Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,810 ratings
641 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL
May 7, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 634 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Suresh V K

Mar 30, 2018

I found the course easy to follow through, enjoyed the format, and learned a lot about the historical background to philosophy and science as well as research methods. I believe it will be useful for anyone looking to get a good understanding and grounding in quantitative methods.

By Thomas B

Apr 20, 2020

The flexibility and simplicity of the overall structure really helped me complete my tasks on time while working full-time. The material was really robust, and the applied examples provided during the exams helped me understand in depth the course's content. Highly recommended.

By INDRAJEET K

May 11, 2020

A very well designed course that built my concept on how to do research in a quantitative way. The mentor also had a charismatic personality. This course of 30+ hours was explained by the mentor wearing a single dress, which made the lectures little boring in the latter stage.

By Dr M R

Nov 5, 2019

The course is an excellent one . As a student of Economics I have learnt a lot about the research methodology and how to conduct the quantitative research. I have learnt the ethics of research also.This is very helpful for future.

Thanks a lot to AMU to conduct this course.

By Philip A E L

May 22, 2020

I very much enjoyed the class and all the videos. Highly recommend. It is not quite as good of a class as an in classroom experience but I feel significantly more knowledgable than before and will use these skills in my professional life as preparation for graduate school.

By Muchiri K

Nov 19, 2017

This is course was put together very well. It is delivered in a manner that is easy to understand despite the technical nature of many of the concepts. I am glad i took this course and highly recommend it to anyone seeking to improve their knowledge of Quantitative Methods

By Kumar A

Jul 27, 2017

It was a great course for a someone who is a beginner. I really liked the approach of analyzing other researches. They were not too difficult, providing the correct balance for students to get to know the topic better and also not be over burdened by the course structure.

By Carol C

Mar 27, 2017

The concepts were clearly and cleverly explained. The assignments were relevant and helped to extend my knowledge of course videos. I appreciate the methods used to teach the course and provide evaluation and feedback. There was a lot of work but I learned a lot too!

By Yaroslav B

Sep 3, 2020

It's was very interesting to be a part of this journey through quantitative methods in social science. I have gained complete knowledge about quantitative research which will help me more accurately investigate interesting parts of social life. Thank you so much.

By Somya T

Dec 14, 2016

It is a brilliant course explaining each aspect of quantitative research methods. The course covers all the major topics used in Psychological Research. It has helped me to understand and apply variety of concepts like research design, measurement and sampling.

By Ezra K M

Feb 20, 2018

Love the lectures and how they are being carried out. Easily digestible and understandable by prospective students. Assignments tend to be quite lengthy but its necessary to fortify understanding towards the subject matter. Thank you for organizing the course!

By Valentine K A

Sep 24, 2016

I have really learned and advanced my knowledge in quantitative methods. A big thanks to the course instructors and anyone who contributed to the success of this course. the perspicuous and lucid explanations in the videos lectures were so self explanatory.

By Miguel C

Apr 25, 2020

Excellent flow of the coursework. It starts philosophical and at times confusing, but you end up with a critical eye for scientific literature. Overall, I highly recommend it for anyone seeking an introductory, but complete, course on quantitative methods.

By Matheus M B

Mar 8, 2016

This course provided a great experiece of online study. The high quality content of the videos and adequate rithym of assignments and quizzes are features that make it an admirable course. I strongly reccomend doing this course if you are still in doubt.

By Shihab A

Jan 22, 2019

This course is a good one. The content covers from epistemology to research ethics and many more. It enriched me and now I am more confident in quantitative research design than before. Thanks to Dr. Scholten and all who worked in developing the course.

By Autumn O

Dec 13, 2017

A really great course! I loved the pictures used as examples, and the bonus interviews really helped me gain a deeper understanding of the material. I also really like it how this University doesn't assume you know everything, and starts from the start.

By Marius P

Dec 29, 2015

I was extremely impressed by this course, its pedagogy, its depth and breadth, the clarity of the lectures, the quality of the material. Well done to all involved. I have signed up for the entire specialization and hope that the rest matches up to this.

By Eloisa V M

Feb 2, 2018

This course is exactly what I hoped it to be!

Synthetic but always clear, challenging and high-level.

I feel that I gained a good introductive knowledge of quantitative methods and I can't wait to follow the next courses.

I totally suggest it!

By Renu J

Mar 3, 2019

Very well structured course with relevant assignments that helps one apply what one just learned. Thank you for a comprehensive introduction to quantitative research methods. The cat example was awesome as were all the illustrations on the slides!

By Christelle C

Apr 6, 2017

The videos were very clear, concepts were explained in a funny and easy-to-understand way, and Annemarie speaks very clearly. The exams were well-written and easy enough to complete if the course was followed. I learned a lot through this course

By Laura R

Jun 4, 2020

A very well-organised and well-taught course. It was a lot more rigorous and difficult than I expected, and it took me more like 6-8 hours per week for each module with all the lecture videos, assignments and tests, but it was very worthwhile.

By Crystal G

May 24, 2019

Loved Annemarie Zand Scholten style of teaching. She is a great communicator and educator, making the materials accessible. The video quality and visual materials were excellent and greatly aided to understanding the material. thank you UA!!!

By Imran D

Mar 2, 2021

A lot of material is packed in a short time, and I learned a lot. I will advise future students to find a way to quiz themselves to make sure they have learned the concept. The assignments and exam rely on your understanding of concepts.

By Adam M

Feb 18, 2021

Well-paced, well-explained, personable (recorded) professor and so many cats. All the information you need with the right amount of explanation and a variety of applied examples. Engaging projects and challenging multiple-choice quizzes.

By Aivars Š

Nov 20, 2016

Very good starting course for Research Basics. Especially good for Quanitative research, but most of terminology can be applied to any research as main focus is on Hypo-decuctive research approach, which is basis for all research anyway.