Chevron Left
Back to Public Economics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Economics by National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.3
stars
138 ratings
32 reviews

About the Course

This course offers an introduction into the public economics theory. It does not aspire to cover theories of taxation, public expenditures, regulation etc. at length and in-depth. Rather, our ambition is to give a bird's-eye view of central themes of public economics and related disciplines, and teach concepts, logic, and ideas, rather than methods of analysis, which would require an entirely different course format. Our choice of topics covered by the course reflects a trade-off between salience and centrality, on the one hand, and suitability for a brief online introductory course, on the other. The course content is neither comprehensive (which would be a "mission impossible" for virtually any public economics course"), nor representative of other such courses. With these limitations and caveats in mind, we encourage our students to continue their public economics studies in a more regular fashion, and see our role inter alia in motivating interest in such "continued education". The central theme of the course is the role of government as a mechanism of resource allocation which complements and augments markets. Governments are viewed as public agencies set to correct market failures. Such agencies however are prone to failures of their own, and hence markets and governments are two imperfect alternatives. We deal with government's limitations, with particular emphasis on those that have to do with informational asymmetry, limited administrative capacity, and imperfect accountability to society. Otherwise the course's man themes are economics of taxation, regulation, politics of public economics, incentives in government, and government vis-à-vis (civil) society. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

GA

Apr 28, 2020

It's very usfule cource which enhance my skill and knowledge about public economics and administration

HS

Aug 28, 2020

Excellent Course to understand the intricates of Public Economics

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Public Economics

By carlos a m p

Jul 11, 2018

The public economics course is an excellent course with novel concepts about public economics, most of them from recent academic journals. Nonetheless, it does not offer enough practice exercises taking on that some of the economic concepts are too complex to digest and some of the questions from the quizzes and the final exam are very difficult to solve, while the lectures do not offer much help in this regard. Another issue with this course is that it is difficult to receive feedback from the debate forums to solve doubts, which are going to be plenty throughout the course. Finally, the public economics course has an excessive academic focus, requiring a more practical approach with real live examples.

By Patrick C

Feb 08, 2018

This course may be good for those that want a highly theoretical and model-oriented grounding in public economics. This course is very focused on models of public economic questions developed in academic papers. You learn the structure of the models, the question it is expected to answer, the results of the model. You learn the terminology as well. The professor could also spend more time discussing key concepts before diving into the models. When he does emerge from the series of models, it is often to make vague and general comments about the nature of government. Additionally, the problem sets for the course require the user to solve math problems with these models. However, there are only sometimes actual examples where these models are solved, making the quizzes very challenging. The course could benefit from these mathematical examples as well as case studies or at least examples for when the concept being discussed arises.

I work in international policymaking (environmental policy) specifically, so I was hoping for a course that would speak to more of the real challenges and questions around the economics of public good provision and the role of government in facilitating public good access. This course is solely academically focused - it does not address this practical matters, nor does it discuss the degree to which the models have been validated and/or challenged. As a result, it will be useful as a resume-builder, but unfortunately, I do not expect I will use the skill set from this class in the future.

By Finiarel A S

Oct 18, 2019

Не курс, а каша из понятий, в которой тесты не связаны с материалом, части материала друг с другом, да и в тестах употребляются какие-то вообще никому кроме автора курса непонятные знаки типа >/<

By Marjorie F

Jul 13, 2020

I appreciate the fact that the course covered some important aspects of public economics relevant to the practical world that we are living in. The video scripts had some errors which need to be edited. (I can help in this work, if required.) The possibility of taking the final exam and quizzes several times (keeping only the highest score on record, whatever the number of attempts) is useful for improving scores as well as learning.

