Chevron Left
Back to Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century by University of Virginia

4.6
stars
864 ratings
226 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Top reviews

GM

Apr 24, 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

KS

May 11, 2020

Great course and I would like to thank this extraordinary school for going deep into some of the crucial topics in Public Policy/ Loved the experts who shared their views and experiences!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 225 Reviews for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

By Vivek V

May 25, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the entire sessions. All the speakers were amazing with huge experience. The sessions were enriching. I feel the learnings will help me ion addressing my day to day business as usual work in a much better manner.

By Eliana N

Jun 15, 2017

A thought provoking course that has peaked my interest in public policy. The time commitment was manageable and the material covered was informative. I highly recommend this course for those considering a major in public policy.

By Conor D

Jan 06, 2016

Great course. As a non-American student, I found that this course enhanced my understanding of American political discourse as well as the stated goals of describing the likely policy challenges of the 21st century.

By Pedro A F G

Sep 21, 2015

This is a great course! I learned so many things related to social and cultural issues. Public Policy is beyond Washington DC and this course will help you to understand this in a much better way.

Great program!!!

By 施捷

Dec 22, 2019

This course is the first one I ever had on Coursera. And it is very helpful for me to grasp a sense and build a foundation on public policy. Also, it gives me a view of college class vibe in UVA. Great indeed!

By Sazzad H T

Jul 15, 2020

Thanks a lot to Coursera and UVA to share this course with the students of 195 countries. Its been pleasure learning with coursera. I have learned about some important tools that will be useful in the future.

By Mark B T

Jul 15, 2020

This was one of the most very exciting if not the most exciting course I have ever taken. Very interactive and engaging. I look forward to another course. I am so grateful to have been a part of this class.

By John V T

Aug 30, 2015

This is a particularly exceptional course of study, grounded in a well-balanced view of politics at the Federal level. Take it and enjoy, while learning and discussing American Politics and Government.

By Manuel O A

Nov 04, 2015

This was a wonderful course, it debates the future of the world in different aspects: social, political, economics, war, health and other big challenges the humanity will have to deal with.

By Karthik S

May 11, 2020

Great course and I would like to thank this extraordinary school for going deep into some of the crucial topics in Public Policy/ Loved the experts who shared their views and experiences!

By Rakesh K C

May 31, 2020

Best way of teaching sharing the practical aspects so that the students are aware about the dynamism of the subject and search for a solution in a technology driven dynamic soceity

By Shristi S

Jul 24, 2020

one of the best course to learn and to develop critical analysis in the field of public policy. Will recommend any one who has interest in Public Policy and Politics as a whole

By Maria d L A P

Mar 04, 2016

A must-take course to people interested in how US policies work at the domestic level o at the international level. Great teacher, even greater speechers. I just loved it!

By Adib Z

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course to help understanding the policy challenges of the 21st century. The quiz sections too are learner friendly which helps to continue the overall progress

By jared B

Oct 20, 2018

This course was extremely interesting and I am glad that the Frank Batten School of Public Policy and Leadership decided to have this course open to the general public.

By Benjamin P

Apr 24, 2020

I love this course! It was very informative and insightful. It also makes me more interested in the functioning of government, and makes me more engaged as a citizen.

By Suhavi A

Mar 20, 2020

I liked the course structure and guest professors. But two things that I liked best was - 1. Classroom videos where students ask questions and 2. Gerry Warburg.

By Anurag P T

May 31, 2020

The team of Public Policy have taken a lot of effort to discuss their ideas with us. Their preparation was strong, and diligent planning to make this happen

By Juergen K

Aug 09, 2016

excellent course to get hands-on knowledge and insights on current and future global and US public policy issues and challenges from top-class practioners

By Claudia M

Nov 10, 2015

I believe this is an excellent and very valuable course. I believe that an online printable statement of accomplishment should be given to every student.

By Steven U

Feb 11, 2016

Amazingly produced and thought out course. They ​utilize some of the top field specialists and provide video lectures in a creative and thorough way.

By Jeanine L

Mar 07, 2017

Excellent format, content and speakers. Informative, thought provoking, engaging and extremely pertinent in today's critical political situation.

By Joshua N

Aug 31, 2015

Covered a variety of interesting topics. But perhaps more importantly, advanced a sorely-needed spirit of optimism in today's political climate.

By Ismael C

Jul 16, 2017

Thank you for the opportunity to continue learning Public Policy. Thanks also to Professor Warburg for teaching and sharing an elegant class.

By rachelelel

Mar 30, 2019

This is an excellent course for beginners to step into public policy and develop the knowledge on some current issues and future missions.