Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
20,866 ratings
3,932 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge

(842 Reviews)

introductory course

(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

PD

Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

MH

Jun 24, 2020

This course provides some practical situation which enriches my acknowledgment about being a responsible in any project and it also helps me to understand the planning process management proficiently!

Filter by:

3726 - 3750 of 3,903 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Chenying Z

Sep 25, 2016

Useful

By Lucas H

Jun 11, 2016

Great!

By SAIDI A

Apr 23, 2020

Great

By Mohammed q s

Oct 3, 2019

Great

By Joachim O

May 13, 2022

Good

By abegael r

Aug 12, 2021

nice

By linsa s

Oct 29, 2020

nice

By Batu G

Oct 25, 2020

good

By HARSHIT M

Sep 29, 2020

Good

By Mohamed H

Sep 30, 2017

Good

By Karen P R G

Nov 18, 2021

O​k

By Nguyễn M L (

Apr 2, 2021

adv

By Vaibhav D

Apr 24, 2021

..

By Nguyen T D

Oct 3, 2019

ok

By BABU S

Feb 20, 2021

n

By Vipin K

Aug 8, 2020

.

By Muhammad A

Aug 26, 2019

A

By Usama H

Jun 20, 2017

V

By Lawrence M

Mar 29, 2016

W

By Karan T

Feb 24, 2021

The following pointers need to be worked upon:

1. The Flash Lesson was not downloadable and I had to take a screenshot of each slide for it to be saved.

2. Since there are no interactive sessions that various users can take between them, so reading exercise in each week was redundant as there is no way one can check up on how to correct response one is giving even if one does this exercise. So, I chose to leave this exercise in each of the weeks.

3. The quiz in each week is too simple which anyone can pass on the first attempt (or on the second attempt at the most) if one has studied the week's course material well. The quiz needs to moderately difficult and not too each as was the case.

4. There is a lot of repetition between the first video lesson and the second reading lesson in the weeks. For instance, in Week 4, there was a lot of repetition of the previous week especially in the Flash reading lesson which could have been avoided.

5. Week 1 and Week 6 can be clubbed together wherein details and interviews about panelists could be added in Week 1 itself. Week 6 could just have the final quiz.

6. The Fast Forward MBA in Management and PMBOK Guide book details have been unnecessary over-stated in the entire course each week. This needs to be stated only once at the start of the course as not many will be interested in this.

By Dwanna C

Mar 19, 2021

I found the material very dry. I understand that it can only be made so exciting but more is needed to keep people engaged. I would like an assignment at the end of each close like writing a project scope that is graded by fellow students. Something that builds as you go. Also, I wish I had known that the PMBOK was suggested reading before taking the class and I would have thought twice about taking it. I like the instructor and the foundation of material is good.

By Jeffrey L

Aug 13, 2016

Could be in much greater depth. Loved the video lectures: more please! Perhaps a second video lecture per week that delves into greater detail, so that the level of discussion is more in line with the PMBOK. The quizzes were simplistic, which is fine, but the final was literally just questions from the quizzes pasted together (all were repeats!) This sad fact undermines the integrity of the final as an actual test of ability and comprehension.

By Charu L S

Sep 26, 2015

The course, as intended probably, is theoretical and gives a good snapshot of project management. Following the PMBOK guide and covering all the relevant portions in the limited time deserves an applause. The only area of improvement, I felt, was the case study.It could have been a little more detailed and has scope of increased level of difficulty. A good course overall and beneficial in almost all walks of work :) Thank you !

By Jesus M

Mar 2, 2016

A bit confusing in term of structure. We jumped from some sections of the project life cycle to others missing some others. It gave a good general picture of what project management is about. But I'm not quite sure which is the order I should follow when dealing with a project. However I have to say I didn't do the optional readings. At least not yet!

Anyway, I think is an overall good course for not initiated people like me