Chevron Left
Back to Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
1,322 ratings
343 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics. This course will be officially closing on November 5, 2021 and all course work must be completed by May 15, 2022 to be graded....

Top reviews

TA
Sep 26, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM
Apr 23, 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 342 Reviews for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

By Anurag P T

May 31, 2020

The team of Public Policy have taken a lot of effort to discuss their ideas with us. Their preparation was strong, and diligent planning to make this happen

By Juergen K

Aug 9, 2016

excellent course to get hands-on knowledge and insights on current and future global and US public policy issues and challenges from top-class practioners

By Claudia M

Nov 10, 2015

I believe this is an excellent and very valuable course. I believe that an online printable statement of accomplishment should be given to every student.

By Alan R

Aug 23, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course. I learned a lot about public policy. This course will give me the skills needed to succeed in working in local government.

By Emmanuel L

Aug 12, 2020

As a matter of fact, I am grateful to the instructor. Feeling the intense joy of the most profound satisfaction ever. It is indeed an incredible course

By Steven U

Feb 11, 2016

Amazingly produced and thought out course. They ​utilize some of the top field specialists and provide video lectures in a creative and thorough way.

By Joshua L

Mar 8, 2021

Extremely informative and allows you to think about solutions to fundamental systems that are broken or need new innovation, concepts, ideas, etc.

By Marcelo J M M

Aug 13, 2020

O curso está muito bem distribuído, com aulas super dinâmicas e com fácil compreensão. As leituras recomendadas também são ótimas e informativas.

By Jeanine L

Mar 7, 2017

Excellent format, content and speakers. Informative, thought provoking, engaging and extremely pertinent in today's critical political situation.

By Joshua N

Aug 31, 2015

Covered a variety of interesting topics. But perhaps more importantly, advanced a sorely-needed spirit of optimism in today's political climate.

By Ismael C

Jul 16, 2017

Thank you for the opportunity to continue learning Public Policy. Thanks also to Professor Warburg for teaching and sharing an elegant class.

By rachelelel

Mar 30, 2019

This is an excellent course for beginners to step into public policy and develop the knowledge on some current issues and future missions.

By Izuchukwu M O

Mar 13, 2019

Super amazing learnings that can be related to a wide spectrum of settings, including mine. Thanks a lot the UV for making this happen!

By Patricia C

Nov 28, 2020

Excellent, balanced, and well-strutured opportunity to learn from top policy makers. Thank you for making this course available online

By Ross M

Sep 18, 2015

One word: Enthralling.

More words: The UVa Program is showing strength with this course, only three weeks in and enjoying it immensely.

By Sneha B

Jul 15, 2020

I really loved the flow of the course. I wish to suggest one feedback that is to give some written assignments to the students.

By Sabyne P

May 12, 2016

I really loved the lecture-styled videos provided in this course & learned so much about how individuals become policymakers.

By Subol K D

Aug 31, 2020

Great informative course ever public policy in Coursera. All of the instructor from various fields make awesome this course.

By Charlene L H

May 15, 2020

This was a very informative class. I recommend it as a beginning course for anyone who has an interest in public policy.

By Tejaswini P

Jul 8, 2019

Love the way it is taught with practical examples. Truly an exceptional course for those want a public policy course!

By sixtus u o

May 18, 2016

A must for future leaders to be well equiped to solve the next generations socio, economic and political challenges.

By Daniel O Y L

Feb 16, 2016

I am watching the introduction and i'm impressed at the effort the professor and his TAs put in for this MOOC course

By BENJAMIN C J

Nov 20, 2020

A very interesting and challenging course. A must for anyone interested in public affairs, no matter at what level.

By Pierre R

Sep 5, 2015

Really great course !

(His name should rather be Amercian Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century though)

By Nadia D X

Mar 19, 2017

Very informative course! If you are interested in public policy, I strongly recommend you take this course!!