Chevron Left
Back to The Power of Macroeconomics: Economic Principles in the Real World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Power of Macroeconomics: Economic Principles in the Real World by University of California, Irvine

4.6
1,541 ratings
343 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn all of the major principles of macroeconomics normally taught in a quarter or semester course to college undergraduates or MBA students. Perhaps more importantly, you will also learn how to apply these principles to a wide variety of situations in both your personal and professional lives. In this way, the Power of Macroeconomics will help you prosper in an increasingly competitive and globalized environment. This course is also available in Portuguese. To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/macroeconomia-pt/...

Top reviews

NN

Oct 31, 2018

Great course which learns you macroeconomics through US economy history and real economic situations. it's really help you to understand why things happen in the world from economic stand point.

NY

Apr 16, 2019

This course is very easy to understand for a total novice like me. There is still more to learn about macroeconomics but this course provides the necessary background to give you a head start!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 336 Reviews for The Power of Macroeconomics: Economic Principles in the Real World

By Jeremy W

Dec 05, 2016

This course really helps me understand the basic logic behind the modern macro business world. The focus on the history of economic schools and world economy is a highlight which provides lively background for the dull economic concepts. But the blame on China for the sluggish US and world economy is very biased and selectively blind, because Prof. Peter Navarro is Trump's economic advisor. When he blames China for everything, he forgot one fact that the 2008 Financial Crisis and the resulting world recession were initially caused by the US, not China. I respect Pro. Peter Navarro and really appreciate his teaching, but I don't think mixing too much personal bias into the public course is responsible and objective, and that's why I took two stars off.

By Minas-Marios V

Sep 25, 2016

I have to admit, this course greatly disappointed me from the beginning. The main reason is its title; it should have been "Macroeconomics of the USA". The instructor focuses too heavily on the US economy, which is partially understandable due to its significance, but I personally got tired of the endless supply of facts (and opinions) about US Presidents and their choices on US Macroeconomic Policy over the last 80 years.

Other than that, the main concepts of Macroeconomics are presented with adequate detail. I had very little background in Economics but managed to grasp them rather easily. The presentations are pretty dull, however, with the professor mainly reading through the slides (which mind you are NOT in downloadable form).

All in all, it's not a bad course, but there is great room for improvement.

By Deleted A

Jun 12, 2018

Very disappointed in Professor Navarro

By Brian T T Y

Feb 13, 2019

A good course to have a good foundation of macroeconomics. Enjoyed the theory behind supply & demand, implications of political and economic policies and how it drives the actions of governments. I could recommend this course to anyone interested for a good foundation in macroeconomics

By Jian P

Mar 18, 2019

This course provides suffient yet a little bit too academic details about macroeconomics. Given a more cautious political attitude towards China, the course would deserve a five-star.

By Viktoriya T

Jul 31, 2019

The course allows to understand the basic concepts of macroeconomics. However, you should apply significant effort to understand, as the delivery is too fast and sometimes confusing. Moreover, the course is centered too much on the USA: the same historical examples are repeated multiple times, instead of providing some variety of global examples to help understand the concepts better. Moreover, the Professor's characterization of developing countries is oversimplified and awfully condescending. I personally was offended and would prefer not to listen to that particular lecture at all.

By Tom J

Nov 30, 2016

Really dreadful: absurdly fast progress, with really dry graphics, where they cover the history of economics in about 30 minutes! To make things worse, the lecturer (who doesn't appear in the videos) speaks incredibly fast, while graphs and bullet point lists fly by on the screen. There's not time to process the information and complicated terms and processes are explained in just a few seconds.

I'm disappointed as it looked like an interesting course but doesn't live up to some of the really great courses available which employ great teaching and delivery.

By Sarah G

Nov 20, 2016

I have been quite disappointed by this class. There were no suggested readings in addition to the quite basic videos. But the worst were the quizzs. 90% of the answers to the multiple-choice questions were the top option!! I could have pass the tests without having listen to the videos. Were those tests or jokes? You should do this class only if you know absolutely nothing about economics, because this is the most basic class.

By Leah M

Jul 19, 2017

Outdated, not engaging, mostly opinion.

By Mark B

Apr 29, 2019

Is the lecturer a real person or a bot? Very monotonic and unengaging.

By Rugved D

Feb 25, 2019

One of the best courses I've ever learned by University of California!

By Palak b

Feb 27, 2019

This course is very beneficial. As it clears my basics for macroeconomics

By POUHE K M F A

Feb 10, 2019

Très bon cours.

By ALMUGTABA H H S

Mar 11, 2019

it is one of the most useful courses I have ever taken

By 齐乐嘉

Mar 26, 2019

I think it is a really good course, because the professor combine the book with knowledge vividly,which help me learn it more easier.

By Walter A T

Mar 28, 2019

Great course!

By Deepti G

Dec 22, 2018

I really enjoyed doing this course; I highly recommend the same.

By Piyush K

Mar 31, 2019

best course

By Muhammad A K

Apr 04, 2019

I really enjoyed and learned a lot from this course in Macroeconomics on Coursera. What I really loved about this course is the way it is structured around the discussion of major macroeconomic concepts in a historical context and how the subject has evolved and continues to evolve. Short videos and knowledge test quizzes add to the fun. Prof. Peter Navarro does a fantastic job here!

By Lovro R

Apr 05, 2019

An excellent introduction to macroeconomics that boils down the basics. A great supplement for someone learning to invest or thinking about where the economy is going and their future place in it. The only criticism is that it is, understandably, United States of America centric (considering recorded economic history and the professor).

By Beliachkov G

Apr 07, 2019

Thank you for the course!

By Eduardo S

Dec 11, 2018

The course is fantastic and gave me the background needed to better understand the macroeconomic principles that govern the world.

By Brian R

Dec 13, 2018

Perfect course to either learn or update your conversational understanding of macro economics.

By Khilav J

Nov 03, 2016

Really love the pace and content. I wish the course was more interactive though.

By Valentyn M

Aug 09, 2015

Interesting and amazing for its simplicity.