegaru M P

Mar 9, 2017

The idea of linking the concepts to movies is really good. I hope to see a course that continues what I've learned so far

By Kartika M

Jan 7, 2021

For the first time I binge-learned something!! This is a wonderful course that I will be using for my research purposes.

By Emily Z

Jul 13, 2020

A charming and very quick (can be done in about 5-6 hours) class but very interesting! The movie clips are fun to watch.

By Amy Y

May 10, 2020

Amazing course. A very memorable and effective way of teaching using the movie as a guide and application for knowledge.

By Prateek R

May 19, 2016

Really liked the idea of using movie clips.. -- gives audio/visual illustration/example to textual psychology topics..

By Raluca M

Jul 6, 2017

This has been a very enjoyable course, well structured and entertaining. I have recommended it to some of my friends.

By German C

Aug 26, 2021

i BEGAN TO STUDY PSYCHOLOGY IN MY CINEMA CHAIR.BY THAT PSYCHOLOGY AND MOVIES ARE MY BETTER WAYS TO STUDY HUMAN BEEN.

By Isha P D

Apr 10, 2020

Very helpful and really very interesting, Sir has a really high knowledge and puts things up very clearly! Thankyou!

By RITESH G

Aug 31, 2018

Love the innovative way of learning the concepts on Memory through some excellent collection of movies. Thank you.

By Ronald M

Jul 4, 2017

This is great course about memory! I enjoyed all the movies that were used as examples in the course! Recommended.