Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
stars
2,412 ratings
456 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

BK

Jun 26, 2018

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 448 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By G B K

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

By Carl B

Sep 20, 2017

Excellent course! Video lectures are high quality, with realistic problems and applications. Exercises are reasonably challenging, and all quite fun to do! Strongly recommend this course

By Manuel A

Sep 08, 2018

Just enough theory and an comprehensive guide through regex, nltk and some features from gensim (LDA). Assignmets are very challenging and some nice utilities are developed.

By Sonu C

Jul 05, 2018

Great course, very well balanced pace of learning. Adds good amount of working knowledge with NLP tools; definitely not covers everything but more than what I expected.

By Yufan L

Aug 01, 2019

A lot of self-learning. The assignment is challenging, but well designed! The forum is the key to understand the Computer science writing style in the assignment :)

By Sarah H H

May 21, 2019

Loved this course. the pacing, the instruction. it flowed and I felt i could execute what I learned without too much head scratching due 'missing leaps of info'.

By David K

Jan 17, 2020

An interesting topic that takes text mining to a new level, it was really insightful to understand how these tools can be applied to the real world.

By Aya

Dec 17, 2018

This instructor was great! His slides and explanations were much easier to follow than the other course instructors in the specialization.

By Vladimir

Dec 06, 2017

Highly recommended course about text mining and modelling for Computer Scientists! Great and challenging assignments to grasp the skills!

By Gerardo M C

Nov 12, 2017

Nice and interesting course. This course opens a lot of possibilities to processing information data and bibliometric studies.

By kaushal

May 25, 2019

it's great course to learn text mining in python , you will find many good examples which are related to real worlds problems

By Neville M

Aug 22, 2019

Does exactly what it says on the label. Makes you really think about what you are doing with the text. Highly recommended.

By Фесенко Г Е

Aug 25, 2017

Excellent course! Everything is understandable and interesting. I hope it'll help me in my future career. Thank you a lot!

By Yanan L

Aug 08, 2017

I haven't finished the course yet. But the syllabus and the reading materials look really nice for an intro to NLP course.

By Hiếu N

Dec 22, 2019

Thorough explanations provided by the lecturer and assignments which are challenging but helpful for learning purposes

By Abdoulaye D

Feb 11, 2019

I'm auditing this course, as I don't have enough to get the certificate. I hugely recommend it. It's well explained.

By Agata M

Jan 23, 2020

Well prepared and put in an interesting way. Assignments allowed me to get general understanding of the techniques.

By Abdul K S

Dec 03, 2019

Very nice and interactive course learnt a lot and the assignments are very good and very importing topics covered.

By Georg H

Feb 25, 2018

Great intro to the essentials of NLP and good exams/assignments with right levels of instructions and guidance.

By Matt R C

Feb 19, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, as well as how the instructor presented it. Overall very smooth and informative

By Jahir M

Nov 18, 2019

it gives you the right things to start making models to extract information without getting too technical.

By Krishna D

Jan 08, 2018

liked the course material, well presented and Assignments are well framed.

Enjoyed the Course very much!

By laurent.bilke@gmail.com

Sep 17, 2019

Great course. Does cover a lot of ground on the topic. The assignments are challenging, as should be.

By Bart T C

Nov 21, 2018

Really great course. Love the instructor. Hard, almost too hard for me, but very useful and applied.

By Halil K

Oct 02, 2019

Excellent course. Teaches useful knowledge and skills and does it with a very good teaching staff.