Chevron Left
Back to Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
1,232 ratings
327 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Top reviews

TA
Sep 26, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM
Apr 23, 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 324 Reviews for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

By Jeanine L

Mar 7, 2017

Excellent format, content and speakers. Informative, thought provoking, engaging and extremely pertinent in today's critical political situation.

By Joshua N

Aug 31, 2015

Covered a variety of interesting topics. But perhaps more importantly, advanced a sorely-needed spirit of optimism in today's political climate.

By Ismael C

Jul 16, 2017

Thank you for the opportunity to continue learning Public Policy. Thanks also to Professor Warburg for teaching and sharing an elegant class.

By rachelelel

Mar 30, 2019

This is an excellent course for beginners to step into public policy and develop the knowledge on some current issues and future missions.

By Izuchukwu M O

Mar 13, 2019

Super amazing learnings that can be related to a wide spectrum of settings, including mine. Thanks a lot the UV for making this happen!

By Patricia C

Nov 28, 2020

Excellent, balanced, and well-strutured opportunity to learn from top policy makers. Thank you for making this course available online

By Ross M

Sep 18, 2015

One word: Enthralling.

More words: The UVa Program is showing strength with this course, only three weeks in and enjoying it immensely.

By Sneha B

Jul 15, 2020

I really loved the flow of the course. I wish to suggest one feedback that is to give some written assignments to the students.

By Sabyne P

May 12, 2016

I really loved the lecture-styled videos provided in this course & learned so much about how individuals become policymakers.

By Subol K D

Aug 31, 2020

Great informative course ever public policy in Coursera. All of the instructor from various fields make awesome this course.

By Charlene L H

May 15, 2020

This was a very informative class. I recommend it as a beginning course for anyone who has an interest in public policy.

By Tejaswini P

Jul 8, 2019

Love the way it is taught with practical examples. Truly an exceptional course for those want a public policy course!

By sixtus u o

May 18, 2016

A must for future leaders to be well equiped to solve the next generations socio, economic and political challenges.

By Daniel O Y L

Feb 16, 2016

I am watching the introduction and i'm impressed at the effort the professor and his TAs put in for this MOOC course

By BENJAMIN C J

Nov 20, 2020

A very interesting and challenging course. A must for anyone interested in public affairs, no matter at what level.

By Pierre R

Sep 5, 2015

Really great course !

(His name should rather be Amercian Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century though)

By Nadia D X

Mar 19, 2017

Very informative course! If you are interested in public policy, I strongly recommend you take this course!!

By Georgios C

Sep 7, 2016

Excellent course, which provides an in-depth analysis of various crucial topics of public policy challenges.

By Abdulwahab

Nov 4, 2015

Just excellent. I learned so much from the course, the selection of the guest speakers was phenomenal.

By Ismail A

Apr 25, 2016

This is a great subject to understand the public policy challenges of the 21st century. Thanks so much!

By Kapil K

Oct 6, 2019

Great Course from the Batten school. Got a lot benefits from well experienced and knowledgable people

By Maria P M L

May 25, 2017

Excellent Course! I like it so much! Thank you for giving me the opportunity to take this course. :)

By Tommy F

Aug 14, 2015

I really enjoyed this class. It was produced exceptionally well and the guest speaker format kept it

By David H

Mar 22, 2017

A great course with valuable insights into public policy challenges faces now and in the future.

By Khaled N

Aug 13, 2018

Great Course. Would be positive if more international related material/ examples are included.