Chevron Left
Back to Network Protocols and Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Network Protocols and Architecture by Cisco

4.8
stars
1,018 ratings
155 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the second of five courses in the Cisco Networking Basics Specialization. Have ever wondered how devices on computer networks truly communicate? There are specific protocols or rules and standards that every device must follow to access the Internet and to communicate over a network. In this course, you will examine the principles of network communication, how networks are designed and what specifically is being sent and received by different devices when we send pictures, text messages, video or any other data across the network. What exactly is sent and how is it sent are the questions that will be answered in this course. At the end of this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain how protocols and standards benefit a global internetwork. 2. Describe how the Ethernet Protocol transmits data within a LAN. 3. Explain IPv4 addressing and the role subnet masks. 4. Use Cisco Packet Tracer to connect hosts to a wireless router in a LAN. 5. Use a protocol analyzer or "packet sniffer" to open and examine a data packet that has been transmitted across a network. 6. Examine a Windows computer to locate the physical or MAC address used send and receive data....

Top reviews

TA

Jan 06, 2019

A really useful course for beginners. Great content and practice materials. This course would probably enable you to install or troubleshoot your own home network, either wired or wireless!!

IK

Jun 09, 2018

The course was really good the materials that were provided were sufficient enough and the assisgnments were realy good , one can easily learn by doing them and from knowing ones mistake

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 153 Reviews for Network Protocols and Architecture

By Kanwar L G

Feb 11, 2018

This was an excellent course. I request CCNA level courses be introduced on Coursera, which help to seek professional certifications.

By Kevin C

May 31, 2018

I loved this course compared to the first one. It really explained useful topics on how to understand a network architecture.

By PRACHI N P

Aug 08, 2019

good course. domain knowledge of guide is very effective. anyone can gain good knowledge from there course.

By Eric M H

Mar 09, 2019

Very good course; it is an applied course, where we use different tools, and Cisco Packet Tracer simulator.

By Bibhupad T

May 10, 2019

Organised and precise!. I recommend you to take this course for a clear understanding of computer networks

By Edson B e S

Nov 13, 2019

Great content, for both people who will manage large networks and or home and small business networks.

By Umid R

Nov 16, 2019

I loved this course. Good content, great way of presentation. Definitely worth to take this course.

By Vippu S K

Jul 13, 2019

It was really great I loved the way they have framed each theory the videos of lectures were good.

By Sipai S N

Jun 01, 2019

Excellent course. It helped me a lot to clear my basic doubts about IPv4 addressing and networks.

By Omoloma B B

Aug 19, 2018

I am very happy to have done this course because it was very informative and practical. thank you

By Amit K

Feb 17, 2020

I am learn the in course how to assign ip and ping two or more pc and communicate to each other

By Saurabh K

Dec 17, 2018

Very detailed and elegantly planned course. The speed and style of teaching couldn't be better.

By Ram K K

Jan 28, 2018

Great Explanation with example to understand how things are work in networking for beginners

By martijn k

Apr 14, 2018

Exam was difficult and sometimes not clear.

but that had more to do with my English. :-)

By V. D

Jan 15, 2018

Provides clear picture on NW protocols, Architecture, Sub-netting, IP Addressing etc.

By Art Z

Mar 23, 2018

This was a very thorough class with lots of details fed to you at a reasonable pace.

By Luciano M

Jul 08, 2018

Excellent course by an Excellent worldwidely accredited IT provider, Cisco Systems.

By Hooman A

Dec 03, 2019

A great practical course, It will teach you step by step with high quality content

By stan p

Feb 08, 2018

Enjoyed immensely - great explanation of what happens at the various OSI layers.

By Francisco H

Jun 07, 2018

Re-iteration of fundamentals to make sure you understand how networking works!

By 규승 황

Jan 14, 2019

I love this network course series. It's really helpful and easy to follow.

By Chance L

Jun 05, 2019

Very helpful information as this is helping me study for my ICND1 exam.

By Ketu P

Oct 24, 2019

GRERAT COURSE ,COVERS GOOD FUNDAMENTLS OF ROUTER SWITCH MAC IP etc...

By Haider A

Nov 23, 2018

Awsome 🙂 Learned a lot about networks, network protocols, IP, etc.

By Mahwish S

Apr 04, 2019

This course helped a lot to learn the skills. Thank you very much.