Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
16,174 ratings
3,126 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

P

Jan 29, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

MH

Jun 25, 2020

This course provides some practical situation which enriches my acknowledgment about being a responsible in any project and it also helps me to understand the planning process management proficiently!

Filter by:

2576 - 2600 of 3,088 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Mohamed M A M N

Apr 20, 2020

it is a great course that helps you as a beginner to understand the principles of initiating and planning in project management

By Efe A F

Sep 08, 2018

A well detailed and certainly practical approach to learning and understanding the dynamics of project planning and management.

By Wong W Y

Jul 22, 2020

Recommended for beginner to know basic knowledge of project management. The course easy to understand and full of interactive.

By Vlad R P

Aug 09, 2019

Very informative and challenging, however, I was hoping it gives more in depth information. Still great course for the money.

By Mohammed A S

Jan 10, 2018

More Video Explanation would be wonderful. It will help us, the students to understand better. All in all enjoyed the course.

By Anthony N D T

Jan 20, 2019

Amazing, course. Gets you started on what you need. Just wish that the PMBOK guide book was included in the course for free.

By Ernest

Jun 27, 2018

Very nice course! However I would like to watch more videos, otherwise there is not a big difference between reading a book.

By Ashutosh K J

Mar 16, 2017

For Project initial planning & understanding it is very helpful. The course has the scope of all aspects with key knowledge.

By Zahlan S

Nov 02, 2015

A very good course which taught me several things on Initiating and planning projects. The course was simple and very clear.

By Laye

Jan 15, 2020

Very interesting. This course allowed me to put into perspective what I learned and had as experience in project management

By Tatiana O G

Feb 07, 2016

Excelente opción de formación académica para estudiantes internacionales.

La universidad ofrece contenidos claros y precisos

By ARIF S S

Feb 21, 2017

Very good course for beginners. First step towards understanding project management . Excellent presentation and content!

By Vasudha H

Jun 25, 2020

The Course provides great deal of information for beginners, help to understand 'What a Project Manager should do first"

By Maria M

Mar 08, 2017

It has been great to participate in this course. I am sure it will help me to deal with situations/challenges in my job.

By sorach s

Jun 05, 2020

the reading material provided is very good, should include more video lectures, i did most of the learning via reading.

By Javier P

Apr 14, 2020

Insightful and rich content including relevant study cases that are good to visualise different scenarios in real life.

By Josemaría M

Jun 28, 2017

Great guide for tackling down the PMBOK, by providing a sense of progress while going through the very extensive PMBOK.

By Deane B

Oct 10, 2020

Great online course, great learning. Video was just a little bit distracting because the speaker is obviously reading.

By Đào T P A

Sep 14, 2019

Good course. I like the way the lecturer explains thing. They are very easy to understand, even for a beginner like me

By Christos K

Oct 07, 2017

Very good and interesting course. But I had to go back and fourth to complete my notes as the course was progressing.

By Marina M L

Jul 29, 2017

Really interesting course, the beginning is bit too theoretical but it gets much better after the beginning of week 3.

By Pardeese E

Dec 16, 2016

Good basic introduction to Project Management. I wish they gave more examples of how it comes together with forms etc.

By Ha H V

Jul 18, 2018

The course is informative for beginner who wants to know basics about different aspect to consider managing a project

By suzana

Oct 09, 2020

The course allowed me to get a deep view of how to start a Project. So much to learn yet.

Now I know where to start.

By Eleni V

May 05, 2020

8/10, Ι am very much satisfied and looking forward to completing the other 2 courses on Project Management Strategy.