Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.6
stars
3,991 ratings
1,288 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Top reviews

LR
Jan 3, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

HI
Nov 24, 2020

It was my first experience with Python and I enjoyed it very much! A lot of thanks to Instructor and all team, who made this course so interest and understandable. Thanks to Coursera team as well.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,261 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By Raza U

Mar 25, 2020

A sound knowledge course to understand the basics of python programming and then going deep in the course concept.

By Ursula Z

Sep 3, 2018

This course was great. The lessons were reflected in the exercises. I felt challenged, without being overwhelmed

By Alexey K

May 18, 2018

Very clean and fast-paced course that provides all the basic information one needs to start programming in Python.

By Cesare M

Oct 4, 2017

Great course for neophytes. Well explained and followed. The forum is very useful and responds quickly by helping.

By Dominique D

Jul 15, 2017

An amazing course full of information! Well worth my 4 weeks and I learned a lot about the fundamentals of python!

By HARIKUMAR P

Apr 18, 2017

Excellent Course for a beginner.Looking forward to more classes by the same instructor and support groups. Thanks!

By Smit K

Apr 16, 2019

The course is awesome. The explanation and doubt clearing in the discussion by respected sir Bill Boyd was great.

By Amit J

Jun 22, 2018

Nice way to teach basic python programming. However the assignments could have been made little more challenging.

By John F

Nov 2, 2017

Easy to follow instruction and good guidance from the instructor in the discussion forums Great intro to Python.

By Josh G

Oct 31, 2017

Very good intro to python. I have never written a line of code in my life until taking this course. Very helpful.

By Himanshu T

Sep 17, 2017

This course teaches fundamentals of programming in python and has good examples, test sets for self verification.

By SHIVAM N S

May 2, 2020

Sometimes, autograder annoys but the course is outstanding for beginners. Bill Boyd was amazing in his lectures.

By quang s T

Nov 17, 2020

good course. This course gives me lots of basic knowledge about Python and how to use Python in command window

By Karan K

Apr 5, 2020

Before this course i was totally unaware of python, but now i can code in python.

Would recommend for beginners

By Viktor S

Jun 10, 2019

really clear step by step intro to python, thanks for the command line/PATH FAQ and keeping it really concise!

By Mia T

Aug 28, 2017

A great course for beginners. Difficult enough to be constructive. Thank you Bill! PS: I too love Seinfeld :))

By Samson A G

Mar 23, 2020

it short but help me a lot to discover Python in general, and gave me the ability to deep dive in the subject

By Jaffar K

Jan 23, 2017

Very very good. Very well explained and the idea of using examples in Spyder is excellent. Thank you so much.

By Dhaval U

Sep 20, 2020

This course is very useful for the beginners. It really helps in understanding basics of python programming.

By Sheharyar K

Jun 25, 2020

This course requires prior programming background. The course itself is very well defined and comprehensive.

By Ayman E M

Sep 8, 2018

Nice course for beginners with very straightforward materials and easy learning. Thanks to the instructor :)

By Harish M

Dec 27, 2017

Very nice course to brush up the basic skills. Thank you for spending your valuable time on this course Sir!

By Tushar B

Oct 14, 2020

Very interesting course.

I could learn a lot.

Personally Thank Mr. Bill Boyd who guided me through the course

By Mesh T

Sep 5, 2020

I really liked it. It gave taught me a new alternative instead of Java and rekindled my interest in coding.

By Divyanshi R

Jul 19, 2020

Such a nice course. Brilliant introduction to python. No annoying MCQS rather nice simple code submission.