Chevron Left
Back to Object Oriented Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object Oriented Programming in Java by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
3,865 ratings
941 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

Oct 14, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 920 Reviews for Object Oriented Programming in Java

By Evgenii L

Oct 27, 2015

I'm really exited about this course! Really professional team which provide us very interesting tasks! brilliant! Not....Tremendous!!

By Idir B

Jan 30, 2016

The best course I saw in Coursera. A lot of efforts will deployed to make the learning experience optimal. Bravo for the professors.

By Shalagatskyi V

Nov 19, 2015

Always wanted to be a softawe developper, this course is very informative for the beginners. Many thanks to teachers of this course!

By KRISHNASAI R

Mar 15, 2019

it is best course i developed my knowledge a lot .i would be so happy if i would be able to get such oppurtunities again and again.

By Ivan P

Nov 17, 2016

Pretty good basic course. Easy explanations and useful skills. Good for start when you have some basic knowledge behind your back.

By suryansh s

Mar 23, 2017

excellent course ,and the guiders are very supportive and this course going to help me in future with large benefit and successes

By Eugene K

Feb 27, 2016

Very good introductory course in Java and OOP principles, well designed and structured, provides perfect programming assignments.

By KAPSIDIS D I

Dec 27, 2019

Excellent for beginners in Java! The difficulty scales up smoothly, the examples and graded activities are relative and helpful.

By shubham j

Feb 28, 2016

Amazing course with very efficient teaching ..

i really enjoyed this course . hope to see more similar courses from the teachers.

By Francesco B

Oct 24, 2015

Nice course well explained. I liked more than other courses where they explain easy theory then you are lost in the assignments.

By Chicane

Feb 05, 2017

Thank you guys for this massive information you put in this course. I appreciate your efforts well explanation you guys awesome

By Billman

Oct 27, 2015

Great course! The activities were nice, and challenging. The instructors did a good job of explaining things in diverse ways.

By Benjamin T

Mar 08, 2016

Very well structured, clear explanations, and great additional resources to test and repeat the material. Thank you very much!

By Do H L

Dec 20, 2015

Very rigourous course. Very worth the time and effort. Taught real knowledge and skills while facilitated building a portfolio

By Muhammad E R

Jan 23, 2019

It's an awesome course. Course instructors are great at teaching. MOOC students can enjoy extremely while doing the projects.

By Vishwanath G

Jun 07, 2017

Perfect course for intermediate programming in Java. Great teaching method, detailed explanations, and excellent professors.

By WASIF H

Aug 07, 2016

I loved this course. All the basics of java are well explained and got to learn many internal things. Thanks for this course.

By Lesly A F

Dec 31, 2015

Excellent course. Starts from scratch. nice clear explanations. Project based teaching is awesome.

Hats off to the UC faculty

By Mathieu R

Jun 26, 2018

Great course, puts in practice all the main OO programming concepts. Just a bit annoying to peer-review the last assignment.

By Tosin P

Mar 21, 2016

This course was a journey. The instructors helped in successfully passing out the material in a interesting and helpful way.

By Jim L

Dec 02, 2015

Instructors are exemplary. This series is the best crafted that I've seen on-line. Makes me look forward to the next week.

By Johnny E

Nov 29, 2018

Awesome course! Very well organized. I will recommend this course to my friends and anyone who like to get started in java.

By Weston H

Dec 29, 2015

Really exceptional course. Make sure you watch the everything its easy to miss important information about the assignments.

By Arshika L

Jul 22, 2017

I absolutely love this course! The teachers are amazing! I would encourage anyone who's interested in programming to join.

By Sandeep R

Aug 15, 2018

just completed this, the project work is cleverly designed as you will need to understand some else's code to complete it