Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,831 ratings
646 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL
May 7, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

626 - 639 of 639 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Big W

Apr 8, 2016

mechanically it worked pretty well. just a little hard to figger out what's going on and what's important. what needs to be memorized and what just needs to be understood . . .

By Jude B

Feb 23, 2020

The course was okay, the assignments and final quiz don't really reflect the material properly and need to be re-evaluated and rephrased to be clearer

By Daniel M C

Dec 14, 2015

Just three stars so far, I've just started the course late... I think it looks good tho.

By smeets

May 28, 2016

very good course, but I never recieved the feedback I needed on the forum

By ANUPAMA R

Jun 24, 2020

Too long and difficult as there are more number of peer reviews

By tengson p

Jan 11, 2017

Fairly good. Fundamental knowledge for researcher.

By Hafeez A

Oct 25, 2015

interesting and informative course.

By Tarjani P

Aug 8, 2020

good

By Cynthia C

Sep 6, 2020

The material is good. However, the peer review format is poor. Most students submit copied answers, literally, they are all the same and they are not even correct. Student's don't bother reading the instructions or questions of the tests. Which indicates that I don't even know if their review of my own submissions are correctly evaluated. And the professors of the course are not available.

By Jason M H

Mar 4, 2016

Over reliance on student grading. Material does not map well to the quizzes.

By Sabine W

Apr 21, 2021

Actually I liked the Course VERY much (so actually 5 stars).

BUT: At the end of week 6 I was kicked out of the course! Though I am paying for it! I am so frustrated! I tried to get in again, but no Chance. I need to do everything again from the very beginning, but I am too frustrated to do that. I actually passed all the exams until week 6.

By Marc F

Mar 25, 2018

too much work, too much specific question, alot of not related knowledge that we need to learn... Not useful in my opinion.

By Winthrop Y

Apr 19, 2016

Excellent lectures, good tests, too many peer evaluations!

By Maryam s s O A

Feb 21, 2021

.