Chevron Left
Back to Portfolio and Risk Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Portfolio and Risk Management by Indian School of Business

4.5
stars
512 ratings
81 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you the concepts of risk and expected return. This course presents an overview of the basic concepts and techniques used to construct financial portfolios. You will learn about the investment process and get a very good understanding of economic, industry, and company analyses. We will also look at understanding and interpreting major portfolio management and risk concepts. Through this course, you will discover the basic concepts of Modern Portfolio Theory. In the second half of the course we explore the frameworks to measure investment performance, as well as the various measures of investment performance. Finally, you will learn how to measure performance of equity, bonds and hedge funds. After completing this course, you will be able to appreciate the details that go into the creation of investment portfolios....

Top reviews

KK
Jul 9, 2020

I felt very happy of completion of the course and Coursera designing the course structure by and flexibility to reschedule the deadline. Importantly the instructor knowledge on the subject is superb.

MK
Jun 29, 2017

Thank you very much Ramabhadran Thirumalai Sir\n\nThis course is very helpful for learners. explaining method and class slides all are well organised.\n\ncourse went smoothly.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 80 Reviews for Portfolio and Risk Management

By Siddharth S

Oct 15, 2016

This course is very helpful to really get a taste of the financial models used for investing. If you are one of those who love to break down a problem and base your decisions on an in depth analysis, then this is the course for you. This course only talks about stocks and not other financial securities, however the main advantage of this course is that you would learn concepts, ideas and logics that could very well be extended to other financial securities. The course is easy to understand but it is always a good idea to have basics of economics and mathematics brushed up beforehand.

By Sreecharan S

Apr 26, 2020

Interesting and math heavy course with introductions to CAPM, APT and single factor models. The one gripe I have is that I feel like I lost the plot somewhere along way. Even though I was learning how to calculate a whole bunch of things, I wasn't sure of how to connect that back to the underlying concepts. I wish this was reinforced more and the math was a complement to the concepts. I would maybe reduce one unit and focus instead of deepening the connections between the math and the concepts over the rest of the units.

By Surya P S

Jul 19, 2020

I find this course very helpful and knowledgeable for a finance enthusiast. i also believe this course can facilitate easy entry into investment field. having said that there are some change that need to be done. like some topics need to be more elaborated in the course. they come abrupt to student and become more challenging which can be avoided and be communicated with more examples and background.

By Richard H

Sep 15, 2016

Lots of Mathmatics. I think there is far too much mathematics being put into portfolio management and not enough emphasis on behavioral models of investment nor consumer driven markets. Like much of the investment world, this is going far too quantitative and searching for too many scientific mathematical relationships that don´t always pan out for real stock prices.

By Paridhi G

May 1, 2020

Great learning of basic concepts. However it could have been better had the reading section included a few practical problems . It could help us to better our skills in understanding the theoretical portions of the course.

By Rajan A

Aug 12, 2019

It is a nice course which helps in forming the base for those who wants to flourish in the fields related to Portfolio and Risk Management. A simple and detailed methodology is adopted which make this course unique.

By Aman B

May 19, 2021

indeed ! A very detailed course on portfolio and risk management which felt challenging sometimes but its full of quality and learning for who is willing . thank you for providing this course

By Suraj P

Jan 6, 2017

The professor did a great job simplifying the material down. The short videos really helped me get acclimated to the format of Coursera. The examples were very clear and easy to understand.

By DHRUV S N

Sep 5, 2020

A good course for someone interested in knowing the mathematical intuitions behind the theories and the final assignment helps a lot in revising all major concepts in a detailed manner,

By Syed M

Dec 11, 2017

It is a good course. Lecture material (transcript, slides, etc) and reading references are valuable. Reading equations from slides as part of the lecture is not necessary.

By Kshitiz S

Jul 16, 2020

I loved the course content. I only wish there was more practical training, especially some thats done in the indian market. Not the American one. Afterall it is ISB.

By RIDHIMA A

Apr 11, 2020

The course was helpful in understanding the basics of portfolio and risk management. The concepts were explained clearly.

By Stallone S

Jun 23, 2020

The Questions asked in quiz are not covered in video lectures otherwise the course was great

By Nithesh S

May 17, 2020

It gives you a great overview of portfolio and risk management.

By Akash P

Sep 8, 2020

Very Well Explained and a lot of learnings!

By Ashif R I

May 30, 2020

more knowledge

By Suraj S

Sep 3, 2016

good course

By Kumadvati M

Sep 2, 2020

Very good

By Animesh S

Oct 18, 2020

Its good

By GURRAM S

May 19, 2020

Nice

By Vasudevan M K

Aug 16, 2017

aa

By Aayush K

Jun 8, 2020

Although the selection of concepts was up to the mark, the course went a little haphazard. A few concepts were repeated with different terminologies and the significance of another few concepts were never discussed. Overall, it is a great course for someone who has knowledge of basic statistics and finance

By Scott H

Jul 14, 2020

Course was a little dry. A downloadable sheet of Functions and definitions would go a long way to making this course more enjoyable. Otherwise, for those new to the terminology it is one big game of trying to figure out what is being said or asked in the assignments.

By Joe A

Aug 25, 2018

Not bad for a general overview but it's lacking explanations to make it stand on its own.