Chevron Left
Back to Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
5,795 ratings
985 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

OK
Jun 26, 2020

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM
May 13, 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 969 Reviews for Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

By Aswin R

Aug 12, 2020

The lectures were a bit hard to follow but I guess that's because I don't really know statistics that well.

Great course overall.

By Ebenezer A W

Sep 12, 2017

An wonderful introduction to plotting and charting . Every beginner must take this course to learn about plotting and charting

By Michal M

Apr 6, 2017

This course was very challenging for me but because of that I learned a lot. I also really like the peer reviewed assignments.

By Oj S

Nov 2, 2019

Awesome course, it is good enough who is already a beginner in matplotlib too as the course is overall of intermediate level.

By Redi T

Nov 7, 2020

thank you very much, your teaching and the reading material is made me more interest with data science. very clear and good

By Madhu

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent course. The level of learning you gain is only limited by the level of work you want to put into the assignments.

By Puneet J

May 2, 2017

A completely hands on and demanding course. Assignments are challenging and motivates the learner to go out of box thinking

By Michael D

Jul 9, 2017

I thought this was excellently taught, and it's a real pleasure to have Chris's enthusiasm suffused throughout the course.

By Guilherme L W

Nov 30, 2020

Excelent course with great extra resources. Made a huge difference on my perspective and practice on data visualization.

By Halil K

Feb 12, 2019

Excellent Course! Was very good practise for getting extremely comfortable with everything learned so far in the courses

By Tanay S

Apr 3, 2017

excellent course, lot of learning, very useful; people with interest in data viz should definitely enrol in this course.

By Martin U

Dec 8, 2018

Great course. Really pushed me past my comfort zone which in turned forced me to learn what I otherwise would not have.

By Luis F Y O

Dec 28, 2020

This course was so hard to me (a Chemical Engineer) but is a good foundation to other courses related to data science.

By Jah Q

Jul 17, 2019

More than learned making charts in python I learned more about the good practices making charts, it was very helpful!

By Benjamin R

May 25, 2018

Very demanding assignments IMHO, but lots of knowledge to gain either by googling or following the forums discussions

By Shabeeh B S

Jun 5, 2020

This was the tough one to be honest by the middle because it felt time consuming but what was really worth at last!

By Sergio A D R C

Jun 20, 2020

Excellent course to learn the technicalities and apply basic but strong statistic concepts to real world problemas.

By Raunak P

Apr 4, 2018

If you want to learn visualization, then just complete the assignment careully and honestly. Best course to learn .

By H.-M. F C

Jun 25, 2018

The only course so far I have seen which covers so much useful visualization information and great depth material.

By Adewinbi H S

Mar 18, 2020

The course is very interesting and challenging. In all, I really enjoyed it, most especially the last assignment.

By Benigno C

Jul 12, 2018

Very nice course, it forces you to explore different sides to plotting that are quite useful for your toolbox.

By Mark H

Jan 26, 2018

Comprehensive and practical introduction to mathplotlib and data visualization in general. Highly recommended.

By Fabio B

Aug 28, 2017

very good - lots of practical tips , good progression , lots of good ideas and thoughts on how to present data

By Carlos A C A

Nov 11, 2020

Excellent course!. So much interesting things about data representation and principles about visualizations.

By Sumit M

Jan 7, 2019

It's a very good course and Our Instructors are excellent, I felt very connected to them during the course.