Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,990 ratings
1,551 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks. SPECIAL NOTE: Python Programming: A Concise Introduction course will close for new learner enrollment on 2/16/22. In order to earn a Course Certificate, you will need to complete all graded assignments by 8/16/22. If you are interested in earning a Course Certificate for this course, please upgrade or apply for Financial Aid by 8/16/22. If you are a Coursera for Business learner, you can continue to use your sponsored credit through that date....

Top reviews

LR
Jan 3, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

TS
Nov 28, 2021

This course was amazing as well as was an interesting course.I have learnt a lot of new concepts and things with the help of Respected Sir Bill Boyd and looking forward for more such type of courses.

Filter by:

1476 - 1500 of 1,545 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By Peter L

Sep 4, 2019

Good review.

By Jacob N

Jan 1, 2022

g​ood stuff

By Naman B

Dec 9, 2021

it was nice

By bcsf18a514-ADAN S

Dec 13, 2020

good course

By Nivedha P

May 15, 2020

VERY GOOD!!

By Humberto L

Apr 20, 2020

good course

By Alfonso A

Nov 13, 2018

muy bueno

By Marin M

Nov 4, 2016

very good

By Dario

Dec 4, 2016

GREAT !!

By Maxim B

Nov 27, 2019

gg ez

By Bodalapalle P S

May 28, 2020

Good

By Govind S

Apr 17, 2020

Nice

By Mark, X G

Dec 30, 2019

good

By Kashish A H

Jul 20, 2020

ok

By Spoorthi P

Mar 23, 2017

G

By Tom H

Mar 1, 2017

T

By Swarnava G

Jul 22, 2020

Giving it a 3 star rating because even though I have been working with Python for a long time now, and had to do this course as a part of the college curriculum, it still had something to add to my knowledge. However, the assignments provided are not quite up to the mark. It does not challenge you in any way, even for a beginner. The answer is given right in the question, making it too simple for any one to code the same and sometimes even copy and paste from the question. If the quality of questions can be improved, it will be a great course for beginners as well. Content is good. Testing is bogus.

By Kamil G

Sep 20, 2020

This course is clear and easy introduction to programming in Python - good choice for all people wondering how to write and execute their first Python program. For more experienced programmers (but new to Python) it will be too easy. I think the course is too much focused on formatting the output in the iPython console, but I also understand that it may be helpful for absolute beginners.

By Paulian D

Jun 4, 2020

C'était mon premier cours en Python et je l'ai trouvé intéressant. J'ai appris un peu l’essentiellement la structure de codage de Python. Si vous avez des compétences en programmation vous acquerriez en peu de temps les bases de Python.

Ce que je regrette c’est le manque de programmation OO.

By Peter B

Feb 6, 2021

the course is reasonable - but I still have questions around for loops with lists and lots of uncertainties.

The auto grader is quick and efficient, but it does mean one spends more effort on minutiae / details re formatting answers rather than the solutions / concepts and more problems

By 20AD027_NIKIT K

Dec 10, 2021

the course was good but the sound of typing keyboard makes thing annoying and also he must use better ide cause sometimes spyder seems boring and seeing it again and outdated environment makes me angry. use vs studio and make course more funnier and engaging. Thankyou

By Harsh K

Jun 16, 2017

Good course to start your career in Python programming. The lectures were easy to understand. Hope to see advanced courses on Python, especially related to Networking, as I'm hoping to use Python for Network automation in future.

By Lainey S

Jan 9, 2017

Definitely a "concise introduction". I felt like the course was a little too easy and didn't provide much meat to the material. A good start for an inexperienced programmer, but too remedial for experienced programmers.

By menashe

Apr 1, 2018

Although it is a "consice introduction" I would expect to learn about classes and objects in this course.

The assignments are too easy - some of the problems require writing only 1-2 lines of code.