Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
20,511 ratings
3,870 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

SY
Aug 30, 2020

The course is a very great asset to any aspiring project manager. You get to understand the fundamentals and essentials in any given project and the means to ameliorate conflicts amongst stakeholders.

PD
Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 3,839 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Sujata P

Jun 28, 2020

Very insightful for new project managers. The assignments can be more challenging, like, if we can get more assignments on case studies that will be helpful. Thank you! :)

By Sihle M

Jun 19, 2020

I loved it. I loved the panel discussion at the end. I loved the additional resources which does not have to include the textbooks. The Pacing per module was good as well.

By LIM Y J

Jun 13, 2020

Great explanation of initiating and planning project. This course taught me four knowledge areas out of total 10 in the PMBOK. Love it and worth to participant this course

By Sherna J A B

Dec 18, 2018

The technical terms were simplified and the course was rather engaging. I look forward to taking the other courses in this specialisation. Taking this course was worth it.

By Zhen P W

Jan 29, 2021

A great course which involved many different ways and methods of initiating and planning projects. Involves many useful foundational pieces of knowledge which is helpful!

By Christopher C E

Dec 27, 2020

The lessons presented are very informative as it supplements my existing knowledge. I can apply these to my current profession as IT Project Manager in my new workplace.

By esthermusyoki

Dec 6, 2020

Very simple and clearly elaborated . the lecturers are explaining clearly for one to gasp everything they lecture. a good course to learn about ways of solving conflicts

By Murline P

Dec 2, 2020

This was an excellent course to learn. The main key learning areas are learning to work with multicultural people and enforcing forward-thinking with a positive approach.

By Carla D

Jul 10, 2020

This course provided a very good introduction to project management. As someone with know prior theoretical knowledge in this field I was able to follow along quite well.

By Allan A

Feb 12, 2021

It was very interactive and easy to understand. All classes are very well explained, the exercises are great for fixing the content and the whole course is very didactic

By Nurbek A

Nov 1, 2020

Thanks for your the Prof. Meloni! It was a wonderful time to expand my knowledge about project initiation and planning. I am long for taking all the courses I signed in.

By Sebastian L R

Jul 19, 2020

Great course, it was a great way to learn about the project management, and it is a good way of approaching to another university and to share the knowledge with others.

By Pratyush A

Jul 18, 2020

Well structured and very well organized course. There could have been more case studies but overall it's a must do course for anyone who aspires to be a project manager.

By Percy N C

Feb 7, 2021

A good start for a beginner in Project Management. The lecturer was well suited for the course. I learnt so much stuff within a short period. Thank you Coursera and UCI

By Enuh B M

Oct 30, 2020

This course is really comprehensive. It laid down the project management foundation in a comprehensive way I had never seen before. Many thanks to the course organizers

By Huda k

Sep 12, 2020

The Course was very helpful!

It was a quick overview to the main headlines, after going through it i discovered that i have so much more to learn in Project Management.

By Anuoluwapo B

Oct 12, 2019

This course really got me going in the right direction. Thanks to everyone who made this course available, and realistic for an imaginative & inquisitive heart as mine.

By Aashish G

May 29, 2019

Actually, I am new to project management. After attending this course it starts to give the shape of an overview of the project. I cannot wait to start the next session

By Ashraf

Jul 12, 2017

Really a good lesson ,Exercise & videos helped me to understand and learn quickly & clearly. Thanks for providing a great course. Really it ill be helpful for my career

By Nestor P

Nov 25, 2020

It was a good course. Understanding the process as a Project Manager and how to handle different things regarding to a project as a team member and also as a P Manager

By Clemence U

Jul 31, 2020

This lesson is more interesting to take it and it is an important lesson for the people who needs to run different projects as its content teach you all key concepts.

By Beatriz P

Jul 24, 2020

Very interesting and useful!!!

Thank you very much to the teacher, Margaret Meloni; the UCI and Coursera for creating it and allowing me to do it.

Thank you very much!!!

By Christian B J

Aug 9, 2016

I thought the course provided a great overview of the PMBOK Guide and project management principles. Having a professor make sense of the PMBOK with you is invaluable.

By Abdirahmaan M

Sep 20, 2020

My name is Abdirahman Ahmed Ali Maansoore iam Somalilander. I have completed the project management and I am so happy that facilitated coursera platform,thank you.

By Jen P

Jul 19, 2020

Easy to understand and very simple way of introducing project management concepts. Case studies are awesome as well. There could be more like 2 case studies per week.