Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.6
stars
2,560 ratings
866 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Top reviews

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

KA

Jun 16, 2019

A very nice introduction to Python 3 programming. The course lectures are quite engaging with hands-on practice and the programming assignments revise the learned concepts in step-by-step manner.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 847 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By Habitamu T B

Sep 16, 2017

The course is well structured. I like the way it was presented. It is full-fledged course, which enables a beginner to attend it by his or her own. The arrangement of the contents follows a smooth flow that helped me navigate through them easily.

By Ana S

Jul 14, 2017

I really enjoyed to learn and then practice this course. Lessons were explained and done in a good way. Thank you Bill Boyd for doing this course and thank you also for your answers. Looking forward to follow you in another course. Thank you!!!!

By Tanvi P

Jul 04, 2017

This course is an easy-to-follow course for beginners with no previous knowledge of Python. The course's exercise documents are very well laid out, with the inclusion of questions to summarise the video. I am enjoying learning how to use Python.

By Simon D

Dec 04, 2017

I've already sent my history about the course. Globally a well-thought, simple introduction to Python with a very motivated Instructor and good bases of the language studied. Short concise videos and short helpful exercices to get the concepts.

By Jorge G G

Sep 26, 2018

Amazing and perfect for beginners that did some programming in the past and need some refresh. The course is very well structured and provide the basics of the topics most people will be using in their daily coding life. 100% Recommendable.

By ISHAN N

Nov 17, 2017

It's something which a student, without any knowledge of python , would love to start with. It deals with every basic aspect of python, with very good practice question.

I would recommend all to have this program before moving fwd in python.

By K. Y W

Jun 30, 2017

Thank you Dr. Boyd for your very helpful and coaching style in teaching Python to a beginner like me. I enjoyed learning Python programming through the practice and examples you demonstrated on the course and the pace which was just right.

By Sarah B

Apr 01, 2018

Excellent course. As a beginner with no programming background, I thought the pace, instruction and examples were very good. The instructor also takes the time to thoughtfully answer all student's questions, which I found very impressive.

By Alejandro B B

May 20, 2017

This course really covers all the basics in a very illustrative manner. I definitely recommend it for absolute beginners in Python, previous programming experience helps but is not necessary to cover the material in a reasonable time.

By Patrick H

Oct 19, 2017

Good introductory course. Materials provided, especially instructions how to set up the IDE, easily moved me through the course and allowed me to focus on learning the scripting language. It was even a bit fun. Highly recommended.

By Thomas M

Jun 04, 2019

Fantastic class. The lessons were perfect for my needs to get started writing python scripts. The instructor is incredibly knowledgeable and his lectures were well thought out and presented in an easy to follow/understand format.

By Arnaldo J M

Aug 14, 2017

Muito bom, começa simples mas chega ao final com um bom grau de complexidade. O professor vai devagar e explica bem. Os exemplos são legais. A prova tem questões totalmente dentro do que foi apresentado na aula e nos exemplos.

By Matthew M

Jul 28, 2017

This is an excellent starter for Python 3. It gives enough examples to get you familiar with the language and the documentation that you will need to consult as you go further, and the lessons are very well taught and succinct.

By Kartik N

Mar 02, 2019

This is really the first course you should take if you want to learn python. Nicely taught and the exercises are just at a perfect level for beginners. I would really recommend it to everyone wishing to start learning python.

By Isaac D P

Mar 26, 2020

I've dealed with different programming courses before, and this course works perfectly as an introduction to Python language. Don't worry if you are new a beginner, the videos and exercices are clear and very well explained.

By benjamine

Jun 06, 2017

Very Nice! I think it's really a good introduction to use python!

Maybe one problem is that homework in lesson 2 or 3 (I forgot) contain "random.seed", that is explained in lesson four's video, but one can always google it.

By Advaith S

Jun 27, 2019

The course is a fantastic introduction to Python. All the modules and exercises are meticulously explained. The video lessons effectively capture the audience's attention and are taught at a slow and understandable pace.

By Jason S

Feb 01, 2020

I found this class a very gentle introduction to Python. I appreciated that the instructor, Prof Boyd, gave clear lectures, and was very responsive to student questions when were having difficulty on the assignments.

By Steven Z

Mar 25, 2018

One of th best coursera courses that I've taken! The professor taught the lessons in a very interactive way with a lots of exercises! I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who would like to learn python.

By Telmo A d S B

May 01, 2017

The teacher definitely has an ability to make you understand. Even without the videos, you clearly understand the basics of Python.

i wish this would be the first course of a series in Python programming.

Great course!

By Nishant R

Jun 29, 2019

The course helps you learn the basics of python and even will help you develop a good grip on python language. Its a easy course and can be done easily once you go through all the assignments and videos. Thank you.

By Robert N

Jan 25, 2018

I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning python it is very informative and breaks down everything a beginner needs to know. The exercises are challenging but not too challenging for a beginner.

By Kevin B

Dec 12, 2017

A very good introductory course on programming with Python. I am a complete newcomer to coding and I was able to follow along and complete the course with only a couple of extra hints from the discussion forums :)!

By Sreeja E S

Feb 12, 2018

i found to be meaningful, coz it covers the programming. And who knows the basic programming can directly do this course. The course is easy to understand and only you can practice well the effective programming,

By Tetsuhiko O

Feb 10, 2019

I feel very happy to finish this course because I have never experienced Python programming, and I am over 50 years old! This course is very useful to study basic python programming method. Thank you very much.