Chevron Left
Back to Probability Theory, Statistics and Exploratory Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Probability Theory, Statistics and Exploratory Data Analysis by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.8
stars
210 ratings
56 reviews

About the Course

Exploration of Data Science requires certain background in probability and statistics. This course introduces you to the necessary sections of probability theory and statistics, guiding you from the very basics all way up to the level required for jump starting your ascent in Data Science. The core concept of the course is random variable — i.e. variable whose values are determined by random experiment. Random variables are used as a model for data generation processes we want to study. Properties of the data are deeply linked to the corresponding properties of random variables, such as expected value, variance and correlations. Dependencies between random variables are crucial factor that allows us to predict unknown quantities based on known values, which forms the basis of supervised machine learning. We begin with the notion of independent events and conditional probability, then introduce two main classes of random variables: discrete and continuous and study their properties. Finally, we learn different types of data and their connection with random variables. While introducing you to the theory, we'll pay special attention to practical aspects for working with probabilities, sampling, data analysis, and data visualization in Python. This course requires basic knowledge in Discrete mathematics (combinatorics) and calculus (derivatives, integrals)....

Top reviews

AK
Oct 12, 2020

Very nice approach to such a vast topic , making it more understandable. Such type of interactive lectures are advisable for courses on Calculus and Algebra from the same University.

MO
Aug 29, 2020

Ilya Schurov explains concepts very well, and this course is a great start to begin the journey into data science. Also, the inclusion of some programming is appreciated!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 57 Reviews for Probability Theory, Statistics and Exploratory Data Analysis

By Nirajan K

Apr 17, 2020

First i think it was difficult but when after it starts to grow on you

Enjoyed every bit if it

By Roger S

Mar 6, 2020

An introduction into statistics for the mathematical minded. This course brings up the mathematical basics of data analysis a bit more than other courses. That's why it might be interesting for you even when you are experienced in analytics but have been a bit sloppy on the mathematical background. Be aware that you need some knowledge of calculus for solving the quizzes.

The course is well taught. Even the teacher is not an English native, his ability to express the stuff in a clear and comprehensible way is excellent. I liked that they provide many quizzes so that you can test your understanding of the lectures immediately. Unfortunately no accompanying material is provided so you have to take you own notes while watching the lectures.

By P S

Sep 18, 2020

One of the best courses for Probability and statistics, the course structure and syllabus was really very organized. I enjoyed completing this course.

By Khetag T

Mar 31, 2020

I liked the course. The content of the course and the style it was delivered in were exactly what I expected from a course like this. Thanks!

By Xinshan C

Aug 14, 2020

A really good introduction to Probability Theory with detailed explanation. Easy to understand, easy to follow; get my full recommendation!

By Zameer H

Jul 10, 2020

The course teacher is excellent with detailed explanation with examples, this course helped me in my professional development

By Pascal P

Feb 5, 2020

A nice introduction for beginners and those who need a warm up.

By Vijay B K

May 21, 2020

this course is useful in daily life plus in bussiness.

By Vishal K

Aug 3, 2020

This course is good for beginners only

By Nitin B

May 9, 2020

IT'S AN ALL STAR COURSE FOR ME , I WANT TO GET STARTED WITH DATA

AND TOOK THIS COURSE ON PROBABILITY AND STATISTICS AS THESE SUBJECTS SCARE

ME THE MOST BUT COURSE'S INSTRUCTOR GUIDANCE AND IN-DEPTH COURSE MATERIAL

HELPED ME OVERCOMING MY FEAR AND NOW I AM ON MY JOURNEY TO EXPLORE VARIOUS

REALMS OF DATA

THANKS SO MUCH FOR HELP

By SANTHOSH R M

Aug 22, 2020

This is one of the best course in coursera. Before taking this course I was really afraid about studying probability. Before taking this course I only knew P(E) = #E/Total #S. But the way the instructor Ilya V. Schurov taught was just right and anyone will be able to follow his lecture. Thanks Ilya V. Schurov.

By Vasily K

Jul 9, 2020

The best course in the specialization "Mathematics for Data Science". Many thanks to Prof. Ilya V. Schurov! He's actually very passionate, interesting, professional and talanted lecturer with very clear and concise teaching approach. Looking forward to studying other courses from him.

By Sourav D

Jul 1, 2020

It is a greatly designed course to have the elementary idea about probability theory and random numbers. One of the best things is the smooth transition between consecutive topics. Though I would appreciate more hands on solved example of each topic.

By zachary k

Jun 18, 2020

Excellent course that covers many aspects of probability theory. Given the short duration of the class, topics are not covered in too much depth or at all (i.e. Markov chains). However, the content that is included is done well.

By Abhishek K

Oct 12, 2020

Very nice approach to such a vast topic , making it more understandable. Such type of interactive lectures are advisable for courses on Calculus and Algebra from the same University.

By Maurits O

Aug 30, 2020

Ilya Schurov explains concepts very well, and this course is a great start to begin the journey into data science. Also, the inclusion of some programming is appreciated!

By M N

Jun 21, 2020

Excellent course. To the point with no fluff.

The professor explained everything in just the right amount of detail and the inclusion of python is great too.

By Ruchin P

Jun 10, 2020

Good Theoretical knowledge was given in the course, rather than just leaving it to the learners to understand those theories on their own.

By Rudra P D

Sep 10, 2020

This was a great course.The lecturer gave meaningful insights on how to use probability and statistics for analyzing real world problems.

By RODRIGO J L

May 31, 2020

Great course for beginers in exploratory data analysis. Also, you can learn how to use Python for basic data analysis.

By Carlos M V R

Jul 31, 2020

Great course, great teacher, amazing way of teaching, everything is well explained, I feel I have learned a lot.

By Erik T

May 18, 2020

A well explained and concise course to understand the basics of descriptive statistics and probability theory.

By Kaushik N R

Sep 20, 2020

Brief and well explained lessons with plenty of examples from real life make this course worth a try.

By Seongwoo K

Nov 2, 2020

Realized that Mr. Schurov's Russian accent is very effective at delivering statistics. Thanks a lot!

By Humberto R

Aug 3, 2020

I like this course, I like professor, I like all, I been learning a lot much, thanks.