Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,776 ratings
869 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 851 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data

By Shiyue L

Nov 03, 2019

The data material choose is not good enough, there various of the problem in the process of draw graph, due to the data quality.

By Tasmeem J M

May 23, 2020

The theoretical part was really very useful, the R sessions could be a bit more descriptive to make the conceptions clearer.

By Peng G

May 07, 2020

Most learning is independently to expolring data, and you will bring you own question Using R to find the correlate answer

By Luo Y

Mar 22, 2018

I love the lab of this course. But I hope there can be one lab teaches us where to start with a data set. like the project.

By Henry B

Dec 12, 2017

Love the lecture style and the learning is at the appropriate level for those with an interest but not much prior knowledge

By Abraham P

Jul 24, 2019

I think it will be better if you give students more R practical assignment. But overall, very useful and helpful learning!

By Emily C

Sep 10, 2017

A very thorough course, it helped me understand much more about statistics and especially how to read and interpret data.

By anil k g

Dec 05, 2017

the probability part of this project is good but the last assignment is not as per the course.Its mostly based on R.

By Nikita A

Dec 19, 2016

A brief discussion to the questions asked in between the video lecture might be useful for those who got it wrong.

By Zuhayer M

May 22, 2020

Very good basic level statistics course. Although I believe the R should be taught more detailed and using video.

By Arijit D

May 08, 2019

The Course should have more detailed plotting guides and more videos on GGPLOT package for visualisation of data.

By Pauline T M M

Jun 15, 2017

Lessons are simple and easy to understand, which help to provide good fundation in Statistics. Good for beginner

By Chowan

Mar 29, 2019

Although the final project is quite hard, and I took a long time to complete it, but I did learn a lot from it!

By Felipe O G C B

Feb 19, 2018

Las explicaciones son claras, pero los talleres finales no me convencen. Algunos videos son muy largos también.

By Preeti S

Jul 24, 2017

Theoretical part was very well explained. But there should have been a little more details of R programming.

By Mark C

Mar 10, 2017

We used DPLYR package without any requisite introduction, but it was nonetheless very informative, thanks!

By Gijs v d V

Jul 28, 2016

Lectures and material we're really good. Haven't done the practical part, so can't say anything about it.

By Aaron M

Aug 30, 2019

Solid foundations learnt, however needed to seek help elsewhere to get a better understanding of using R

By Subodh C A

Sep 18, 2017

The statistics and probablity part is very good, but something more needed to be done about basics of R.

By Amine F

Mar 13, 2020

Very good introduction to data

a pre requisite of R programming would have made this course easier

By Mohammad S S

Mar 12, 2018

interesting course, would be better if it offers more practice when it comes to programming with R

By PULIDO, L (

Apr 04, 2020

Wonderful course! I can use these statistical knowledge on data analysis on my upcoming thesis.

By Andres U

Feb 24, 2017

I enjoyed watching the course videos. Really nice practice material to get you going!!! Koodos!

By Antônio A T F

Aug 05, 2017

Excellent course, but I think that the introduction to R is not sufficient to the final work.

By SHUANGSHUANG L

Dec 15, 2019

Overall i found the R programming really useful and i would love to learn more about it.