Chevron Left
Back to Probability Theory, Statistics and Exploratory Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Probability Theory, Statistics and Exploratory Data Analysis by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.6
stars
75 ratings
17 reviews

About the Course

Exploration of Data Science requires certain background in probability and statistics. This course introduces you to the necessary sections of probability theory and statistics, guiding you from the very basics all way up to the level required for jump starting your ascent in Data Science. The core concept of the course is random variable — i.e. variable whose values are determined by random experiment. Random variables are used as a model for data generation processes we want to study. Properties of the data are deeply linked to the corresponding properties of random variables, such as expected value, variance and correlations. Dependencies between random variables are crucial factor that allows us to predict unknown quantities based on known values, which forms the basis of supervised machine learning. We begin with the notion of independent events and conditional probability, then introduce two main classes of random variables: discrete and continuous and study their properties. Finally, we learn different types of data and their connection with random variables. While introducing you to the theory, we'll pay special attention to practical aspects for working with probabilities, sampling, data analysis, and data visualization in Python. This course requires basic knowledge in Discrete mathematics (combinatorics) and calculus (derivatives, integrals)....

Top reviews

NK

Apr 17, 2020

First i think it was difficult but when after it starts to grow on you\n\nEnjoyed every bit if it

PP

Feb 06, 2020

A nice introduction for beginners and those who need a warm up.

Filter by:

1 - 17 of 17 Reviews for Probability Theory, Statistics and Exploratory Data Analysis

By Roger S

Mar 06, 2020

An introduction into statistics for the mathematical minded. This course brings up the mathematical basics of data analysis a bit more than other courses. That's why it might be interesting for you even when you are experienced in analytics but have been a bit sloppy on the mathematical background. Be aware that you need some knowledge of calculus for solving the quizzes.

The course is well taught. Even the teacher is not an English native, his ability to express the stuff in a clear and comprehensible way is excellent. I liked that they provide many quizzes so that you can test your understanding of the lectures immediately. Unfortunately no accompanying material is provided so you have to take you own notes while watching the lectures.

By Khetag T

Mar 31, 2020

I liked the course. The content of the course and the style it was delivered in were exactly what I expected from a course like this. Thanks!

By Nirajan K

Apr 17, 2020

First i think it was difficult but when after it starts to grow on you

Enjoyed every bit if it

By Nitin B

May 09, 2020

IT'S AN ALL STAR COURSE FOR ME , I WANT TO GET STARTED WITH DATA

AND TOOK THIS COURSE ON PROBABILITY AND STATISTICS AS THESE SUBJECTS SCARE

ME THE MOST BUT COURSE'S INSTRUCTOR GUIDANCE AND IN-DEPTH COURSE MATERIAL

HELPED ME OVERCOMING MY FEAR AND NOW I AM ON MY JOURNEY TO EXPLORE VARIOUS

REALMS OF DATA

THANKS SO MUCH FOR HELP

By RODRIGO J L

May 31, 2020

Great course for beginers in exploratory data analysis. Also, you can learn how to use Python for basic data analysis.

By Erik T

May 18, 2020

A well explained and concise course to understand the basics of descriptive statistics and probability theory.

By wonseok k

Apr 09, 2020

extraordinarily good course.

good for understanding important concepts.

By Pascal P

Feb 06, 2020

A nice introduction for beginners and those who need a warm up.

By Vijay B K

May 21, 2020

this course is useful in daily life plus in bussiness.

By Mohnish V

May 03, 2020

Extremely informative, do join the course

By Yelyzaveta T

May 16, 2020

It is a great course.

By MR. J T R A

May 22, 2020

Very good

By Jaskeerat S

May 20, 2020

Excellent

By Tanu s

May 04, 2020

good

By Marat T

May 20, 2020

A good basic course: explicit and wide enough to cover everything you need to move on.

By k v r

Apr 13, 2020

good information about data

By Claudio C B

Mar 18, 2020

Is not a curse that I want