Chevron Left
Back to The Power of Macroeconomics: Economic Principles in the Real World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Power of Macroeconomics: Economic Principles in the Real World by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
2,227 ratings
541 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn all of the major principles of macroeconomics normally taught in a quarter or semester course to college undergraduates or MBA students. Perhaps more importantly, you will also learn how to apply these principles to a wide variety of situations in both your personal and professional lives. In this way, the Power of Macroeconomics will help you prosper in an increasingly competitive and globalized environment. This course is also available in Portuguese. To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/macroeconomia-pt/...

Top reviews

HS
Jun 12, 2020

Very informative course to get a basic understanding of the pivotal and indispensable concepts of Macroeconomics and to embark on a life-long journey of studying the tenets of this beautiful science.

AG
May 9, 2020

The course helps you to have an insight about a lot of concpets in a really less amount of time. Moreover, most of the concepts are being explained with real life examples in a very well planned way

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 536 Reviews for The Power of Macroeconomics: Economic Principles in the Real World

By Norma c Y g

Sep 15, 2015

is cool

By marcos

Aug 16, 2015

great

By Maggie Z

Dec 22, 2019

超细心!

By Mayank A

Jul 7, 2017

The course is quite comprehensive and teaches a lot of material in a very compact and concise manner.

But a lot of concepts explained here or used to explain other concepts can confuse a beginner. I think for critical concepts more examples should be provided to give a more conceptual picture to the learner.

Further all the warring school of economies should be taught in more detail and transparent manner. They really become confusing after all of them covered.

I request Coursera and the course instructor to provide slides so that we can easily revise all the mentioned concepts. Taking notes becomes really chaotic at this speed when there are so many Graphs and curves.

By Yathish D

Dec 21, 2019

A good overview of macroeconomic concepts. The best thing about the course is the first two modules which give a broad overview of the entire course and thus prepare us for what's coming next. But The use of Powerpoint slides throughout the course was quite boring. There were no in video quizzes. The forums are dead too. The quizzes for each week are very poorly designed - more than 90% of them have option A as correct answer. Also, the questions are directly taken from the video lectures. Lastly, there's undue emphasis on US economics and US politics.

By Estefania F

Jul 25, 2020

I really liked that this course gave me a good general idea of how macroeoconomics works which I find important for personal finance and business decisions. However I feel that I was often left not understanding quite a few concepts, and had to go to khan academy to deepen certain concepts. I would have also liked if there were suggested reading chapters from the McGraw Hill book associated to each lecture as I belive this would have helped me follow the class better and increase my understanding of certain concepts.

By Kylene M

Oct 2, 2015

The course discussed a great deal of very important information, but the instruction was very rushed, and often lacked the specific details needed - for example, formulas were sometimes left out, and it was assumed you could/would just "figure it out." The quizzes were very detailed and specific - which I do not disagree with - but I feel as though they sometimes focused on minutiae rather than large or critical concepts.

There were also several spelling and grammar mistakes throughout the quizzes.

By Richard K

Oct 31, 2020

Good course and material but no interaction whatsoever with the professor. He was only live on video twice. Once to welcome you to the course and to thank you for taking the course at the end.

It was almost like taking an audio book course. You can hear the professor's voice but that's about it. All other courses I've taken have had the professor live on video throughout the course.

By Valentin V

Jul 12, 2017

More comprehensive tests are needed. Very poor part on developing markets - all 9 recommendations are not in consistency with development factors and historic experience. Industrialization with protectionism always goes first, trade and open market is a next step and not a remedy. NO attention to innovation and upward return of industrial production

By ISHITA K

Jul 8, 2017

this course was relatively difficult for undergraduate first year student like me, there was ambiguity in certain concepts and topics and it was a lot to take in as a whole. but it was quite informative and the examples made the understanding easier. all in all it was a good course.

By Quentin F

Sep 23, 2015

It presents a lot of different aspect of macro economics in a really short time which is good. But because of that, it doesn't give a good understandings of each problem.

Nice introduction, but I will start another class on the subject which I would have liked to avoid.

By Harsha R

May 25, 2020

Content is great but hasn't been updated in a while. Additionally, the lack of downloadable slides doesn't make things easier as well.

The course is a good starting point if someone has never studied macroeconomics.

By Meghna T

Jul 8, 2020

The course is well structured and very interesting. However, more examples from across the globe will make it a tad bit more intriguing for non - US students.

By Phani P M

Nov 12, 2015

Presentation slides could've been better prepared. The quiz could've thrown the right answers after finishing. But it was very informative overall

By Nicolas K

Aug 16, 2020

Good introductory course. The lectures can be quite slow and boring. There is a very USA-centric view.

By Chinab U

Jun 30, 2017

Very subjective. Mathematics not involved. However, a very comprehensive course for beginners.

By Ernesto A R G

Aug 25, 2015

Is not a completed and structured course. It needs more examples to get the idea exactly

By leonxin

Jan 15, 2018

Good course, but Mr. Navarro's opinions on China are famously radical and biased.

By Namira S

Aug 15, 2016

I am having difficulty in understanding it.The concepts go by way too fast..

By Mercedes G

May 28, 2016

I felt overwhelmed by too much information all of a sudden in each lesson.

By Aditya s

Sep 14, 2017

can be more better if the tutor intracts and can give more solid examples

By Geo P

Mar 10, 2018

I recommend to achieve the audio-visual material been more interactive.

By 王哲辰

Jan 31, 2019

CHIINA NO.1 AND TAIWAN IS NOT A COUNTRY!

By Emmanuel A V

Jul 15, 2020

good,

By Weill S

Jun 8, 2017

This course helps set-up the basis of macroeconomics. Nonetheless, the course is rather "heavy" in information and notions I think (especially the complex graphics), in a nutshell I found it a bit to dense. As to the weekly tests they were "too easy" since th correct answer is usually the first option (quiz), which does not really help learning from its mistakes. As a consequence, the final test is pretty difficult because the answers are, on the contrary, random.