Some of the questions in the quizzes and final exam had no connection at all with what was discussed in the video lectures. For example, Question 11 of the final exam deals with probabilities whereas the values given in the lecture for the Weignast model has no reference to probabilities at all. Hence, I was unable to get the correct answer despite making so many attempts (and even getting a reply from Alexander Reuben in the Discussion Forum which made no sense to me). I have managed to pass all the quizzes and the final exam scoring quite well. However, I would like to know how to get the correct answer to this Question 11 of the final exam as also the few questions in the various quizzes which I got wrong. I would be grateful if the reply can be sent to my email ID (mmaf07@yahoo.co.in) if it is not possible to give the answers in the Discussion Forum.

Thanks and best wishes,

Marjorie Fernandes

By Станкович М

Oct 17, 2019

Курс полезен для обзорного ознакомления с предметом. При этом, более конкретные области, как например те, где используются сложные математические формулы, были осложнением при прохождении. Лектор часто говорил, что он даст простой пример, но к сожалению, все эти примеры для меня были, если не непонятными, то, во всяком случае, непростыми. В тестах задавались некорректные вопросы, на которые я не смог ответить даже после тщательного просмотра слайдов лекции. Часто я записывал правильный ответ, но из-за неправильного его оформления его выдавали за неправильный. В помощи к тестам часто отсылка: "смотрите слайд "..." в лекции", но в лекциях слайды не были пронумерованы. Думаю, что курс можно было сделать в более понятной и облегченной форме.

By Гергенредер К Е

Jun 02, 2020

Very weak course in terms of practice. If you have nowhere to spend money or you already have 2 economic education, then you can act. In other cases, do not waste time on this horror. Practical orientation of this course is absent.

By Neringa B

Oct 02, 2019

The course has been an eye opener from Week 1. I have realised that every real thing can sooner or later be faked on this planet: fake security/threat to security, fake laws/prohibitions, fake identity, fake birth/death, fake marriage/divorce, fake presence of relationship/absence of relationship, fake values/virtues, fake right to rights/no right to rights, fake merit/demerit, fake illness/health, fake presence of theory/absence of theory, fake profits/losses ... (you name it ad infinitum). The market of fakes is the most profitable market.

By Kiran L

Aug 26, 2019

Unlike many of the other courses, this course has tougher evaluation in terms of weekly quizzes and final examination. One has to repeatedly go through thee slides to pass thee quizzes and exam. Readings are very useful. References of somee of thee important work in political sciences are something I wouldn't have come across without this course.

By Alida K P A

Aug 29, 2020

Por el idioma necesito más tiempo, y la fecha límite de terminación es hasta fines de septiembre, disculpas no voy a alcanzar a terminar y necesito cambiarme a otro curso más corto.

By Gul A

Apr 28, 2020

It's very usfule cource which enhance my skill and knowledge about public economics and administration

By Hemanth S

Aug 28, 2020

Excellent Course to understand the intricates of Public Economics

By Christian E L R

Sep 27, 2020

Its a really hard but really interesnting course thanks a lot

By Ahmed S T

Dec 12, 2018

This course is an exceptional.

Thanks for your offering.

By Alice Z

Apr 10, 2020

excellent and worthy of my time - and perhaps yours:)

By Анастасия Я

Dec 18, 2017

Курс будет полезен и понятен, если вы гуманитарий :)

By Nhat Q L

Jan 30, 2019

The class is very challenging! But I love it.

By Yuming Z

May 21, 2017

This is a brilliant course!I love it!

By thakurdev

May 29, 2017

Very good and challenging course.

By Osman h o

May 08, 2018

Very good i gett many benefit

By Veerpal k

Jun 21, 2020

It's good for skill....!!!!!

By Ермолаев А А

Jun 12, 2020

Интересно и полезно

By Gianluca c

Nov 14, 2018

excellent course!

By Bawa J T

Jul 07, 2020

great experience

By wangwei

Feb 08, 2017

很好!

By Орлов И А

Feb 18, 2019

Сложновато воспринимать даже с хорошим языком. Приходится много раз пересматривать, чтобы всё понять. И даже додумывать какие-то вопросы самостоятельно. Тема интересная. Но раскрыта не в полной мере.