Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
20,114 ratings
3,817 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

SY
Aug 30, 2020

The course is a very great asset to any aspiring project manager. You get to understand the fundamentals and essentials in any given project and the means to ameliorate conflicts amongst stakeholders.

BS
Jul 5, 2020

Excelent course! It gives you the principles of project management for the early phases, initianing and planning, it has very good dynamic and share examples, it's a good option if you're newbie in PM

Filter by:

3051 - 3075 of 3,780 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Meghan P

Jul 19, 2020

Great, high-level overview of the project management process. The slideshows were easy to access and provided condensed and highly relevant information. The platform was well used, and I appreciated the flexibility of the format.

By Meng G L

May 11, 2020

I loved that the course was short and sweet and provided a quick overview to PMP, PMBOK and how to initiate and plan projects. The practical tips provided by the instructor and panel discussion were very informative and useful.

By Randall G

Nov 30, 2017

Very good introductory course if you are new to Project Management. I also liked the fact that the course is designed to help you build your project management knowledge and provides a clear pathway for more advanced training

By Anne-Charlotte M

May 7, 2020

This course is definitely aimed mainly at professionals who want to work for big organisations, but the content was explained very clearly and the panelist videos are very interesting for aspiring project managers. Thank you!

By Alin C F

Jul 17, 2016

The course is a little bit hard to follow for the people who are just starting in the Project Management Area. It would be nice to have more video lessons and less additional material to consult.

I liked the weekly exercises.

By Yash V

Aug 9, 2018

The course offers an inside into Project Management and what are the various parameters that project managers need to do and how to make decision to run a project smoothly and efficiently with cross domain functionalities.

By Debora B

Sep 29, 2018

Very useful information and a good start. My suggestion would be to have more interesting videos. There are more creative ways of presenting information that helps the student stay engaged. Perhaps a less formal approach.

By Johann J C

Jun 18, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to good practices and approaches provided by the PMBOK framework, emphasizing the importance of criteria over methodologies, and establishing a fresh perspective towards conflict management.

By Thakur R V

May 4, 2020

the course is good and it gives basic ideas about planning project the video lecture are very easy to understand i like the last video where expert panelist shared their experience and the flash reading material is good

By Synthia

Mar 28, 2019

This is a good course for anyone in a project management role or is looking for a role similar to project management, the course modules explains the concepts from the PMBOK really well and keeps the learner engaged!

By Chijioke J O

Nov 25, 2020

The course managed to explain the topic in simple and easy to understand terms. Also, the examples, case studies, and exercises were relatable and easy to remember. A wonderful course with a wonderful instructor.

By Ibrahim A

Apr 14, 2020

Margret Meloni is an amazing expert. She simplifies very important topics in a very interesting way. The issue that I faced, that the lessons were in flash format not a pdf, which didn't allow me to print them.

By Abhishek J

Jun 1, 2020

Its a very good course for beginner which makes you familiar to about project. How to initiate project and planning for the project. WBS is best part of this module that is really helpful in real time project.

By Omara M

Feb 21, 2020

That's an amazing course for beginners to learn how to planing and initiating for your project. In addition, you will know some basic information about your organization, stakeholders, and conflict resolutions

By Nicolás V

Dec 26, 2017

The course is great, the information is very realiable and well presented. I would suggest breaking down the information into several video lectures. More than one video lecture for each week would be awesome.

By Trinh L

May 5, 2020

very informative course that gives basic understanding of project management. The materials are easy to read and prepare you for PMP certificate if you wish to. Yet, I hope to have more quiz or practice test.

By Giuseppe M

Nov 15, 2016

nice course, I would have loved more video, they were engaging and useful. Also, the course needs more exercises and quizzes are far too easy. A good recap on the subject, helped me, could have been better

By amit m

May 20, 2016

A very brief and compact course. I would really like it more if even the tools and techniques are introduced in between inputs and outputs. otherwise course was very useful for beginners like me.

Thank you

By Arsalan

Jul 31, 2020

It was a good course to initiate the project planning and management but needs more work on the exercise and final exam. As all of the final exam questions were already done in the individual weekly exam.

By Stephen R

Oct 12, 2015

This course was tremendously helpful for someone who, like myself, may have a background in planning but was never taught a formal approach to it. It really was a pleasant surprise to find this course.

By ANIMESH A

May 31, 2020

Superb way of explaining, courses materials are concise and to the point and the panelist videos are also awesome-It would be more better though if you add a hands on project with this also at the end

By Doug S

Jan 22, 2017

I think out of all the options for learning about project management and eventually to pass the PMI, this ranks near the top. There is certainly room for improvement, but overall a reasonable approach.

By DUSHIME J

Oct 25, 2016

I really got hooked throughout this course. I loved the idea of expert panelist at the end of course. I have much confidence to apply this knowledge in the real world. Looking forward to other courses!

By Mudassir G

Feb 25, 2017

Great course. Teaches you a lot of new things related to Project management. Only issue I faced was the flow and how it fits together. A quick summary of all week courses in the end goes extra mile.

By CHETAN P

Aug 2, 2020

It was great way to start the journey to the Certification. The videos were very good. I feel the reading requires more depth and probably more case studies for better understanding of the subject.