Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,856 ratings
656 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL
May 7, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 650 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Corina T

Sep 24, 2016

Great use of examples. I was not thrilled with peer-reviews as some people may give you bad scores with no explanation and/or they may be wrong in their understanding/interpretation of the course material/assignment.

By Prashant N

Jun 27, 2016

Very nice and interesting!

I learnt a lot. I wish I could make better use of discussion forums. Some questions and few concepts remained unanswered/ not clear, however it was a fantastic experience overall.

By FEG R

Nov 23, 2016

Nice Course, quite some views to digest but good for understanding how social research can/should be done/considered. Repetition required to grasp all these new terms if you are not a social science stu

By Philly D

Apr 19, 2017

This is a really good course, comprehensive and useful to anyone wanting to know about quant methods. It's pretty tough and you need to study, but if you finish it you'll definitely learn a lot.

By Connie H

May 18, 2021

maybe 3.8. There was alot of dated information in the course and unhelpful concepts presented as examples. There was also alot of videos but barely any readings. The videos were presented well.

By Maher A

Jan 11, 2020

The only issues with this course are that some of the assignments take a lot more time than they estimate, and that some of the multiple choice questions are a bit confusingly structured.

By R. R

Sep 9, 2020

I enjoyed this course. The lectures were appealing, and the tasks relevant. I enjoyed reviewing other classmates' assignments from around the globe—a very cool idea.

By Carl D

Mar 22, 2016

This is my first MOOC and I enjoyed it. The lectures were clear, concise, and interesting. Most of the tests and assignments were relevant and well thought out.

By Eduardo R P B

Jul 31, 2017

A very good course, just needs more extra info like books and papers to have a more in depth look into quantitative methods. I'd love to read a book on this.

By Sonja M

Jun 28, 2020

Thank you very much. I enjoyed the experience very much. The videos and the material presented are made with a great sense of teaching and made with love:).

By Chia H L

Mar 12, 2020

I have enjoyed the learning very much. The assignments and quizzes are useful. The interviews at the end of each unit helps me see what happens in reality.

By Catherine A

Apr 7, 2018

It was informative and helpful. On some of the subjects, a bit more detail in the examples would help rather than brief general descriptions.

By Natalia P

Aug 13, 2016

It was a challenging course for someone that only knows quantitative research. Definitely took me more time than estimated (or proposed)

By Martha C C O

Nov 7, 2016

Its great. So complete, you really gain an integral knowledge of the topic. I couldn't finish it because of the amount of homework.

By Ferry V

Aug 7, 2016

Very good, easy to follow. Exams are well designed and offer a good training. Videos can sometimes be a bit boring to watch.

By Gijs v S

Feb 19, 2020

Challenging, but very educational! I really feel I learned a lot and already used my new-found knowledge during my studies.

By Anjela A

Mar 13, 2021

Really good course to build some foundational knowledge on quantitative methods. Assignments are unnecessarily tedious.

By Tien P

Aug 25, 2016

Good lectures, well-designed videos and tests. However, coordinators are low responsive. No extra reading is provided.

By Liam M

Apr 26, 2018

Good although the peer review system needs work and the quizzes that pop up during videos are annoying and useless

By Rejane R d C P

Oct 19, 2020

Very nice course. I learned a lot. Assessments really make you progress in learning, despite being demanding.

By Yifat B B

Jun 7, 2020

I am a Ph.D. student and this course has greatly contributed to my understanding of social science research.

By Cesar G V R

Feb 15, 2016

Es buen curso

Es una buena introducción a la metodología de la investigación cuantitativa. Muy recomendable

By Andrzej W

Jul 3, 2017

It was a good course, although it could have been better with more practical approach. Thanks!

By Sathyajith M 1

Jun 3, 2020

I was able to understand a lot more about research methods by doing this course.

By zakia k

Dec 12, 2020

A well-structured course that can help almost anyone to learn about research!