Chevron Left
Back to Managing Project Risks and Changes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Project Risks and Changes by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
7,882 ratings
1,015 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you manage project risk effectively by identifying, analyzing, and communicating inevitable changes to project scope and objectives. You will understand and practice the elements needed to measure and report on project scope, schedule, and cost performance. You will be equipped with the tools to manage change in the least disruptive way possible for your team and other project stakeholders. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define components of a communications management plan 2. Understand the importance of communications channels 3. Define the key elements needed to measure and report on project scope, schedule, and cost performance 4. Identify project risk events 5. Prioritize identified risks 6. Develop responses for a high priority risk 7. Identify and analyze changes to project scope 8. Describe causes and effects of project changes 9. Define the purpose of conducting a lessons learned session...

Top reviews

CS
Nov 30, 2019

I enjoyed while reading this course as similar situations I had faced in my work.\n\nexcellent tutor for this course, clearly explained the real conditions as it happens in Industry and how to handle.

JB
Oct 3, 2017

Loved this course. The instructor makes this course what it is. Lessons and terms are great, but real world applications are necessary to help you learn to practice your newly acquired skills.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 999 Reviews for Managing Project Risks and Changes

By Jeffrey B

Oct 4, 2017

Loved this course. The instructor makes this course what it is. Lessons and terms are great, but real world applications are necessary to help you learn to practice your newly acquired skills.

By Anjani V

Sep 4, 2020

Its really a very informative and helpful training to gain better understanding on how to manage risks and changes in a better way. Also the panel discussion is very very helpful to understand how one can handle the project :) Thank you team.

By Vinton C

Jun 21, 2019

Very informative! While risk management and scope change make up a small part of the project management process, they are some of the most important topics and are well covered in this class.

By Sahil M

Nov 5, 2017

Again very good presentation given on Managing Project Risks & changes. Happy tp learn

By Raqueeb M

Mar 20, 2019

final exam is just repeat of previous exam questions.

By Carmen

Nov 21, 2020

Like the first (Initiating and Planning Projects) and second (Budgeting and Scheduling Projects) as part of the Project Management specialization offered by UCI, this was the final course I took before I got the chance to do the Capstone Project. As a relatively new project manager, I have always been worried about the risks and changes of each project that I handle. I tend to forget to do mitigation and contingency plans that's why there were times the projects go beyond scope and my team experienced scope creep. Taking this course taught me a lot and gave me hope that I can still improve as a project manager. I learned different processes (e.g. change control process, risk register, etc.) that should be involved in projects in order for projects to succeed. To UCI and Ms. Meloni, thank you very much for having this course!

By Pia A I

Mar 25, 2021

Managing project risk is really an interesting topic. I really like how Margaret Meloni shared tips on how to effectively report, manage risk, changes and document lessons learned. The knowledge she imparted was invaluable because she was actually sharing real life experience. The panel interview was also very enlightening and inspiring at the same time. The panelists were top caliber professionals and really knows what they are saying. This course has really taught me a lot and I have actually related some of the concepts in my actual experience too, but there are more things that I've learned which I know will be helpful and applicable to my future project

By Suhaimi W C

Nov 12, 2020

Great course. Loved the bonus videos/lesson as well as the panelist interview. Thanks a lot for sharing all the insights and pitfalls to avoid. Highly recommend this course/specialization. Awesome course structure that starts with lecture, followed by lesson with more detailed explanations, then case study with optional reading, followed by exercise to reinforce that we practice what we just learned, then quizzes/final exams. Then my favorite part, the bonus video/panelist interview that shares with us the step by step process or pitfalls to avoid.

By Michelle A C

Nov 7, 2020

Good , clear, information and very explicit videos.

Any one planning to move in the direction of a Project Management career, should do this course, Although I would recommend as many persons as possible to do it, because generally it is like a life guide for any area of work, it pushes you to be discipline in your decisions.

By Stella K

Dec 19, 2020

I learned many practical and useful tips that enhanced my project management experience. Really enjoyed the course, easy to follow its flow. Sadly, I am disappointed that we can only have access through a link for the readings. I would love to be able to download them in a PDF format in order to review again later or when needed.

By Anantha K C B C

Mar 13, 2021

Concepts are explained in a simple manner. Easy to learn. Very organized course. Very good course materials . The lecture and lessons are well organized - one can learn and understand complex material in limited time with ease. Good course and the course is also taught very well. The instructor is brilliant!

By Thomas I

Jan 24, 2021

The course is structured and efficiently managed. The individual videos are interactive and are complemented by valuable readings. I also like the reference to the best practices sessions. I can recommend this course at any time to experienced project managers as a refresher.

By Abeer W

Nov 17, 2020

Thank you Coursera for providing coursera specially during this pandemic these courses are very good for us since we can reach them in flexible hours and its completely online. Moreover, Ma'am Margaret Meloni really taught us well. Thanks Again and Stay Blessed!

By Quinn R

Dec 4, 2020

A variety of teaching styles aids learning, with clear and engaging lectures and readings, the information is reinforced and reviewed. The teacher is very engaging and clear. I learned a lot and could apply what I learned right away at work and at home.

By Michael F

Oct 23, 2016

I enjoyed this course, the mix of the video presentations and the powerpoints are well done. The instructor does an excellent job. the 'bonus videos' and 'panelist interviews' are very good as well. Well worth the experience.

By Kamal O

Oct 9, 2019

I highly recommend this course for any one who wants to explore project management and knowledge areas or who wants to reinforce principals and get a better understanding of how everything works together. I enjoyed it

By KAGGA S

May 22, 2016

Risks are our everyday encounters and we need to be aware of them in every circumstances we flow into.

It was nice learning hoe to manage them and create ways how to over come them.

Thanks so much for all the endeavors.

By Jim H

Jan 15, 2021

Great all-around experience!

The instructor, Margaret Meloni knows her stuff. She presents the information at the right pace, provided well thought out examples and in a manner that was easily understood.

Thank you,

Jim

By Kifner R M Q

Dec 28, 2020

This course focused on how to manage risks and emphasizes that change, in general, is not a bad thing. It also presented insights on the importance of taking the time to document the lessons learned for every project

By Oduwa I

Jul 8, 2020

Margaret's teaching style is effortlessly effective and the tenor of the sessions are practice-led, so it's presented as information in action, not theory and pedagogy. This is an outstanding course feature, in my op

By Gautam A K

Aug 5, 2019

Excellent course, well structured and presented. To get the total benefit of this course, I would recommend completing all courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization.

By Salah B M A

Sep 7, 2020

Very useful course that helped me to learn and having more information and techniques on how to manage project risk by identifying, analyzing, and communicating inevitable changes to project scope and objectives.

By Khaled A

May 20, 2020

Great course overall. All sides of managing project risks are comprehensively and clearly covered by Ms Meloni. Certainly, a must course for students wishing to dig deeper into the world of project management.

By Deleted A

Jan 22, 2018

Love the information and how it is presented. Addresses multiple learning styles, with verbal, visual and reading assignments. Tests give good reinforcement and assurance that the information was absorbed.

By Lê Đ D

Oct 26, 2020

I find this course means a lot to me. As a student, I had trouble with risk and change happen too often. This course helps me identify the problem and solutions for it. I can't wait to apply it in practice!