Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Neuroeconomics: How the Brain Makes Decisions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Neuroeconomics: How the Brain Makes Decisions by HSE University

4.6
stars
1,383 ratings
301 reviews

About the Course

Economics, psychology, and neuroscience are converging today into a unified discipline of Neuroeconomics with the ultimate aim of creating a single, general theory of human decision-making. Neuroeconomics provides biologists, economists, psychologists and social scientists with a deeper understanding of how they make their own decisions and how others decide. Neuroscience, when allied with psychology and economics, creates powerful new models to explain why we make decisions. Neurobiological mechanisms of decision-making, decisions under risk, trust and cooperation will be central issues in this course. You will be provided with the most recent evidence from brain-imaging techniques (fMRI, TMS, etc.) and introduced to the explanatory models behind them. The course does not require any prior study of economics and neuroscience; however, it might require you to study novel interdisciplinary materials. The course provides an introduction to the methodology, assumptions, and main findings of Neuroeconomics. Our students have different backgrounds; therefore, I have adapted and simplified the course to allow all students to understand the interdisciplinary content. This course will help you to start your progress in the field of Neuroeconomics and to further develop your skills during other more advanced courses and trainings in the future. For some topics, the course will also provide supplementary videos to reveal the opinions of leading experts in the field. Each module provides optional reading material. The course structure is as follows: During each video, you will have to answer some relevant questions. Your answers will not affect your final grade. At the end of each module, you must complete a quiz consisting of 15 questions. To pass the course, you must reach a satisfactory standard in all the course modules by completing all graded quizzes and the final exam. In addition to watching video lectures and taking quizzes, you will receive an invitation to join our forum. We plan to join the discussions in the forum on a weekly basis. Welcome to Neuroeconomics World! Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

DA
Feb 11, 2017

Very interesting stuff :) I couldn't wait to get started with new lessons. Would love to see a follow up course discussing more advance and complex neuroeconomics papers in the future.

JR
Apr 11, 2018

The best Neuroscience course out there for those focused on the frontal cortex and decision science. Great use of scientific evidence to illustrate what we know and what we don't know

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 294 Reviews for Introduction to Neuroeconomics: How the Brain Makes Decisions

By Alex M

Mar 12, 2016

Excelent content

By Christian C

Jan 31, 2016

Amazing overview

By pushpendrapal s b

Mar 6, 2019

a useful coarse

By Miguel A M C

Jan 17, 2018

Great course!!!

By Alejandro J C B

Mar 6, 2017

excelente curso

By Vania M B M

Dec 16, 2020

Amazing course

By Jonathan N

Jan 23, 2018

Well worth it!

By Аида А

Mar 30, 2020

Василий класс

By Xiaoyu G

Apr 5, 2016

good to start

By Tom S

Feb 12, 2016

Great course!

By Kenneth B

Mar 20, 2019

Great Course

By Казанцев Д А

Oct 21, 2020

Все супер!

By María C A C

Jul 15, 2016

muy bueno

By Jhon V

May 1, 2016

excelent!

By Mauricio F Z M

Dec 2, 2015

Excelente

By Pedro V H S

Nov 3, 2015

Amazing!!

By Timofey Z

May 25, 2016

awesome!

By Crony C

Aug 12, 2020

Awesome

By Логинова Е Р

Nov 7, 2016

so, so

By 高成

Jul 6, 2017

good

By Justin G M

May 28, 2016

Good

By Asya K

Mar 31, 2020

lol

By Marcelo B Y

Nov 9, 2017

G

By Lia Q F

Aug 9, 2019

My background is in Economics and I was looking for ways in which Neurosciences could inform Economics. What I liked most was to get to know some studies in which different decisions are made when specific parts of the brain are deactivated or hormone levels interfered. Additionally, it was very nice to recall some of the insights biology and evolutionary theories have to offer when attempting to understand human behavior, alone and in groups. Finally, I really enjoyed some of the discussions with experts at the end of each week - I got to know the current state of the art of well-selected topics.

What I disliked was the disproportion between the number of hours and content, although I am not sure whether some of it could be skipped... There were several applications to economic settings (let's say these imply decisions where utility or value is at stake), namely self-control, risk-taking, loss aversion, competition vs cooperation, but I would have liked there to be some recap classes highlighting the direct connection between the brain area / neural phenomenon and the observed behavior. The Professor could also show more enthusiasm (facial expressions, voice) since the course is many hours long.

Still, the content of the course was nice and covered several insights from the span of disciplines in Neuroeconomics. My impression is that the bridging of disciplines is still very young but has a lot of potential. Good job!

By Denis W

Aug 4, 2020

An amazing course on a subject that not a lot of people know about. It may get a little difficult sometimes but overall it has a good difficulty level for beginners.

The professor explained the topics in a great way and although he had a bit of a Russian accent sometimes, this was not a problem in any way. However (and I think this is actually a problem with the platform) the English transcription and subtitles had horrible mistakes sometimes. I like to use them to read as I hear and the errors were pretty distracting. (The worst one I saw was "nuclear psycho meds". Try to concentrate after reading that!)

Overall a great course and one I recommend if you want to know more about the science of decision-making.