Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.6
stars
3,861 ratings
1,244 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Top reviews

LR
Jan 3, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

HI
Nov 24, 2020

It was my first experience with Python and I enjoyed it very much! A lot of thanks to Instructor and all team, who made this course so interest and understandable. Thanks to Coursera team as well.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,220 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By khalil T

Dec 6, 2019

This course is excellent. It is eminently well done, and gives you the basic knowledge you need to start in Python. I totally recommend taking it.

By mskhan

Jan 20, 2019

Great course, loved it, the course is very well structured by Bill and those who want to start learning python, this course is a great first step.

By aryan

Dec 4, 2017

Prof Bill Boyd and his class Python Programming are an excellent source for Python programming. Mr Boyd is an outstanding communicator, thank you.

By Tim S

Jun 20, 2017

Concise introduction to Python 3.x. Simple yet thorough. Will not make you a professional but will get your feet wet. Thank you again Coursera.

By SOWMYA R B

Jun 5, 2020

Python Programming: A Concise Introduction, was taught in a very easy way. I enjoyed learning it. I thank Mr. Bill Boyd for teaching this course.

By Munazza I H

Jun 1, 2020

A very good beginners tutorial lesson , especially the instructor he taught each and every thing so very much in detail , really loved the course

By David H

Oct 22, 2017

It was an amazing course. I think it was really for all users, no matter if you are an expert programmer or a new programmer. Totally recommended

By Beena

Mar 31, 2018

feeling great to be apart of it. Its easy to learn for a beginner and a very good option for those who wish to understand the basics of python

By TAMI L

Aug 19, 2017

Very good course. Clear explanations and helpful exercises. The assignments are great for getting a hands-on introduction. Highly recommended.

By Josue N F

Dec 28, 2016

Is a big challenge to keep the Grader pleased, I very much like this course. It is my intent continue to develop programming skills in Python.

By Bikramjeet S

Feb 11, 2017

The course content was very genuine which helped me learn commands that I did not come across in any other Python course.

Thank you, Mr. Boyd.

By Michael A B

Jan 5, 2020

great course but the auto grader was a big pain in the ass, The code was correct elegant but the auto grader needed exactly the right format

By Mohd F E B A

Apr 15, 2019

Very well guided course! Recommended for first timer in python with a little knowledge in programming since the learning pace is quite fast.

By Argenis R

Feb 6, 2018

please get better automated grading programs. Mine would say I did the code wrong when the only thing i changed to make it work was 1 space.

By Paul

Jun 8, 2017

Zero to hero in less than four weeks. This professor is spot on and walks you through all the assignments. Please bring him back for part 2.

By Carolina

May 14, 2020

Bill was an amazing teacher, it was all very clear and well done, well presented, well followed.

Great course for a first Python approach.

By Jing Z

Jun 23, 2020

Good introduction for beginners! I liked the hands-on approach to programming. Professor is very responsive to questions and comments.

By kwai c

Apr 10, 2020

Good introductory course on use of Spider and use of functions. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and learn much from it . Recommend it

By Vishal K S

Mar 30, 2019

This course is just awesome for the beginners. Best thing about this course: each exercise is well structured for easy understanding.

By Rafael C d M

Oct 19, 2020

This course took me from level zero to an useful skill level in Python, turning me able to provide relevant contributions in my job.

By Raymond C

Sep 20, 2020

Professor explained clearly step by step on how to achieve the programming goals so it is very helpful for beginners on the subject.

By Guilherme A

May 4, 2020

I knew python language a few years back and wanted to get back in programming.

This was, for sure, an excellent introductory course.

By Fereidoun T

Oct 10, 2020

Very well structured and easy to follow. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to start learning Python programing language.

By Amirashkan H

Jun 29, 2020

The course was completely useful and easy to understand. I'm eager to follow and learn other courses offer by Professor Bill Boyd.

By Albany P

Apr 26, 2020

Me encantó, super buena oportunidad si estas empezando con el lenguaje e incluso si estas empezando a programar. 100% recomendado.