Chevron Left
Back to Neurolinguistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Neurolinguistics by Saint Petersburg State University

4.7
stars
95 ratings
37 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the key principles and goals of modern neurolinguistics. Neurolinguistics is a science that incorporates methods and paradigms of linguistics and neuroscience. This course discusses the main units and organizational principles of the human nervous system that underlie our language capacity. You will learn about the neurophysiological aspects of first and second language learning, discover clinical research in speech, reading and writing disorders, and also find out about speech disorders accompanying various psychiatric conditions. The course includes information on the history of neurolinguistics, modern techniques and methods of neurolinguistic research, and also provides detailed examples of several recent studies in the field. The outline of the course Module 1 introduces you to the main ideas and history of neurolinguistics. In this module you will learn how the human brain is organized and which cortical areas provide the basis for our language capacity. It also touches upon neuroevolution and the differences between the human brain and the brains of other mammals. In Module 2 you will learn about modern methods and techniques of neurolinguistic research, such as EEG, MEG, intracranial EEG, evoked and induced potentials. Module 3 continues the discussion of neurolinguistic research methods, introducing you to the fMRI method. It also provides examples of three recent neurolinguistic studies, detailing every stage: how the experiments were planned and conducted, and how the data was analysed. Module 4 discusses how children learn their first and second languages. It also touches upon the differences in the ways monolinguals and bilinguals process linguistic information. Modules 5 and 6 deal with clinical research in neurolinguistics. In Module 5 you will learn about aphasia. We will discuss the underlying causes of this disorder, its main types and different approaches to their classification and assessment. You will also learn about linguistic models based on aphasia data. Module 6 continues the topic of clinical research in neurolinguistics. In this module you will learn about auditory hallucinations in schizophrenia, their causes and treatment. This module also discusses brain asymmetry with regards to language and dichotic listening as a means of studying brain asymmetry. Module 7 is devoted to dyslexia and its comorbidities. This module will introduce you to four different approaches to dyslexia. You will also learn what longitudinal studies can tell us about dyslexia....

Top reviews

YY

May 25, 2020

The course is great. The only problem for not English native speaker - you always need to check a dictionary for new, clever words, but it's worth it.

A

May 03, 2020

Great class, however, it is fun yet difficult learning such subject in two languages at a time. Thank you

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 38 Reviews for Neurolinguistics

By Гульнара И Т

Apr 12, 2020

Благодарю всю команду преподавателей online-курса "Neurolinguistics" за бесценный опыт и знания!

By Norman l

Apr 17, 2020

i do not understad russian

By Белянская Н Э

Apr 07, 2020

Здравствуйте, курс замечательный.

Однако почему-то изменилась первоначальная стоимость прохождения с получением сертификата с 1910 до 6500 рублей . Могу ли я оплатить по первоначальной стоимости?

Заранее благодарю за ответ.

By Alisa A

May 03, 2020

Great class, however, it is fun yet difficult learning such subject in two languages at a time. Thank you

By Панкратова Е К

May 11, 2020

Прекрасный, очень интересный курс. Но есть одно "НО", из-за незнания нужного уровня английского языка, лекторов не на русском языке не возможно было слушать, а переводы текстов были очень некорректны, что затрудняло изучение и понимания материалов.

By Полякова Т М

May 24, 2020

Огромная благодарность организаторам курса! Все лекции доставили массу удовольствия мне, как лингвисту, почерпнула для себя массу новой информации, записала много авторов, чьи работы планирую изучить в будущем. Первой будет брошюра А.Р. Лурия по нейролингвистике "Речь и мышление". Я - учитель английского языка, практик с огромным стажем, однако наконец-то нашла нужные ответы на интересующую меня тему билингвизма. Ещё раз огромное спасибо за профессиональный подход и качественную организацию данного курса!

By Kononenko O

May 16, 2020

Замечательный курс! Высококлассные лекторы и доступное объяснение - это признак мастерства. Спасибо за ваш творческий труд и интерес к своему делу, приятно видеть, как вы двигаете нашу науку и понимание вперед! Желаю всему коллективу творческих побед и счастья!

By Велимович Д А

May 25, 2020

Здравствуйте!

Огромное спасибо за курс! Прошла его с удовольствием! Получила очень много знаний, которые буду обязательно применять и гордиться! Благодарю вас за такую возможность, а также за проделанную вами работу! Я очень рада!

С уважением,

Дарья Велимович

By Tatjana P

May 23, 2020

Extremely well prepared course. All the lectures have the updated information from the recent researches. The professors explain the content very well and the the things you can learn are really useful for anyone interested in linguistics.

By TATIANA V

May 22, 2020

Thank you so much for this opportunity to learn neurolinguistics. I believe this course is very useful for those who develop their their new skills and knowelge. During quarantine days this course was as an oxygen for the brain.

By Вартаньян Г В

May 17, 2020

Мне очень понравился курс. Я развила свои речевые навыки. Весьма полезная и интересная информация о такой способности человека ,как речь. Возможность услышать информацию от профессоров - педагогов. весьма ценна.

By M N

May 23, 2020

Thanks a lot! It was great! Listening both in English and Russian helps training our bilingual skills. And moreover, the course helped me in understanding some of my daughter's speaking troubles. Thank you.

By Маргарита Г

May 06, 2020

Очень интересный курс с огромным количеством полезной информации. Хочется еще курсов подобного формата с углублением в изучение билингвизма. Спасибо лекторам! Это бесценный опыт!

By Орлова Е А

May 22, 2020

Спасибо большое за курс, всем преподавателям и организаторам. Прослушав данный курс, я расширила свои познания в нейролингвистики. Есть еще к чему стремиться.

By Балясникова А В

May 19, 2020

I thank all the professors for sharing such a useful and deep information! It was a pleasure to take part in this course. It was totally amazing, thank you!

By Yuri

May 25, 2020

The course is great. The only problem for not English native speaker - you always need to check a dictionary for new, clever words, but it's worth it.

By Чуприянова Е В

Apr 09, 2020

It was a real pleasure to be taught by brilliant teachers! I was inspired by your researches! Now I want to make my own ones. Thanks a lot!

By Вероника П

Apr 20, 2020

Интереснейший курс, который действительно полон теоретической конкретики и безусловного опыта ведущих специалистов. Спасибо.

By Platonova I V

May 14, 2020

Курс помог моему мозгу построить очень много новых связей))) Спасибо возможность познакомиться с новой для меня наукой!

By Егорова А А

May 24, 2020

Прекрасный курс, который позволил узнать новое, что поможет в дальнейшей профессиональной деятельности.

By Alexandra O

May 24, 2020

Excellent course! Thank you for very interesting and deep content and also diversity of the topics

By Anastasiia D

May 24, 2020

Big thanks to everyone who created this course! Incredible! Even sad after completing it.

By Yana N

May 26, 2020

Thank you very much for this course! It is really interesting, and I truly enjoyed it.

By Денисова В С

May 25, 2020

Благодарю! Курс был очень полезен и прекрасно организован. До встречи на Coursera

By Daria P

May 24, 2020

I'm grateful to the whole professor team that has worked on this course!