Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to OpenCL on FPGAs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to OpenCL on FPGAs by Intel

4.0
stars
66 ratings
17 reviews

About the Course

OpenCL™ is a standard for writing parallel programs for heterogeneous systems, much like the NVidia* CUDA* programming language. In the FPGA environment, OpenCL constructs are synthesized into custom logic. An overview of the OpenCL standards will be discussed. You will learn about the platform, execution, memory, and programming models that define the OpenCL specification. Syntax of the OpenCL language will be discussed, and you will see examples of OpenCL usage. The similarities and differences between OpenCL and CUDA will be highlighted throughout. The advantages of using the Intel® FPGA OpenCL solution will be presented.*OpenCL and the OpenCL logo are trademarks of Apple Inc. used by permission of Khronos*Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others...

Top reviews

Filter by:

1 - 17 of 17 Reviews for Introduction to OpenCL on FPGAs

By Ziyuan

Mar 19, 2020

Pros:

well-packed contents, that you may need additional materials to understand what the instructors really mean (I chose "OpenCL in Action"); I have no prior knowledge on OpenCL nor FPGA so I have learned a lot.

Cons:

Errors in quiz answers, such that sometimes you have to choose wrong answers to get passed;

Less responsive instructors;

C API and C++ API being mixed in the lectures;

Overlapped contents from the two instructors; introduction to the toolchain (especially under Windows) should be at the beginning of the course not in week 5 in my opinion;

As a non-native English speaker, I found the second instructor (Nikhil, in week 5) lectures much clearer than the first instructor (Dennis, in week 1--4), who always sounds like only pronouncing 2/3 of each word; of course this is my problem.

All in all it's a unique course where you can learn something to start, but I would say there is still room to improve, so that the course doesn't look like a KPI project from Intel for just increasing some counter.

To Coursera: that clicking outside the review dialog box will erase all the content that one has input is a very stupid design.

By Prashant D

May 20, 2020

The software assignments assume that the user is familiar with the Intel FPGA SDK flow and has Intel® Quartus® Prime Pro software version 19.1 with Arria® 10 family support installed. This is a tall ask. The instructors need to create a module 0 where they explain how to setup the system before starting with the openCL fundamentals.

Additionally there should make available a time limited license for students to use while enrolled in the course

By Athanasios M

Apr 8, 2020

The topic is really interesting but there are some prerequisites for your system that were not declared in the description. Moreover, a question in one of the tests was not implemented well, to be more specific you chose the correct answer and when you submitted it the feedback you would get is "Incorrect! Correct: the answer you gave". Of course, this is an issue as long as these tests were obligatory for the the Certificate. During week 2 we were supposed to submit a code. This the point I decided to stop this course, not only I needed Quartz Prime Pro (which is not free and not declared in the description) but also as a peer student found out the grader would only accept as correct a .txt file with character 1 inside. I kid you not! On the bright side the videos were well-structured and the concept of OpenCL was explained sufficiently given that this is an introductory course. I am sure that this course is not the rule for coursera, undoubtedly there must be a lot of excellent courses provided. But given that this is the first course I watched (and paid) in Coursera.org I am pretty disappointed. I hope my refund request wont be denied.

By Σωτήρης Ν

Oct 7, 2020

Extremely poor and unnerving presentation of every single topic, regarding both OpenCL and FPGAs. Extremely disappointing.

By Dorin-Marian I

Jun 30, 2020

Pretty OK, but can't do the tasks because you need special SW which is not provided. Also, attended the course at 1.25x speed because the speakers were talking so SLOWLY.

By Pragnya A

Sep 21, 2020

It was so difficult to sit through even a 5-minute video without zoning out. Idk, some bg music would have been good maybe.

By Konstantin V

Oct 16, 2020

Complete waste of time.

Lectures and videos are messy and boring, labs are hard to get through, quizzes are dummy and there's no real assignment checker. And I'm an experienced FPGA developer, familiar with Altera design flow. I don't recommend this course to anyone, it's not even a course but a bunch of poorly linked boring videos. The worst 50$ spending in my life.

By Mervin R

Apr 27, 2020

This course was really helpful! Looking forward to more courses from Intel.

By Mihir K S

Oct 24, 2020

Not good instructors

By monica r

Mar 21, 2020

Good Introductory course with labs

By MAYANK S

Jul 2, 2020

best course for beginers

By Shreyas B

May 7, 2020

Needed more detailed videos with one example on quartus, and else everything is fine

By Abhishek D

Apr 19, 2020

It would be more interesting if you could provide more hands-on experiments

By Ajay K

Aug 12, 2020

It was really a nice opportunity for having these courses free.I loved it.

By Varun S

Sep 21, 2020

Need more application practice resources

By Karthik S

Jul 29, 2020

Mandatory programming assignments would have made the course much more effective.

Quizes seem buggy. You end up failing a quiz even though the comment says the right option was chosen. SImilarly, you end up passing quizes even if you select an incorrect option.

By Satya T C

Apr 18, 2020

Coding Exercises need to be done more interactively so, people can setup a proper workflow.

A specific document for setting up the environment in Ubuntu/Windows from scratch would be helpful as most of the people who are taking this course will be working on them.

Also providing links to the sources for setting up the environment are necessary for any of the intel specific packages to be installed in the environment.