Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,821 ratings
1,503 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to introduce students to Python Version 3.x programming using hands on instruction. It will show how to install Python and use the Spyder IDE (Integrated Development Environment) for writing and debugging programs. The approach will be to present an example followed by a small exercise where the learner tries something similar to solidify a concept. At the end of each module there will be an exercise where the student is required to write simple programs and submit them for grading. It is intended for students with little or no programming background, although students with such a background should be able to move forward at their preferred pace. The course is four modules long and is designed to be completed in four weeks. SPECIAL NOTE: Python Programming: A Concise Introduction course will close for new learner enrollment on 2/16/22. In order to earn a Course Certificate, you will need to complete all graded assignments by 8/16/22. If you are interested in earning a Course Certificate for this course, please upgrade or apply for Financial Aid by 8/16/22. If you are a Coursera for Business learner, you can continue to use your sponsored credit through that date....

Top reviews

LR
Jan 3, 2017

Quite interesting introduction to Python, focusing on the most important components of the language. Looking forward to other courses using the same format. Thank you Bill and team for your hard work.

TS
Nov 28, 2021

This course was amazing as well as was an interesting course.I have learnt a lot of new concepts and things with the help of Respected Sir Bill Boyd and looking forward for more such type of courses.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,495 Reviews for Python Programming: A Concise Introduction

By Peter D

Sep 11, 2020

Excelent course that offers a quick and easy start with Python. If you don't want to spend too much time with videos, just do the (very, very good!) excercises and use the videos only when needed. Works wonderfull!

By Kevin B

Dec 12, 2017

A very good introductory course on programming with Python. I am a complete newcomer to coding and I was able to follow along and complete the course with only a couple of extra hints from the discussion forums :)!

By Aman T

May 31, 2020

Being a mechanical engineering student it was a great pleasure learning this language as they taught as from the very basic I didn't knew a single thing about python but Bill helped me a lot Thanks a lot Bill SIr.

By Sreeja E S

Feb 12, 2018

i found to be meaningful, coz it covers the programming. And who knows the basic programming can directly do this course. The course is easy to understand and only you can practice well the effective programming,

By Daniel R

Dec 16, 2020

Bill is an incredible instructor and I couldn't be more happy with the class. This was my first programming class and he made the basics very understandable for an entry level student such as myself. Thank you!

By Mohammed A

Jul 24, 2020

Lovely method of teaching. Professor is very responsive and helpful. As for the material, it is a very well prepared concise introduction that covers all the basics. Programmers can finish the course in few days.

By Andrew B

May 18, 2020

Just what is says on the tin - a concise introduction to Python syntax. Can move pretty quickly through it if you have prior programming experience, but this is certainly not a requirement. Assignments work well.

By Suzette R

Mar 16, 2021

This is a great introduction to Python along with a great instructor. The exercises were great examples on each lesson and there were several ways for the learner to experience the way the Python works. Thanks!!

By Tetsuhiko O

Feb 9, 2019

I feel very happy to finish this course because I have never experienced Python programming, and I am over 50 years old! This course is very useful to study basic python programming method. Thank you very much.

By Aloysius B P

Jun 5, 2020

What a great experience in learning basic python! It is pretty simple. If you wanna do the course fast, you can just read the exercise programs for every weeks. And if you are stucked, you can watch the video.

By John L

Dec 5, 2018

Concise yet comprehensive guidance on topics discussed. Forums will likely be able to resolve any issue you have immediately as there's such a large archive. Accessible introduction to Python, would recommend.

By Ina L

Dec 27, 2016

Excellent, especially for learners already familiar with another programming language. Professor Boyd is able to quickly give an overview with just the right amount of detail --- not too much, not too little.

By Patrick F

Jun 1, 2018

I very much enjoyed this course. I already had a "basic" understanding of python, but this opened my eyes to several useful tools/techniques that I had been completely unaware of prior to taking this course.

By Isha S

Aug 1, 2017

A very useful course to get started with the python programming. The lectures were explained in deep and everystep was clearified in programming. Thank you to Professor Bill Boyd and coursera for the course.

By Nikita G

Feb 14, 2021

A very nice experience! I recommend it for beginners as it gives a nice understanding of the basic material. It also gives a possibility to experience first successes when creating stand alone applications.

By Oguzhan O

May 2, 2020

I started as an absolute beginner two weeks ago now I can write my own functions, create some simple scripts, and analyze some data. I really really appreciate you for providing this opportunity. Thank you!

By Bill P

Jul 29, 2020

Great intro to python. Covers all the basics. If you've programmed before, this will be a fairly easy course, but if it's your first time, Billy goes through things at a very reasonable pace. Great course.

By Krishna B S

Jul 29, 2017

An excellent course for someone who wants to start with hands on training in Python Programming. Very good cover of vital basic topics and very well designed in terms of progressive level of difficulty.

By Feyzullah E

Jan 20, 2019

This was a brief, to-the-point, concise introduction to Python Programming as the name implies. Provided code and instructions are useful as reference points long after completing the course. Thank you.

By R.Sathyanarayanan

Jul 10, 2019

This course is very useful for beginners. Very supportive materials for writing assignments. Timely help from instructors through forums. Overall very good course from Coursera and Wesleyan university.

By Shridevi A D

Nov 3, 2020

Excellent Course to learn.

But due to some laptop issues, I couldn't submit the assignment on time. Inconvenience is regretted.

Anyway to resume back to course to complete the same would be appreciable.

By Sergey K

Jul 16, 2017

Pluses: Autograding, Lecturer responses in forum

instantaneously, by himself and

scrupulously, (great treat!). Minuses: Not for smart-phones and 11'' notebooks, (small font), sound is not very clear.

By Marcin K

May 28, 2017

Its project oriented course. After finishing you have still much to learn, but You can taste what and how pratical things can be done in Phyton. I think that You should some background in programming.

By Tayyba S

Nov 29, 2021

This course was amazing as well as was an interesting course.I have learnt a lot of new concepts and things with the help of Respected Sir Bill Boyd and looking forward for more such type of courses.

By Mallikharjun M

May 26, 2018

I have no programming experience but I find this course very interesting and in fact it's fun and challenging to work on examples.

Thank you. I sincerely appreciate your effort for making this course.