Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach by University of Washington

4.6
9,038 ratings
2,159 reviews

About the Course

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Top reviews

SZ

Dec 20, 2016

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

PM

Aug 19, 2019

The course was well designed and delivered by all the trainers with the help of case study and great examples.\n\nThe forums and discussions were really useful and helpful while doing the assignments.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,078 Reviews for Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

By Dmytro K

Jan 22, 2017

Great intro to Machine Learning!

By Wenxin X

Feb 26, 2016

In my opinion, the course is well designed. I generate a rough idea about the basic concepts of machine learning through it. These concepts are important but made easy to understand.

By Miao J

Mar 28, 2016

Great opening course for new machine learners!

By Joseph L

Feb 28, 2016

Had a blast. I have no background in ML whatsoever. But the tools, concepts and exercises presented is really interesting and really help set the mood for the rest of the specialization.

By Luo T

Dec 04, 2015

Superb organised! Very interesting!

By Sowrabh N R S

Nov 19, 2015

Great course.

Focuses on the fundamentals and the practice part more. It helps you get a flair for ML.

By Andrew R

Jan 19, 2016

Great overview of different machine learning techniques. You don't learn much about implementing the individual techniques in this class, but you get a broad overview of many different techniques, which is the point of this class.

By Jake G

Dec 06, 2016

Loved it!

By Mohammad M

Dec 25, 2015

In one word, AWESOME. Made a lot of sense for beginners. Certainly recommended whoever is new to machine learning. Thank you Emily and Carlos. I cannot tell you how much help I have received from it. Looking forward to rest of the specialization.

By Alan L

Dec 22, 2017

Amazing Introduction to ML. I came in with little understanding of ML and no Python or coding experience. I had to do most weeks twice while learning extra Python on the side from Code Academy but if a complete novice like me can do this anyone can! The professors are great- they're great at breaking down complex ideas into simple examples.

By Sandra L L G

Aug 20, 2017

I have learned the basics about Machine Learning in a simple way :) Highly recommended.

By Luiz J P d A

Aug 13, 2017

Excelent and the enthusiams of lecturesr and helpers is contagious.

By Chengjun J

Feb 08, 2016

good start!

By Vijai K S

Dec 06, 2015

So far it has been awesome.

By Rubén A S M

Oct 08, 2015

Amazing and very entertaining introduction to Machine Learning. It has interesting labs and the theory is explained clearly.

By Fernando B

Feb 21, 2017

Best Course on ML yet on the Web

By Ravi A

Oct 27, 2016

Very good starter course for Machine Learning with enough practice examples. It was really helpful for me to understand what ML is and its real time application.

By Kirill L

Feb 03, 2016

Great for a start.

Still has some issues for those who use sklearn and pandas.

Also I'd prefer to see more detailed info on neural networks instead of deep learning module.

By James P

Nov 27, 2016

Very nice overview / introduction to machine learning. Setting up the environment initially was annoying but well worth the effort to be able to analyze/solve more realistic use cases.

By Claudia V A B

Apr 14, 2016

Excelent course that gives you a global vision about actuals machine learning probles and how to solve them.

By abhijit s

Feb 09, 2016

This course is one of the best MOOC i have attended, best approach and nice hands on.

By Aniket R

Feb 06, 2016

The case study approach makes it fun to learn machine learning. The introduction to various topics through specific examples increases curiosity and sets the tone for the following courses in the specialization.

By Vikash C S

Nov 15, 2015

I am currently taking this course and I find this approach (case study approach) very effective in learning on MOOC platform.

By Bigyan S

Nov 18, 2017

Just what I needed. Goes through the applications first and then to the theoretical aspects later.

By Aku-Jaakko S

Mar 07, 2016

Hands down, one of the best courses I've ever taken. Exciting, informative and motivating teaching style!