Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.6
stars
2,560 ratings
866 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Top reviews

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

KA

Jun 16, 2019

A very nice introduction to Python 3 programming. The course lectures are quite engaging with hands-on practice and the programming assignments revise the learned concepts in step-by-step manner.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 847 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By John L

Dec 05, 2018

Concise yet comprehensive guidance on topics discussed. Forums will likely be able to resolve any issue you have immediately as there's such a large archive. Accessible introduction to Python, would recommend.

By Ina L

Dec 27, 2016

Excellent, especially for learners already familiar with another programming language. Professor Boyd is able to quickly give an overview with just the right amount of detail --- not too much, not too little.

By Patrick F

Jun 01, 2018

I very much enjoyed this course. I already had a "basic" understanding of python, but this opened my eyes to several useful tools/techniques that I had been completely unaware of prior to taking this course.

By Isha S

Aug 01, 2017

A very useful course to get started with the python programming. The lectures were explained in deep and everystep was clearified in programming. Thank you to Professor Bill Boyd and coursera for the course.

By Krishna B S

Jul 29, 2017

An excellent course for someone who wants to start with hands on training in Python Programming. Very good cover of vital basic topics and very well designed in terms of progressive level of difficulty.

By Feyzullah E

Jan 20, 2019

This was a brief, to-the-point, concise introduction to Python Programming as the name implies. Provided code and instructions are useful as reference points long after completing the course. Thank you.

By R.Sathyanarayanan

Jul 10, 2019

This course is very useful for beginners. Very supportive materials for writing assignments. Timely help from instructors through forums. Overall very good course from Coursera and Wesleyan university.

By Sergey K

Jul 16, 2017

Pluses: Autograding, Lecturer responses in forum

instantaneously, by himself and

scrupulously, (great treat!). Minuses: Not for smart-phones and 11'' notebooks, (small font), sound is not very clear.

By Marcin K

May 28, 2017

Its project oriented course. After finishing you have still much to learn, but You can taste what and how pratical things can be done in Phyton. I think that You should some background in programming.

By Mallikharjun M

May 27, 2018

I have no programming experience but I find this course very interesting and in fact it's fun and challenging to work on examples.

Thank you. I sincerely appreciate your effort for making this course.

By Richard L

Feb 04, 2020

Thanks for the clear explanations and the easy examples. I think it is a good introductionary course and it gives a good starting point to move further to more sophisticated topics and applications.

By Helen I

Sep 05, 2017

It was my first experience with Python and I enjoyed it very much! A lot of thanks to Instructor and all team, who made this course so interest and understandable. Thanks to Coursera team as well.

By KUMAR A

Jun 16, 2019

A very nice introduction to Python 3 programming. The course lectures are quite engaging with hands-on practice and the programming assignments revise the learned concepts in step-by-step manner.

By Craig W

Dec 05, 2016

Want to say thank you, really enjoyed this course, I've done some python in the past but not in the last 8 months so this has been a great re-introduction to the language.

Really enjoyed it.

Craig

By Parichaya B T

Jan 25, 2018

It's one of the best learning course to get started with Python. I was a naive user for Python and this course really helped me a lot to understand basic principles of Python and use of python.

By Tarek H

Feb 10, 2017

I'm completely new to programming. the assignments are very challenging which made me fall deep in love with programming. Thanks for everyone who participated in creating this wonderful course.

By Shashank B

Mar 23, 2019

The course material has been presented in a very easy to follow and clear manner. I thoroughly enjoyed learning the basics of programming in Python, professor Bill Boyd is a very good teacher.

By Damian C

Jan 12, 2018

Gentle and motivating introduction to python. It gets better and better and end up with a nice project that let's you aim for more ambitious coding, just as it should be. Thank you very much!

By 林弘善

Jan 17, 2019

This lecturer is very attentive for every programming assignment and teaching lecture.

Very useful for beginner who want to learn Python.

I hope there is an advanced course for Python learning

By Mohammad S E R

Mar 07, 2018

A great help for me as a beginner. Unlike previously, now I am very comfortable with python. Now I can build on this knowledge to gain my expertise further. I really appreciate this course.

By Laura J

Jan 15, 2018

Very practical, beginning course. Homework is strictly based on what was taught in the course - no need to research for new code. Practical, useful, beginning dataset manipulation taught.

By Werner D J

Apr 20, 2017

Great introductory course. The explanations are very straightforward, the examples introduce the important basic matter and the exercices help a lot in learning to use the learned material.

By Deas R

Jan 28, 2017

I found this course to be very helpful. I was very impressed by the instructor's responses to forum questions and the ease of submitting (and resubmitting) my assignments. Great experience.

By Prayas M

Jan 08, 2017

The course is really great to start coding and develop interest in it. The language used is quite simple which makes it easy to understand for almost anyone. Thanks Coursera for the course.

By Marcos V O d A

May 14, 2019

It is a basic course, the videos follows the .py file, so you can use both or only the text file to guide yourself. I really enjoyed this course and recommend to anyone starting on python.