Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.6
stars
3,581 ratings
1,180 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks....

Top reviews

LR

Jan 04, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

KA

Jun 16, 2019

A very nice introduction to Python 3 programming. The course lectures are quite engaging with hands-on practice and the programming assignments revise the learned concepts in step-by-step manner.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,158 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By Thomas M

Jun 04, 2019

Fantastic class. The lessons were perfect for my needs to get started writing python scripts. The instructor is incredibly knowledgeable and his lectures were well thought out and presented in an easy to follow/understand format.

By Arnaldo J M

Aug 14, 2017

Muito bom, começa simples mas chega ao final com um bom grau de complexidade. O professor vai devagar e explica bem. Os exemplos são legais. A prova tem questões totalmente dentro do que foi apresentado na aula e nos exemplos.

By Matthew M

Jul 28, 2017

This is an excellent starter for Python 3. It gives enough examples to get you familiar with the language and the documentation that you will need to consult as you go further, and the lessons are very well taught and succinct.

By SHEIKH M K A

Sep 15, 2020

Its good to learn Python basics online. This is my first online course and I enjoyed it very much. Thanks to Mr. Bill for his excellent lectures. I suggest to join this course who are interested in learning Python programming.

By Kartik N

Mar 02, 2019

This is really the first course you should take if you want to learn python. Nicely taught and the exercises are just at a perfect level for beginners. I would really recommend it to everyone wishing to start learning python.

By Isaac D P

Mar 26, 2020

I've dealed with different programming courses before, and this course works perfectly as an introduction to Python language. Don't worry if you are new a beginner, the videos and exercices are clear and very well explained.

By Nikhil P

Apr 23, 2020

The course was very much interesting and helpful. The assignments were closely relevant to the syllabus and exciting to work with. i hope i have gained knowledge in basic understanding of python programming with spyder IDE.

By benjamine

Jun 06, 2017

Very Nice! I think it's really a good introduction to use python!

Maybe one problem is that homework in lesson 2 or 3 (I forgot) contain "random.seed", that is explained in lesson four's video, but one can always google it.

By Patryk G

Sep 02, 2020

A very good course to start your adventure with Python. It helped me understand a lot of programming issues in Python and that's what I expected. Knowledge presented very easily and clearly. Of course I highly recommend!!

By Hugo M F N

Aug 26, 2020

Considero que alguns exercícios eram exigentes, mesmo para uma introdução à programação, especialmente quando o background não é de informática. Ainda assim aconselho a sua realização. As dúvidas que coloquei no forum for

By Tarang M

Apr 25, 2020

Really good course. Easy to understand and exercise test you with whatever you learnt. At the end you learn it application which is helpful to understand the implementation of whatever you learn during the entire course.

By Advaith S

Jun 27, 2019

The course is a fantastic introduction to Python. All the modules and exercises are meticulously explained. The video lessons effectively capture the audience's attention and are taught at a slow and understandable pace.

By Joaquim

May 18, 2020

Very well explained. Concise and ideal for beginners in Python like me. The course delves into the basic operations and functions step by step, providing simple yet ilustrative examples. Thank you Prof. Boyd and team!

By Parth A

Jun 13, 2020

This is the best course to start python from scratch. After its completions you will be a person who is familiar with python but to be a power programmer in python you need use "Learn while Building Project" approach.

By D V V N R K

Apr 19, 2020

I am very poor at programming. But i am surprised that i could do by taking this course. Thanks to instructor. The amount of effort taken to make the course simple and easy to understand is excellent. A big thank you.

By Jason S

Feb 01, 2020

I found this class a very gentle introduction to Python. I appreciated that the instructor, Prof Boyd, gave clear lectures, and was very responsive to student questions when were having difficulty on the assignments.

By Steven Z

Mar 25, 2018

One of th best coursera courses that I've taken! The professor taught the lessons in a very interactive way with a lots of exercises! I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who would like to learn python.

By Telmo A d S B

May 01, 2017

The teacher definitely has an ability to make you understand. Even without the videos, you clearly understand the basics of Python.

i wish this would be the first course of a series in Python programming.

Great course!

By José L F H

Jul 30, 2020

Me encantó el curso. Podría ser un poco complicado para las personas que no están habituadas a resolver problemas en base a la prueba y error. Para mi forma de aprender, el formato fue el adecuado. Muy recomendable.

By Nishant R

Jun 29, 2019

The course helps you learn the basics of python and even will help you develop a good grip on python language. Its a easy course and can be done easily once you go through all the assignments and videos. Thank you.

By Robert N

Jan 25, 2018

I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning python it is very informative and breaks down everything a beginner needs to know. The exercises are challenging but not too challenging for a beginner.

By Peter D

Sep 11, 2020

Excelent course that offers a quick and easy start with Python. If you don't want to spend too much time with videos, just do the (very, very good!) excercises and use the videos only when needed. Works wonderfull!

By Kevin B

Dec 12, 2017

A very good introductory course on programming with Python. I am a complete newcomer to coding and I was able to follow along and complete the course with only a couple of extra hints from the discussion forums :)!

By Aman T

May 31, 2020

Being a mechanical engineering student it was a great pleasure learning this language as they taught as from the very basic I didn't knew a single thing about python but Bill helped me a lot Thanks a lot Bill SIr.

By Sreeja E S

Feb 12, 2018

i found to be meaningful, coz it covers the programming. And who knows the basic programming can directly do this course. The course is easy to understand and only you can practice well the effective programming,