Chevron Left
Back to Write Professional Emails in English

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Write Professional Emails in English by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
16,052 ratings

About the Course

This is a course to help you write effective business emails in English. This course is unique because each module will provide tips on writing more professional emails as well as lessons to improve your overall English writing skills. Therefore, you will improve your grammar and vocabulary skills for email writing and also improve your cross cultural knowledge to make you more powerful and successful in your business communication. You will look at different email formats to analyze tone, formality levels, and various organizational styles. You will be able to improve your emails of introduction, announcements, requests and emails that apologize or revise a request. In this course you will write and revise 4–5 emails, complete several comprehension quizzes and review the emails of other participants. By the end of this course, you will be able to • Improve your overall written English skills • See differences and similarities among the different email formats • Write more effective subject lines and email text • Apply various key language to different types of emails • Correct common errors such as punctuation and capitalization • Study tone and level of formality in emails • Understand how culture affects what is appropriate in a business emails • Write powerful business emails for professional needs...

Top reviews

MT

Jul 26, 2020

I am glad to participate in this course. I really appreciate it and thankful for the coursera team. I also thanks to the professor Mr. Landers who provides wonderful speech and explanation. Thank you.

JJ

Aug 30, 2018

I would suggest this course is the perfect place to learn about "how to write a professional email". And I appreciate and thanks Coursera team along with Georgia Tech Institute to provide this course.

Filter by:

4251 - 4275 of 4,927 Reviews for Write Professional Emails in English

By Hitesh B

Apr 25, 2021

.

By Disha S

Apr 18, 2021

.

By Ahmed A

Mar 29, 2021

.

By Mohammad A

Dec 25, 2020

.

By Sheetal P

Oct 4, 2020

i

By adnan k

Sep 28, 2020

.

By 32_pooja k

Aug 23, 2020

-

By ADURI V

Apr 22, 2020

I

By ahmed

Mar 30, 2020

n

By Kirill

Mar 30, 2020

+

By Deleted A

Mar 28, 2020

.

By marlen m

May 28, 2019

v

By June

Apr 15, 2019

t

By Na Y

Mar 23, 2019

S

By bouqfimohamed

Mar 27, 2018

ن

By chaitram

Jun 5, 2017

e

By Rafael B

Apr 3, 2022

Hello, I never give a five star on something I do, or buy. I feel nothing in life is a five star. I am most grateful, to have taken this course. I have been writing emails, and when I saw this course was being offered, I decided to take it. I am very lucky to have gotten an instructor, with the outmost professionalism. This gentleman, deserves my respect. What a great job, he did; please who ever is the person he reports to, please thank him, and please tell him how much I appreciate his incredible effort for writing, preparing and producing a superb class. I truly would like to take more advanced courses from him. I would love to take grammar and diction. Most respectfully, Rafael Beltran. Please I do not like the entire name on my certificate. I love to have just Rafael Beltran, this is my name, I like it simple and that’s it. Thank you, Sir!

By Marjolaine B

Apr 18, 2020

Très bon cours. Il y a plusieurs exemples et le cours trace l'essentiel à savoir que nous n'apprenons pas à l'école.

J'aurai bien aimé avoir plus d'exemples de phrases types que l'on peut écrire dans des emails.

De plus, je pense que le cours pourrait être donné en seulement 2-3 séances. Pas besoin d'autant de vidéo et de 5 semaines pour apprendre à écrire un email en anglais. J'ai passé une journée entière à regarder les vidéos. Cela prend beaucoup de temps alors que je pense qu'il aurait été possible de le faire en 2h si tout était expliqué dans une seule vidéo.

Je remercie tout de même grandement Gerry Landers, votre cours m'a beaucoup appris et m'aidera pendant de nombreuses années.

Merci beaucoup !

By EIRINI M

Jan 23, 2021

During this course, I reviewed my knowledge in writing e-mails. I had the chance to remember the importance of the correct spelling, correct use of grammar, polite vocabulary and good structure, for a well written -mail. I found very interesting the distinction between the ways we apologize. Besides that I learned about high and low-context cultures. The best advice I received during this course: to examine carefully, who is the recipent, ( gender, age, position, culture ), plus the purpose, before sendig an e-mail and to write accordingly. I strongly recommend you to take this course. It's simple, easy too understand and really helpful. Thank you for this learning opportunity.

By Srikrishna K

Sep 9, 2022

I liked the content, but I disagree with some of the comments and ratings pasted during review. I have to disagree to some of the comments as they dont even type a suggestion and just type "Z" . How is that even makes sense ? and I would appreciate , if qualified who passed the exams to review rather than someone randomly who are just rating with no reason and more importantly I feel they are wrong and I wish mediator reviews such ratings especially "May be" once. Once they place "May be" comments should be meaning ful and have more characters rather than just typing "Z" , "OK" for "May be".

By amberwang1987

Jan 5, 2020

I think this course is overall helpful and of high quality. I've learned a lot and found most of the content conducive to my career development. However, as to the assignments, I tried my best to finish the writing assignment for week 1, but still failed. I don't agree with some reviewers comments that I didn't use the punctuations right and I didn't write a subject. I hope there could be some coordinators with necessary skills and background knowledge to make sure the scores are more professional and objective. Maybe they could help exclude too subjective comments and ratings.

Thanks.

By CHENNUPATI D

May 1, 2021

Dear all,

I am CHENNUPATI DEVVRATH an alumni of the course "Write Professional Emails in English".

I find this course important, brief and efficient at the same time, suitable for almost anyone who wants to improve writing skills.

Regardless to the age, gender, professional background or nationality, the course will be useful in a sense of reminding something forgotten, or even giving a completely new information on what to write and how to write in your emails.

Thanks to the faculty of Georgia Institute of Technology for making this possible.

By AKBAR A K

Jul 13, 2020

This is a very interactive course for non-native English learner. I have been benefited from this course. I learned how to express myself professionally at the time of email writing. The pedagogy, in fact, is highly effective to instill the required skills for drafting a precise, concise, clear and simultaneously comprehensive email. Therefore, I recommend this course for beginners to improve and hone their skills so that they could write impressively and effectively.

By Ana P

Apr 11, 2020

Our teacher Gerry Landers has come up with easy to watch and digestible videos, that make this course excellent to improve our English written communications skills no matter our level of English. One of the worst experiences is the review system of the course. Some students will give you an unfair low score which is not backed up with an explanation nor following instructions. That is not professional.

By Akiko L

Oct 14, 2021

The course provides more knowledge and information that we do not often google. It is very nice to point out some special situations and culture shock. However, I am little bit disappointed about the examples, not too much different express way, so that even I used professional email expression in my assignments like I used in my working life, some feedbacks just like 'I do not know if it works'.