Chevron Left
Back to Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
1,232 ratings
327 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Top reviews

TA
Sep 26, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM
Apr 23, 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 324 Reviews for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

By 施捷

Dec 21, 2019

This course is the first one I ever had on Coursera. And it is very helpful for me to grasp a sense and build a foundation on public policy. Also, it gives me a view of college class vibe in UVA. Great indeed!

By Sazzad H T

Jul 15, 2020

Thanks a lot to Coursera and UVA to share this course with the students of 195 countries. Its been pleasure learning with coursera. I have learned about some important tools that will be useful in the future.

By Mark B T

Jul 15, 2020

This was one of the most very exciting if not the most exciting course I have ever taken. Very interactive and engaging. I look forward to another course. I am so grateful to have been a part of this class.

By John V T

Aug 30, 2015

This is a particularly exceptional course of study, grounded in a well-balanced view of politics at the Federal level. Take it and enjoy, while learning and discussing American Politics and Government.

By Diane P

Dec 7, 2020

Enriching and captivating. Allows to brainstorm on the issues of the 2030 agenda and allows a better understanding of American politics. Pushes to act and never give up to create a better future.

By Manuel O A

Nov 3, 2015

This was a wonderful course, it debates the future of the world in different aspects: social, political, economics, war, health and other big challenges the humanity will have to deal with.

By Karthik S

May 11, 2020

Great course and I would like to thank this extraordinary school for going deep into some of the crucial topics in Public Policy/ Loved the experts who shared their views and experiences!

By Rakesh K C

May 31, 2020

Best way of teaching sharing the practical aspects so that the students are aware about the dynamism of the subject and search for a solution in a technology driven dynamic soceity

By Zainab n

Dec 25, 2020

Its a great course .all the speakers were so amazing .its a great opportunity for beginners to know and understand the importance of public policy and its upcoming challenges.

By Shristi S

Jul 24, 2020

one of the best course to learn and to develop critical analysis in the field of public policy. Will recommend any one who has interest in Public Policy and Politics as a whole

By Maria d L A P

Mar 4, 2016

A must-take course to people interested in how US policies work at the domestic level o at the international level. Great teacher, even greater speechers. I just loved it!

By büşra ö

Feb 21, 2021

It was a pleasure to attend this course. This course improved my ability to analyze 21st-century policy challenges. Thanks a lot Virginia University for this opportunity!

By Adib Z

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course to help understanding the policy challenges of the 21st century. The quiz sections too are learner friendly which helps to continue the overall progress

By jared B

Oct 20, 2018

This course was extremely interesting and I am glad that the Frank Batten School of Public Policy and Leadership decided to have this course open to the general public.

By Ben P

Apr 24, 2020

I love this course! It was very informative and insightful. It also makes me more interested in the functioning of government, and makes me more engaged as a citizen.

By Suhavi A

Mar 20, 2020

I liked the course structure and guest professors. But two things that I liked best was - 1. Classroom videos where students ask questions and 2. Gerry Warburg.

By ROEL V R

Sep 22, 2020

It's one of the best MOOC course if you are into public service because it will open up your mind on how can we adapat on the public challenges in the future.

By Anurag P T

May 31, 2020

The team of Public Policy have taken a lot of effort to discuss their ideas with us. Their preparation was strong, and diligent planning to make this happen

By Juergen K

Aug 9, 2016

excellent course to get hands-on knowledge and insights on current and future global and US public policy issues and challenges from top-class practioners

By Claudia M

Nov 10, 2015

I believe this is an excellent and very valuable course. I believe that an online printable statement of accomplishment should be given to every student.

By Alan R

Aug 23, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course. I learned a lot about public policy. This course will give me the skills needed to succeed in working in local government.

By Emmanuel L

Aug 12, 2020

As a matter of fact, I am grateful to the instructor. Feeling the intense joy of the most profound satisfaction ever. It is indeed an incredible course

By Steven U

Feb 11, 2016

Amazingly produced and thought out course. They ​utilize some of the top field specialists and provide video lectures in a creative and thorough way.

By Joshua L

Mar 8, 2021

Extremely informative and allows you to think about solutions to fundamental systems that are broken or need new innovation, concepts, ideas, etc.

By Marcelo J M M

Aug 13, 2020

O curso está muito bem distribuído, com aulas super dinâmicas e com fácil compreensão. As leituras recomendadas também são ótimas e informativas.