Chevron Left
Back to Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
1,268 ratings
334 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics. This course will be officially closing on November 5, 2021 and all course work must be completed by May 15, 2022 to be graded....

Top reviews

TA
Sep 26, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM
Apr 23, 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 334 Reviews for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

By Luis F N G

Dec 6, 2020

excellent

By Shouvik B

Oct 13, 2020

Excellent

By Mert A

Jun 5, 2020

Fantastic

By Nadim A C

Aug 30, 2016

Excellent

By Jules V

Oct 16, 2015

Loved it!

By DARWIN G V

Sep 29, 2015

Great!!!!

By Aldo V

May 12, 2021

loved it

By Akash K

Aug 27, 2015

Amazing!

By Wanda S S

Aug 13, 2015

Amazing.

By Mohamed A

Nov 1, 2019

Thanks

By Maria L L G

Jan 3, 2021

Great

By GAURAV B

Aug 24, 2020

good

By Souhardya G

Aug 22, 2020

good

By AASHISH C

Aug 21, 2020

nice

By RAJAGOPAL P

Aug 6, 2020

good

By Mona A A

Jun 25, 2020

GOOD

By Mohit S

Mar 21, 2021

NA

By MANNAT J

Sep 2, 2020

.

By Victor T

Sep 29, 2016

E

By Rosa E J S

Oct 13, 2015

T

By Adeola O

Jul 27, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The discourse in all the topics presented and the guests were wonderfully presented. The balanced opinions presented were great, so as to reinforce one of the policy tools of studying your opponent. I was able to hear from the different sides with many points I support. I enjoyed Ms Dee Dee Myers and Senator Tim Kaine presentations. They showed grounding in their field and the openness of all side and issues. Plus it was nice to see the two friends (Senators) from opposing side sit down, showing that it is possible, in the persons of Senator Gerry Connolly and Tim Davis. It was good to see that even among all the speakers, past and current,, they have noticed the extreme bipartisan that currently exists in Congress. How they are not solving anything in the country. Rather they are creating a widen gap of citizenry which is not good. But i will hold on to Prof Warburg's optimism of what we the next generation can and will do. Thank you so much for the opportunity to learn.

By Penelope W

Jun 22, 2017

This was an excellent introduction to and discussion of public policy issues, and I enjoyed every class and guest lecturer. I came away with new insights and a broader understanding of policy issues and shifts. The class was recorded in 2014, and while it was fascinating to see how many of the speakers sensed the dramatic partisan polarization that has led to the election of the current administration, I did wish I had known that the lectures were recored 3 years ago. It would be great if remarks could be added to reflect on the current policy eruptions that have occurred since the class was recorded.

By Paresh R

Apr 19, 2020

a very broad and amazing course. Taught one of the key message of being in Center in the world which is more and more leaning towards extremes. It would have been even better if we had certain case studies on issues like Urban Planning, Public Transportation etc to get more hands on experience in Policy making and its implications.

Another good takeaway for me is that majority of work is done at the state level than at a country level. So the state government and its policies can actually act a a Lab fore nationwide polies.

By Suzanne H

Jan 19, 2021

Discussion of China, partisanship, war powers, were timely and well presented. The quizzes were on point, not trivial. The guests were candid and well informed. Good to see current elected officials show their thoughtfulness. It would be interesting to see how this course might differ after the Trump administration and given our current state of fractiousness. It would have been good to have a newer version of the course, perhaps, but more time will be needed to see what effects "Trumpism" will have on the US.

By Deep T

Mar 21, 2020

The course gives a very good overview of the problems to be faced in the 21st Century for all the policymakers. The speaker sessions were very insightful and helped in the overall understanding of the topic at hand. Also, the discussion forums have been the most beneficial out of everything. I have the following constructive feedbacks which are: 1) To include more international issues from the PoV of other countries 2) Dwell into more topics. 3) Have a hands-on policymaking session. Thanks for the course.:)