Chevron Left
Back to Economics of Money and Banking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Economics of Money and Banking by Columbia University

4.9
stars
1,050 ratings
284 reviews

About the Course

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top reviews

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 279 Reviews for Economics of Money and Banking

By Perikli P

Dec 04, 2016

Prof. Mehrling's ability to explain such complex items is just amazing. His passion in teaching as well as his neutrality are really thrilling. Thank you very much Professor.

By Vusal T H

Dec 10, 2017

This course is something priceless. Best course about money and banking in internet. The tutor was great. There is not a word to discribe the perfectness of this course.

By karey d

Jul 27, 2020

Very helpful course. Professor is very knowledgable in the field and way of teaching is easy to follow. Help to understand the modern money system and capital market.

By Morgan M

May 19, 2020

This course is definitely not for everybody; then the insights are crucial to understand the current economic and financial situation amid the COVID 19 induced crisis

By Udit P

Aug 15, 2017

Probably the best course I've ever taken! The money view approach is very unique in itself. Professor Mehrling's old school way of teaching is very refreshing indeed!

By Priyam O

May 25, 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

By Gudmundur O

Jan 12, 2018

Great presentation of Money and Banking.

Perry's introduction of a complex systems are very well delivered in simple peaces that all come together at the end.

By Alison W

Sep 20, 2020

It's a good quality course with a great lecturer. The feedback in the test is not helpful though. Feedback such as "Nope" for a wrong answer is not helpful.

By Meet S

Aug 31, 2020

Very relevant considering the enormous impact the FED and other central banks are having by infusing unprecedented amount of liquidity into their economies.

By rohit r

Nov 02, 2016

As far as I have come, the course is depth driven having real life applications than most of the other courses I have come across and completed. Thank you.

By Stefan P

Jul 24, 2020

Truly inspirational and Prof. Mehrling is unquestionably one of the brightest minds of this generation. He teaches in a very vivid and comprehensible way.

By James K

Feb 25, 2020

I loved the structure and the content of this course. I cannot thank Professor Perry enough for posting his lectures online for all to see and learn.

By Chen L

Jan 21, 2017

The course teaches systematically, links up money markets and capital markets and at the end opens a new way of thinking about economics and finance.

By Jesus S

Sep 17, 2018

Great course, substantial breadth. Explains many details usually left out in standard International Finance/Money courses. Thank you Profr. Mehrling

By Kolybina A

Mar 28, 2017

I was impressed by the manner of professor to tell this money story! It was really fascinating to view complicated money schemes as an amazing quest

By Steven R

Feb 13, 2017

This course blew my mind. Our professor was interesting, lessons well planned and content important. I now read the Financial Times daily. Thank you

By Agustin P

May 10, 2019

Excellent course, new and insightful approach on the subject matter. Highly relevant for modern day finance and economics and the challenges ahead.

By Rajya M

Jul 20, 2020

Prof. Perry Mehrling has presented the course with linkage of traditional and shadow banking and loved taking his classes. Thank you Coursera :)

By Roman S

May 31, 2020

A mind-blowing course that helps you build an intuition about the nature and the current state of money (and to some extent capital) markets.

By Pramanshu R

Jul 29, 2017

Quite exhaustive course covering details about banking and finance. Amazing Professor, good content. The focus on current events is good too.

By Mahmood A K E

Aug 03, 2017

Really amazing in terms of views and knowledge to be acquired.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone looking to expand in the domain.

By Yechen H

Jul 05, 2017

A different way to look at today's Financial World. The material is well structured and easy to understand. Thank you Professor Mehrling.

By Miquel B L

May 27, 2020

Excellent course with very enlightening explanaitions of how the modern financial system works thorugh the lenses of monetary economics.

By Michele C

Sep 06, 2020

Very interesting and unusual course on banking system held by a good professor who is also inspired by the history of economic thought.

By Thoshitha

Jan 02, 2017

The basics were well taught and understandable in 1 time view of video and the standards of the university are great! Thanks coursera!