Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.6
stars
4,162 ratings
1,339 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Top reviews

LR
Jan 3, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

HI
Nov 24, 2020

It was my first experience with Python and I enjoyed it very much! A lot of thanks to Instructor and all team, who made this course so interest and understandable. Thanks to Coursera team as well.

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,311 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By Moronfolu T

Mar 1, 2017

Makes a lot of sense

By suprith j

Jul 4, 2018

Very informative

By Oleksandr K

May 12, 2017

Good for novice

By Peter L

Sep 4, 2019

Good review.

By bcsf18a514-ADAN S

Dec 13, 2020

good course

By Nivedha P

May 15, 2020

VERY GOOD!!

By Humberto L

Apr 20, 2020

good course

By Alfonso A

Nov 13, 2018

muy bueno

By Marin M

Nov 4, 2016

very good

By Dario

Dec 4, 2016

GREAT !!

By Maxim B

Nov 27, 2019

gg ez

By Bodalapalle P S

May 28, 2020

Good

By Govind S

Apr 17, 2020

Nice

By Mark, X G

Dec 30, 2019

good

By Kashish A H

Jul 20, 2020

ok

By Spoorthi P

Mar 23, 2017

G

By Tom H

Mar 1, 2017

T

By SWARNAVA G 2

Jul 22, 2020

Giving it a 3 star rating because even though I have been working with Python for a long time now, and had to do this course as a part of the college curriculum, it still had something to add to my knowledge. However, the assignments provided are not quite up to the mark. It does not challenge you in any way, even for a beginner. The answer is given right in the question, making it too simple for any one to code the same and sometimes even copy and paste from the question. If the quality of questions can be improved, it will be a great course for beginners as well. Content is good. Testing is bogus.

By Kamil G

Sep 20, 2020

This course is clear and easy introduction to programming in Python - good choice for all people wondering how to write and execute their first Python program. For more experienced programmers (but new to Python) it will be too easy. I think the course is too much focused on formatting the output in the iPython console, but I also understand that it may be helpful for absolute beginners.

By Paulian D

Jun 4, 2020

C'était mon premier cours en Python et je l'ai trouvé intéressant. J'ai appris un peu l’essentiellement la structure de codage de Python. Si vous avez des compétences en programmation vous acquerriez en peu de temps les bases de Python.

Ce que je regrette c’est le manque de programmation OO.

By Peter B

Feb 6, 2021

the course is reasonable - but I still have questions around for loops with lists and lots of uncertainties.

The auto grader is quick and efficient, but it does mean one spends more effort on minutiae / details re formatting answers rather than the solutions / concepts and more problems

By Harsh K

Jun 16, 2017

Good course to start your career in Python programming. The lectures were easy to understand. Hope to see advanced courses on Python, especially related to Networking, as I'm hoping to use Python for Network automation in future.

By Lainey S

Jan 9, 2017

Definitely a "concise introduction". I felt like the course was a little too easy and didn't provide much meat to the material. A good start for an inexperienced programmer, but too remedial for experienced programmers.

By menashe

Apr 1, 2018

Although it is a "consice introduction" I would expect to learn about classes and objects in this course.

The assignments are too easy - some of the problems require writing only 1-2 lines of code.