Chevron Left
Back to Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
1,070 ratings
280 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics....

Top reviews

TA

Sep 27, 2019

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM

Apr 24, 2020

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 277 Reviews for Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century

By Abdulwahab

Nov 04, 2015

Just excellent. I learned so much from the course, the selection of the guest speakers was phenomenal.

By Ismail A

Apr 25, 2016

This is a great subject to understand the public policy challenges of the 21st century. Thanks so much!

By Kapil K

Oct 06, 2019

Great Course from the Batten school. Got a lot benefits from well experienced and knowledgable people

By Maria P M L

May 25, 2017

Excellent Course! I like it so much! Thank you for giving me the opportunity to take this course. :)

By Tommy F

Aug 15, 2015

I really enjoyed this class. It was produced exceptionally well and the guest speaker format kept it

By David H

Mar 23, 2017

A great course with valuable insights into public policy challenges faces now and in the future.

By Khaled N

Aug 13, 2018

Great Course. Would be positive if more international related material/ examples are included.

By Pablo R G

Sep 07, 2020

Great course. Focused mainly in the US, but with good learnings applicable to other countries

By Sameer M

Apr 18, 2017

A very insightful course about the Public Policy challenges faced in the contemporary times.

By Francisco P

Feb 01, 2016

Great course as a physician I enjoy in particularly the week related with Health Economics

By Drew H K

Mar 11, 2018

The quality of the guest speakers and topics of discussion far surpassed my expectations.

By MRUDULA N

Aug 19, 2020

IT IS VERY INFORMATIVE AND USEFUL COURSE FOR SOMEONE WHO TAKES INTEREST IN PUBLIC POLICY

By Soh W K

Sep 01, 2019

The first lesson already gave me such a nice article to read... I am loving this course!

By Shaka A O

Jul 13, 2020

PUBLIC POLICY CHALLENGES ARE INEVITABLE IN THE 21ST CENTURY GLOBAL POLITICAL ARENA.

By Dhriti T

Aug 21, 2020

This course is helpful to learn the Public policy Challenges of the 21st Century.

By Tessa W

Oct 15, 2017

I wish the class was longer. I learned so much and loved the guest lectures.

By Erin S

Oct 28, 2019

Excellent course by the University of VA! I definitely recommend this course.

By Ahmer J K

Sep 28, 2015

Amazing course! It helps you look at the world with a whole new perspective!

By Насакаев А

Jun 05, 2020

Thank u so much. I really liked it, I learned a lot . I enjoyed your course

By Steven S

May 27, 2020

Great class! Both Professor Warburg and the guests speakers were fantastic.

By Jonathan L S

Jun 24, 2019

This was an excellent course from start to finish! Highly recommended!

By Mohammad J U

Jun 06, 2016

It seems to me that the course will be very much effective for all

By Puja K

Jun 30, 2020

Very interesting topic and i have learn many thing in this course

By Deleted A

Aug 22, 2015

Excellent course content and guest speakers. One of its kind.

By Alyssa S

Oct 05, 2020

Really enjoyed the class and discussions. Would recommend.