Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,975 ratings
686 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL
May 7, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 686 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Marie R

Oct 18, 2016

I really felt this course was well presented and easily accessed for working learners. If you wish to build your skills in this area, this course is a good way to do it. My only hesitation regarding this course pertains to the time and energy spent on historical or largely theoretical constructs, such as what Plato thought or did not think about the nature of reality. To me, this should be an applied learning course given its nature and spending time and energy on this seems an academic exercise of little importance to the ability to understand research.

By Rema M

Apr 17, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. It featured videos with periodic knowledge checks, quizzes and writing assignments. My favorite part of the course were the writing assignments. They helped me to identify the concepts that I did not fully understand. My only complaint was that the peer-review feedback was not as robust as I would like. Most students just said good job and nothing more; but I did appreciate that a few people were willing to give me real, critical feedback. It helped me to see where I did not fully understand some of the concepts.

By Gavin Y

Dec 23, 2019

I enjoyed this course and it was very useful to me. My only gripe is that I received no feedback from qualified people. Yes, the tests were feedback but I received no such feedback on the writing assignments. How could I know if my ideas were right or not? You might supply an example essay written by a qualified researcher or choose an exemplary one from the students to showcase. This course was a bit challenging and it was better than I expected. I would strongly consider taking another course through this university. Thank you.

By Sebbane E

Jan 12, 2017

Very good and quality training : videos and material are in a very good quality. Assignments make well practice the acquired knowledge and the final exam reviews all lectures in a very practical way that allowed me to make the infinite connections until the end.

The only negatively appreciated aspect is the issue to be graded when you submit your assignment few days later. Also, there is no real mentor from the university. These are very critical points that should really exist in a paid online course.

By Sara G

Apr 28, 2020

Great course! It introduces a lot of concepts necessary for social research and it invites the student to actually apply them to a critical read of published papers. It also sets the philosophical basis for different approaches in Science, which are usually overlooked in this kind of courses.

It can be quite technical if you are coming from an unrelated field, so I would strongly recommend but only if you are actually interested in the topic and in engaging with it.

By Judith E

Jun 1, 2017

A very interesting course - I learned a lot. I thought it was a shame that my elective assignment in week 6 was not marked - perhaps if you're offering extra assignments, it might be worth having mentors checking and grading them. Apart from that, the video lectures are informative and enjoyable, as are the interviews, and there is a nice mix of assignments with practical and theoretical applications.

By A C

Jan 28, 2019

This course id deceptively simple. you think you know the meaning of those terms like reliability and validity and other terms but when you do this course you realize how nuanced those terms are. To be honest I expected a little more fro the course but I also learnt a lot. What I rally liked were the interviews.They ere informative and first hand information.

By Joanna C

Dec 7, 2020

This is an excellent introduction to quantitative social research methods. It has been very helpful for understanding how to design a research study and how to evaluate how effective a research design is. Thank you. The only flaw is the evaluative assignments. I don't think marking each others assignments is a reliable way of assessing our learning.

By Allison B H

Nov 26, 2017

The course was thorough, and introduced the concepts clearly and concisely. My only quibble is that its geared toward the experimental sciences and so the exams and assignments emphasized concepts and research design issues that are less germane to other fields. I got a bit impatient with that towards the end. Otherwise, fantastic.

By Sarath C P T

Jun 4, 2017

The lectures are pretty good from a theoretical point of view as it breaks down the finer details in understanding the concepts pretty well. Only thing is I wish the Professor had used slightly more practical or real world experiments to explain the concepts instead of examples like rating mother-in-laws and love towards cats etc.

By Leonardo T

Jun 13, 2020

This course has been really useful to become familiar with basic quantitative research concepts. The explanations are clear, the quizzes and exams address the topics from the lessons accurately and the community is engaged with the discussion of the topics. The main weakness is the lack of peer effort when reviewing assignments.

By Jan B

Aug 24, 2019

Very good course, the videos were entertaining and the tasks forced me to use the newly acquired knowledge in practice. Still, I guess we all would benefit from a longer project completed part by part, for example, a study using some database. In this way, it would bring even more benefits.

By Daan K

Sep 22, 2020

The video lectures, test and assignments are of good quality. If found the material challenging and learned a lot. However I do feel that the peer grading system is flawed. There are many accounts of plagiarism in the submissions by the participants and few take grading you work seriously.

By Rebecca T

Nov 9, 2018

The lectures can be a little bit dry. However, I really appreciate how very well organized the lectures and the other course content is. It made it very easy to understand the content, and study for the tests. I also learned a lot of really useful basics for conducting better research.

By Mohammad J

Dec 30, 2017

the first 3 weeks were a little difficult to follow but then i catch up with the terms and definitions, week 4 became very enjoyable. wish i could took the quiz without payment.

You must listen to the interviews. Interviews are the best part that sum up all ideas on the related week.

By Ioannis I

Mar 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The theoretical part on philosophy was rather boring and although I could see why it's there, it never intigued me. Everything was nicely put together and very informative! Things I knew about conducting research is much more clear to me now.

By Catherine C

Nov 15, 2016

The lecture content covers the most basic concepts of quantitative research. It would be helpful to you if you have no experience in quantitative research before. But personally I think the lecturer covers too much on history--I had a hard time remembering the names.

By Melanie W

Nov 7, 2019

Overall the course was great. The only major critique that I have is that the exam questions were often worded unclearly, which sometimes caused me to get answers wrong for concepts that I actually understood. Otherwise I'm very happy with the quality of the course!

By Abhigya L

Oct 3, 2020

its an important course will help you be a good researcher with all basics cleared but a difficult one too it needs time and high concentration

also there can be addition as to how these can be applied in the paper so that the practice could help in the real world

By Rahina D A

Jul 10, 2021

Overall, I really like the course because it is quite insightful. However, I hope that the information can be given a lot more comprehensively or please add a series of reading brics so that we as students can understand better without feeling lost or confused.

By Lucille M

Jun 2, 2021

Overall the course is good and well-elaborated. However, t​here are a lot of fake accounts that submit copy-pasted assignments of poor quality, which makes real users waste time and deprives us of the possibily of learning by peer-reviewing real assignments.

By Maria G

Sep 26, 2015

Nicely explained with easy to understand examples. Quite hard for those who have never studied research methods. Very dense information. I found one or two questions in the weekly quiz that I couldn`t answer with the knowledge available in the videos.

By Sumit S

Jan 18, 2017

Good course for those desiring to develop conception about research design. Students outside the purview of social sciences can find it a bit difficult.A few more examples in each module could perhaps be of further help. Overall an excellent course.

By Miguel B

Apr 19, 2020

Very good content knowledge and I enjoyed the lectures and bonus interviews. However, I was disappointed by the fact that most written exercises were peer-reviewed, by participants who lacked strong content knowledge of the subject or instructions.

By Sara H M

Sep 2, 2019

I would like to have a review that included what answers are expected on the Writing Assignments. Because sometimes, especially in the second writing assignment, I didn't know if it was a correct answer or what is expected as an answer.