Chevron Left
Back to Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
1,333 ratings
344 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics. This course will be officially closing on November 5, 2021 and all course work must be completed by May 15, 2022 to be graded....

Top reviews

TA
Sep 26, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM
Apr 23, 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 344 Reviews for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

By Madan P P

Jun 26, 2020

A well-formatted course to know about the public policy of the contemporary USA and its challenges. It is mainly focused on USA policies. However, it is highly beneficial to all who are working in policy area.

By Kyle H

Aug 31, 2018

Great course, but just like one of the key themes of the course shows, the rapid pace of change requires it be updated more often. Taking a course filmed in 2014 in 2018 is like a lifetime of difference.

By Senyo A

Nov 2, 2020

For anyone who wants to really influence the policies that their governments offers them, this course to me, is the go-to starting point for an overview of what public policy entails.

By Krishaan K

Dec 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed and benefitted from this course, however, I also feel there was too much of an emphasis on U.S Policy. It is understandable, but other than that, it was great!

By Faith C K

Sep 29, 2020

Succinct, engaging. The scope should have been a bit more universal for the various Coursera students around the world. but it allows for a good grasp on 21st century challenges.

By Ryan T

Jul 14, 2020

Highly interactive class. The guest lecturers have extensive experience and highlight so much information from the past and into the future. I highly recommend this course.

By Shantanu P

Sep 22, 2015

Helped me understand the key challenges to Public Policy, albeit to the US.

However, many of the challenges are global and also impact the developing nations of Asia.

By Alexander S

Feb 9, 2016

Very much enjoyed the course and the discussions (particularly on healthcare policy). However, the title should reflect that the course is entirely US-centric.

By Carrie D

May 3, 2018

Enjoyed the lectures but could not figure out how to engage with the other students...

Also, the class was a few years old so issues had obviously changed.

By Matthias

Nov 2, 2020

I'm from Holland and it was a good course for me and my study. It gives a overview how to manage some difficult issues. Thanks a lot for this course.

By Nicolás C

Jun 14, 2020

Muy buen curso, abarca diferentes habilidades como profesional de políticas publicas debe tener, siento que las lecturas deben ser actualizadas

By 임용진

Aug 30, 2020

This class is amazing and I was able to conveniently study major i wanted to learn also. I have to find another class and take it. thank you

By Seyed M H G

Oct 18, 2018

The course concentrate on american public policy. It could be wider regarding the topic "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century.

By Mohammad K F

Jun 6, 2020

It's a well-designed course but the Course is designed in the USA-perspective only which does not go with the title of the Course.

By Akinsola A

Nov 6, 2020

Awesome experience. The learning is practically based with worth-while experience of key players and actors in public policy.

By KAPISH 1

Aug 22, 2020

Wonderful Course to learn about Future challenges . Also the course offers different ideological perspectives to learn from .

By Dawood T

Sep 2, 2021

It was really an insightful moment to be exposed to some public policy challenges with practical examples around the globe.

By Janice W

May 15, 2020

Great overview of policy challenges with several examples of different topics that will impact future policy discussions.

By Afsarul K

Aug 25, 2020

wow it effective course for me as a student of public administration.,i really enjoy it to enriched my knowledge. thanks

By eliema c p d r

Aug 31, 2020

The course was excellent but it could have complementary reading suggested for students, from professors and guests.

By Abrar H

Jun 20, 2020

Very helpful and in depth course, focusing on the public policy and other aspects of the government. Learnt a lot.

By Racquel W

Jun 6, 2018

Very useful course to get a baseline knowledge of sustainable development and the key content areas in this field

By GAURAV G

Sep 3, 2017

This course was more US centric. Expect more of content w.r.t challenges in other countries

By ekasmayi n

Jul 23, 2020

very well structured and included insights from field experts which was a great highlight

By Mariana C V

Feb 4, 2016

GREAT! great professors and a lot of passion! wich there were more suggested readings!