Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Neuroeconomics: How the Brain Makes Decisions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Neuroeconomics: How the Brain Makes Decisions by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.7
stars
1,142 ratings
236 reviews

About the Course

Economics, psychology, and neuroscience are converging today into a unified discipline of Neuroeconomics with the ultimate aim of creating a single, general theory of human decision-making. Neuroeconomics provides biologists, economists, psychologists and social scientists with a deeper understanding of how they make their own decisions and how others decide. Neuroscience, when allied with psychology and economics, creates powerful new models to explain why we make decisions. Neurobiological mechanisms of decision-making, decisions under risk, trust and cooperation will be central issues in this course. You will be provided with the most recent evidence from brain-imaging techniques (fMRI, TMS, etc.) and introduced to the explanatory models behind them. The course does not require any prior study of economics and neuroscience; however, it might require you to study novel interdisciplinary materials. The course provides an introduction to the methodology, assumptions, and main findings of Neuroeconomics. Our students have different backgrounds; therefore, I have adapted and simplified the course to allow all students to understand the interdisciplinary content. This course will help you to start your progress in the field of Neuroeconomics and to further develop your skills during other more advanced courses and trainings in the future. For some topics, the course will also provide supplementary videos to reveal the opinions of leading experts in the field. Each module provides optional reading material. The course structure is as follows: During each video, you will have to answer some relevant questions. Your answers will not affect your final grade. At the end of each module, you must complete a quiz consisting of 15 questions. To pass the course, you must reach a satisfactory standard in all the course modules by completing all graded quizzes and the final exam. In addition to watching video lectures and taking quizzes, you will receive an invitation to join our forum. We plan to join the discussions in the forum on a weekly basis. Welcome to Neuroeconomics World! Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

DA

Feb 12, 2017

Very interesting stuff :) I couldn't wait to get started with new lessons. Would love to see a follow up course discussing more advance and complex neuroeconomics papers in the future.

SS

Jan 29, 2016

fantastic new topic. Despite his accent, Professor Klucharov has taught this difficult topic very nicely.\n\nEnjoyed every moment of it and learnt so much despite being a Neurologist.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 229 Reviews for Introduction to Neuroeconomics: How the Brain Makes Decisions

By Luis D M V

Aug 18, 2016

This amazing course have influenced my way of thinking. After these nine weeks I am convinced that the neuroeconomics approach is the best to work on mi thesis

By Jason M C

May 31, 2016

The lectures can be a bit dry, but this is a wonderfully fascinating subject, and well worth the time to explore if you're at all interested in human behavior!

By Priyanka S

Jun 27, 2016

Well spoken professor, fair quizzes, and very interesting material. Will help me understand how to work with patients in a Physical Therapist setting better

By Jason C

Mar 08, 2019

This course was very informative. I enjoyed learning a lot about decision making and the brain. I'm interested in exploring this field in greater detail.

By Geo P

Feb 12, 2018

Me encanto este curso, el profesor transmite muy clara y resumidamente los aspectos fundamentales del curso. La bibliografía es actualizada y accesible.

By Philipp L

Oct 26, 2017

excellent introduction into neuroeconomic, very structured, very well presented, inspiring readlist and easy to follow. I enjoyed this course very much.

By Simon D

May 14, 2016

Excellent overview and mix of economics, psychology and neuroscience. I was missing the neuroscience part in my training and this was excellent for me.

By 梁楠

Sep 12, 2016

Highly recommend it. The professor provides very specific explanation on basic concepts of neuro-science for entry level learners and inspires me to

By Sheng Z

Jan 31, 2016

Interesting introduction. This course helped me find structure around previously known but scattered facts around cognition and decision-making.

By Ignacio E C

Oct 13, 2016

Un programa totalmente recomendable, completo y claro. Es una magnífica aproximación a esta nueva disciplina que aportará mucho a la economía.

By Maria A A D

Dec 17, 2015

Great course! I really enjoyed it, the classes are clear and amusing. They make understandable a relatively difficult topic. Five stars!

By William A

Aug 26, 2016

great lecture, nice and simple-<

it is even better than the first neuromarketing course that i've finished on coursera before.

well done!

By Miguel G

Dec 01, 2015

It contains the exact combination of neuroscience, psychology and economics that a student with no clinic background was searching for

By Ivan M

Jan 30, 2019

Very useful course, even if you're not closely related to the area. I found it useful in general communication and life navigation.

By Лазарев В А

Jan 25, 2018

Wonderful course as the first introduction to the subject.

It inspires to study neuroeconomics (and neuroscience at all) deeper.

By Lamon S

Aug 31, 2017

It's one of the most professionals course that I have seen ! Congratulations for all of staff has been involved in this course!

By Luciano R

Apr 05, 2016

This course is very great! It works well for social scientists that do not have interest in anatomy and another medical things.

By Tony A

Nov 23, 2015

Excellent insight into a developing field that integrates a wide body of of knowledge. A pleasure to learn with you guys.

By Yelena S

May 28, 2019

Very useful course. This field must be developed further in order to better understand the process of decision making.

By Denis C

Mar 11, 2018

Interesting and excellent course. Hopefully I will be able to take more programmes from this provider in the future.

By Larry L E

Jan 10, 2017

Outstanding overview of neuroeconomics, including excellent reading lists and interesting guest Q&A. Very thorough.

By Daviid K

Aug 12, 2016

Great! Professor Vasily Klucharev is very didactic and the readings are awesome! Thank you very much mr. Klucharev!

By GLORIA A A A

Mar 19, 2016

Very important to apply concepts in marketing. sound science, everything is based, measured and sustentao. Thank you

By Nikolay B

Apr 13, 2018

Достаточно интересно. Не сказать, что всё понял, но некоторые интересные закономерности усвоил и запомнил :)

By Jonathan C E

Nov 10, 2015

This course is awesome, it will open your perspectives about economics and psychology, highly recommendable.