Chevron Left
Back to Object Oriented Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object Oriented Programming in Java by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
4,918 ratings
1,236 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DB
Oct 12, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR
Oct 13, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,214 Reviews for Object Oriented Programming in Java

By Athira T

Jun 7, 2020

All the faculty did their job in a great way.It is a good platform to learn skills..Thank you all for your effort...!1

By Salim M

Mar 27, 2017

A good course to further improve java knowledge and get acquainted to its features through a very interesting project!

By Ganeshsai G

Feb 3, 2020

Best introductory course for learning Object-oriented programming which is essential for software development in java

By Animesh K

Nov 12, 2019

Nice course but only issue is the peer assignment since reviewing could be an issue sometimes. Else wonderful. Cheers

By Donatien L

Oct 12, 2015

All objects related concepts are really well explained and the exercices are well designed. A great course to follow

By Rahul G

Aug 19, 2020

Well thought out course. Explanation of various concepts was apt. Assignment complexity was according to the course

By Gaurav P

Dec 9, 2015

Best at the current moment, considering the content and in comparison to the program being offered by other mooc's

By Matt S

Sep 18, 2020

Good deep dive on Java with classes. The project was a great example of learn by doing as well. Excellent course.

By Chris

Nov 19, 2019

I feel like I learned a good amount. This specialization is priced well compared to Udacity's expensive programs.

By Joshua O

Apr 29, 2019

the best course for everyone who wants to learn object oriented programming data structures and working with APIs

By Maryam P

Apr 4, 2016

Very good course, it gives good knowledge about the important parts of java such as inheritance and polymorphism.

By Jonathas d S T

Mar 16, 2016

Excelete! Muito didático e tem aulas bem explicadas, além das suppot classes que ajudam muito também, recomendo!

By André D H

Feb 22, 2016

Excellent course and dynamic!!!! The programming assignment are funny and help the student to improve knowledge.

By Bagus A S

Nov 9, 2015

It's just started on the first week, but the professors of this course already make me really excited to learn.

By B P S

May 27, 2020

This is a very good and awesome course to understand and code in Java. The OOP concept is very well explained.

By James A F M

Nov 2, 2017

Very straightforward and practical introduction to OO principals, and a good practice for early java learners.

By Codrut F C

Feb 10, 2016

Great course ! The professors that participated have a huge talent at explaining and sharing their knowledge !

By Ricardo S

Oct 21, 2017

The quality of the course is superb. The 3 instructors know their teaching subjects and are quite didactical.

By TANVEER M

Oct 23, 2015

Covers the basic concepts of JAVA and a idea of how to implement GUI's.

Everyone should enroll in this course.

By KORUKONDA V

Jul 26, 2020

Gained a good understanding about working with real time projects using Object Oriented Programming in java.

By Victor

May 23, 2020

very good course, I learn some concepts in college and this course works as a very good supplement material

By Orkhan A

Mar 27, 2019

I am in week 1 and so far i can tell that the methodology of teaching is perfect in these courses. Perfect !

By SAYAN D

Dec 12, 2016

A great thanks to coursera and the instructors for building this course.. It made me fall in love with JAVA.

By Mattia C

Nov 11, 2016

I really enjoyed it, it covers some basics of java and it's challenging for those who already worked on java

By Pachipala S

Jun 9, 2020

It was great experience to learn this course many new concepts to learn and acquired some knowledge in oopl