Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.6
stars
3,274 ratings
1,086 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Top reviews

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

RR

Feb 04, 2020

Thanks for the clear explanations and the easy examples. I think it is a good introductionary course and it gives a good starting point to move further to more sophisticated topics and applications.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 1,064 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By Barbara B

Jun 03, 2017

The course was very well structured. When I needed support once, I got valuable feedback within a couple of hours (it was over the weekend!).

The only thing I didn't like was the low image resolution of the videos. Even on a big screen, I sometimes found it hard to read the code.

By M.Shoyeb S

May 05, 2020

this is one of the excellent course and, it lives up to its title being superbly "concise", yet i felt it was not extremely beginner friendly as it assumes you have basic knowledge about python basics or certains things seemed skipped and keeps you wondering where it came from.

By Alois

Dec 03, 2018

A highly pragmatic and efficient boots trap course for people with some previous experience in other program languagues. Absolutely hands on. Not needing it personally, by watching I was amazed by the reaction speed of the tutor team in the discussion forum.

By Suny K

May 28, 2020

Some of the videos are from 2015/2016, using an older version of Spyder that has some different features than the stable version available now, but the course otherwise still holds up and teaches basic Python skills even for those with no coding experience.

By Alok A

Dec 26, 2018

Great to jump start the python script. Awesome instructor and the content. I really liked the pace of this course. The only reason, i did not give this a five star, is the quality of videos is really poor. Spyder commands that are run are barely visible.

By Christian S

Jan 23, 2020

Very helpful introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format, some examples with excel interaction would be welcome. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

By Anand S

Oct 17, 2016

The course is pretty good, but not mobile friendly course since the font size becomes way too small for visibility. Hence learning is not possible while travelling by train / car to utilize unproductive time.

Otherwise, content-wise it is pretty good.

By Tian S N

Oct 21, 2018

A very comprehensive introductory for people without programming knowledge. However, the materials given are somewhat similar to the examples covered in the lecture. It would be a perfect course if the coursework is slightly more challenging.

By Pritam K B

Apr 23, 2017

After submitting the assignments and getting score,it will be better if Coursera provides the solution of those assignments.By this,students will get benefit form this that what mistakes they did and how will it will be corrected in future.

By Mallesh S M

Jun 20, 2018

The course was good it is really helpful for beginners and the teaching is also good and the exercise material helps a lot these exercise material are more than sufficient for completing this course and the problems given were very simple

By Sean S

Oct 05, 2016

Very straight forward course with easy to follow instructions. The autograder takes some getting used to. Make sure there are no additional lines at the end of your code and make sure everything is precisely copied for your output.

By Moshe S

Aug 26, 2017

Excellent course. Systematic and methodical. Good examples. Good level of exercises. The only minor drawback is some duplication or repetition on material given at the beginning of a week, and throughout the lectures.

I liked it!

By Nghepkam P R

Dec 30, 2016

Très bon cours, beaucoup appris de ce cours et je tiens à remercier toutes ces personnes qui ont contribués au développement de cette plateforme "COURSERA" et au Prof Bill Board et à l’Université qui a dispensé ce cours

By LJ N

Dec 31, 2018

A good introduction to python concepts. Personally I don't see the utility of string formatting, and some of the questions were worded in a way that I found ambiguous, but overall I am very glad I found this course.

By NANCY J

Dec 01, 2016

Grate class for any beginner with no programming background or Python knowledge. Helped me to understand key basic concepts. Will be nice if you guys provide more exercises to practice and tougher questions.

By Partha P M

Jul 21, 2019

Good for Beginners. Thank You Bill Boyd for explaining Python in such an articulate and systematic manner. Good Job! Before this course I knew nothing about Python, but now I am analyzing data using Python!

By Rags I

Nov 04, 2016

Found it a tad too basic (I'm a professional C++/Java programmer). But an excellent introduction to python. I must particularly mention the fluidity of the course embraces the spirit of the Python language.

By Sunil M

Jan 17, 2018

Good overview and great concept. As a beginner course, I would have liked to see more on classes and object oriented programming in the later weeks. The autograder is great and very accurate as well :)

By Trong T L

Oct 27, 2016

Very good for people who just started out programming. The class gives you a chance to practice logic flow while programming. However, if you have done a little programming before, the class is too easy.

By Akash T

Jun 06, 2020

The instructor was very helpful and replied as soon as possible and made me understand many concepts of python programming. Provided with all the stuff which was helpful for understanding tiny mistakes.

By zane w

Jun 01, 2018

Awesome course, I appreciate the videos and activities. The test scoring system can get frustrating because it wants the answer a very specific way and or will get zero point unless it matches exactly.

By Retief F

Feb 20, 2017

Great introductory course. Slightly on the light side for developers looking to learn a new language, but absolutely perfect for non developers looking to learn basic programming skills.

Well done guys!

By Abolfazl S

Apr 23, 2017

I took this course mainly to teach my daughter and to review what I already learned years ago. Teaching style is good and assignments are reasonable. I encourage new programmers to take this course.

By Daniel H

Jul 01, 2019

Overall good introduction to some basics. Often felt too easy, where the problems were regularly answered in the comments describing the problem or were shown exactly the same in a lecture example.

By Mihai-Alin S

Feb 22, 2019

Maybe a bit too easy after all. Too much focus on some importable modules. Try talking a bit more about the strengths of the language and go into detail with specifics (e.g. list comprehensions).