Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Parallelism on Intel Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Parallelism on Intel Architecture by Intel

4.6
341 ratings
68 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the multiple forms of parallelism found in modern Intel architecture processors and teach you the programming frameworks for handling this parallelism in applications. You will get access to a cluster of modern manycore processors (Intel Xeon Phi architecture) for experiments with graded programming exercises. This course can apply to various HPC and datacenter workloads and framework including artificial intelligence (AI). You will learn how to handle data parallelism with vector instructions, task parallelism in shared memory with threads, parallelism in distributed memory with message passing, and memory architecture parallelism with optimized data containers. This knowledge will help you to accelerate computational applications by orders of magnitude, all the while keeping your code portable and future-proof. Prerequisite: programming in C/C++ or Fortran in the Linux environment and Linux shell proficiency (navigation, file copying, editing files in text-based editors, compilation)....

Top reviews

BS

Oct 24, 2019

This was a very good experience and I will get additional marks for this in Computer Architecture Thanks to Coursera

AV

Aug 31, 2018

Nice course, really enjoyed every challenge in the course. Well laid out goals for a Computer Science student.

Filter by:

51 - 68 of 68 Reviews for Fundamentals of Parallelism on Intel Architecture

By Ken

Jul 02, 2018

Nice course, challenging in places.

By Aritotelis L

Feb 19, 2018

A very good course with excellent material to enhance your knowledge. The quality of some videos could be improved (sudden changes/gaps).

By Ruhullah S

Jan 26, 2018

Highly informative course with a steep learning curve but fruitful.

By Jay T

Sep 22, 2019

It was a nice course. I got a chance to learn many things, and worked really hard to complete the course.

By Shambel G

Nov 15, 2019

Valuable

By Pikle N K

Nov 27, 2019

Best course to "start" parallelization on Intel architecture. However, this is just beginning a lot more to be discovered after this course. This course gives hands-on experience on intel architecture.

By SAI B P

Oct 28, 2019

I HAVE LEARNT A LOT FROM THIS COURSE AND GOT COMPLETE KNOWLEDGE ABOUT PARALLELISM

By Ankit k

Oct 14, 2019

IT really help just a line go for this course

By Aditi T

Nov 01, 2019

Good course. Assignments need to be explained clearly.

By Satyaki D

Oct 19, 2019

valuable course

By Xianglong W

Dec 21, 2017

The assignments are somewhat vague and takes time to figure out what was expected. Significant gap between material covered in week 5 and the assignments

By Predrag B

Dec 17, 2017

Great course, maybe more talking on hardware architecture can be added and comparisons with other hardware platforms.

By Hassan N

Jun 24, 2018

Good resource for learning parallelism on Intel architecture. Learning quite a bit about the various architectural optimizations OpenMP directives will do. Forums not helpful. Been stuck on some HW without proper guidance. Lacks engagement is why I rate 3 star.

By DEVANSH M

Nov 05, 2019

This course was a bit tough

By Omar F

Oct 18, 2018

1) No supervision from instructors.

2) Assignments are not very clear

3) Forums are dead

By Francisco G R

Nov 16, 2017

I miss some mentor or instructor that provides some kind of support or reply to doubts in the forum. Seems that if we have a doubt, there is not any mentor that can help you. The level of the exercises doesn't correspond to the lessons.

So far, it is been not a pleasant experience.Sorry to say that I'm starting to wonder if it's worth the time spent in this course.

By anand k

Sep 10, 2019

Course is not allowing me to submit my quiz as well as assignment.Please help me so that i can further improve my learning skill.

THANKS.

By Dheeraja K

Nov 28, 2019

Very difficult for beginners in their preferred environment, they assume that you have ample amount of knowledge already.