Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Parallelism on Intel Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Parallelism on Intel Architecture by Intel

4.6
stars
538 ratings
111 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the multiple forms of parallelism found in modern Intel architecture processors and teach you the programming frameworks for handling this parallelism in applications. You will get access to a cluster of modern manycore processors (Intel Xeon Phi architecture) for experiments with graded programming exercises. This course can apply to various HPC and datacenter workloads and framework including artificial intelligence (AI). You will learn how to handle data parallelism with vector instructions, task parallelism in shared memory with threads, parallelism in distributed memory with message passing, and memory architecture parallelism with optimized data containers. This knowledge will help you to accelerate computational applications by orders of magnitude, all the while keeping your code portable and future-proof. Prerequisite: programming in C/C++ or Fortran in the Linux environment and Linux shell proficiency (navigation, file copying, editing files in text-based editors, compilation)....

Top reviews

PY
May 1, 2020

This coursework helped me to know the working of Intel architecture. How to optimize the code over the existing architecture with the help of vectorization and multithreading.

BS
Oct 23, 2019

This was a very good experience and I will get additional marks for this in Computer Architecture Thanks to Coursera

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 111 Reviews for Fundamentals of Parallelism on Intel Architecture

By Ravi T K

Nov 8, 2019

good

By Shubham S

Nov 7, 2019

best

By Shivam

Nov 4, 2019

good

By SAI S V N

Oct 31, 2019

good

By Hari B T

Nov 8, 2019

5*

By Alejandro A M

Jul 29, 2020

Good course in my opinion. It might seem short, but introduces a lot of different important topics and gives you the tools and information to continue learning as far as you want.

I faced some technical issues with the remote cluster towards the end, and the last lab is a bit confusing. The forum and the author of the course are there to help you out, though.

I would recommend this course.

By Ragunathan P

Jun 7, 2018

A decent overview of modern parallel programming. Learnt a few things. Thanks. Could have been 5 stars if the production quality of the course is not poor (video stutters except when the slide is on, also there are abrupt breaks switching from video to slides). I wish this course showed writing portable code throughout instead of just Intel.

By Jeffrey D

Feb 21, 2020

Very good course for the various aspects of parallelism. There several ways to parallelize and this course touched on all of them. Each of the topics could be a whole course in itself, this course did well to stay to the fundamentals. There is a lot that I will take with me and apply to my work in software development.

By Ravi A

Jan 8, 2019

The material and learning is great! Cutting 1 star because some of the assignments have inaccurate information about how to run the program, so there could have been more care on part of the instructor there, but overall, a very useful course for enhancing your understanding about parallel computing

By Kevin P

May 21, 2020

Some concepts are difficult to understand if you don't have a good background in computer science. The labs are about math problems that sometimes you don't understand. But in general it is a good introducing course.

By Nileshchandra P

Nov 26, 2019

Best course to "start" parallelization on Intel architecture. However, this is just beginning a lot more to be discovered after this course. This course gives hands-on experience on intel architecture.

By Nicolas A

Feb 21, 2019

A nice introduction to parallelism on Intel Architecture, some problem with cuts in some videos but we have the lecture on our side for complementary informations.

By Vara S

Aug 9, 2020

Good course material and instructor. But discussion forum is awfully quiet. Looks as if no other courses on this specialization are available anymore.

By Aritotelis L

Feb 19, 2018

A very good course with excellent material to enhance your knowledge. The quality of some videos could be improved (sudden changes/gaps).

By Jay T

Sep 22, 2019

It was a nice course. I got a chance to learn many things, and worked really hard to complete the course.

By Tanay A

Jul 20, 2020

Fairly comprehensive course, though the content can be improved by going into a little more depth.

By Mahalingam P R

Aug 31, 2020

Some more introduction can be given to support the programming exercises. But exposure is good.

By TOMISLAV D N

Oct 26, 2020

It needs a discussion prompt for people taking the course around the homework tasks.

By Chaitanya K

Apr 23, 2020

Would have liked more exploring in the OpenMP section, but awesome course overall

By SAI B P

Oct 28, 2019

I HAVE LEARNT A LOT FROM THIS COURSE AND GOT COMPLETE KNOWLEDGE ABOUT PARALLELISM

By MOHAMMAD S

May 5, 2020

Very good course for learning fundamentals of parallelism. I enjoyed it.

By Ruhullah S

Jan 26, 2018

Highly informative course with a steep learning curve but fruitful.

By Nasirov A

Sep 20, 2020

Course content is great but wish there were more exercises.

By Aditi T

Nov 1, 2019

Good course. Assignments need to be explained clearly.

By Ankit k

Oct 14, 2019

IT really help just a line go for this course