Chevron Left
Back to Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Rails with Active Record and Action Pack by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
732 ratings
154 reviews

About the Course

You already know how to build a basic web application with the Ruby on Rails framework. Perhaps, you have even taken Course 1, "Ruby on Rails: An Introduction" (we highly recommend it) where you relied on external web services to be your “data layer”. But in the back of your mind, you always knew that there would come a time when you would need to roll up your sleeves and learn SQL to be able to interact with your own relational database (RDBMS). But there is an easier way to get started with SQL using the Active Record Object/Relational (ORM) framework. In this course, we will be able to use the Ruby language and the Active Record ORM framework to automate interactions with the database to quickly build the application we want. In Rails with Active Record and Action Pack, we will explore how to interact with relational databases by using Active Record, a Ruby gem, which Rails uses by default for database access. We will then take a look at what role Active Record plays in the overall request-response cycle, when a client (the browser) requests data from the server, as well as how to submit the data to the server. Of course, when accessing data, security is of paramount importance! We will talk about vulnerabilities such as SQL injection, as well as how to secure access to data by authenticating and authorizing users accessing the data. Take this course to build a Ruby on Rails application with Active Record to automate the detailed SQL interactions with our database....

Top reviews

AB

Aug 11, 2016

A nice continuation to course 1 of this specialization, deeper dive into RoR, among other things you will learn how to manipulate/display database data and how to authenticate/authorize users!

NL

Dec 17, 2015

Great explanation of not so easy to understand concepts. Lecturer provides good example that can help material better and see how what you've learned can be applied to real world scenarios.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 147 Reviews for Rails with Active Record and Action Pack

By Ameer H B

Feb 09, 2019

Beautiful course. Everything is explained much clear. Easy to understand and easy to learn too

By eighty

Apr 02, 2019

A detailed, thorough journey through Rails' model, view, controller framework. I took this after the popular Rails tutorial, which served as a great intro. I learned a huge amount about the main components of Rails - Active Record, Action Controller and Action View. There are no boring code-along videos, just concise lectures with slides and assignments.

This course is not really for beginners. It's challenging, just because of the many potential technical issues you can run into with Ruby, Rails, databases, servers and tests. I recommend having at least six months of programming studies behind you before diving into this course.

The previous course in the series is also a must - even if you think you already know the basics, you'll have important stuff reinforced.

By Ryan D

Jul 11, 2018

2 things are cerating if you take this course, - you will hate it when you take it. - you will LOVE it when it's over. You will really like where it takes you when it gets over and make you feel really good on how much your skills have improved.

By Paul B

Sep 16, 2016

This is a well organized and excellent course.

By Daniel H

Jan 10, 2016

You can learn a lot, but I do not think it is aimed at beginners.

By Carlos I M B

Mar 13, 2016

Awesome course, i have learned a lot about active records, rails database management, action pack, and so on. it's a very completed course.!

By Fred B L

Nov 15, 2015

Muito bom ! Very Good !

Learned the easy way of develop web applications.

Thanks !

By jongwon k

Nov 11, 2015

Thank you for your course. I am a penetration tester. I can get a better understanding for your course. After finishing it, I can give more security suggestion about code review and security architecture.

By Sanele

Jul 04, 2016

Great intro to rails with Active record and action pack

By Yuri V

Feb 29, 2016

This course continues the Introduction with the same test-driven approach and delicious intensity of the material. Efforts to finish the course will be greatly rewarded.

By Eron F d C J

Sep 09, 2016

Amazing course!

By 朱勇宣

Feb 26, 2016

great course

By Yaroslav T

Apr 23, 2017

Very useful, nice practical asssignments

By Juan R G S

Mar 12, 2016

It is a very good course!

By Nicolas S V

Mar 30, 2018

Good tips for the double AA.

By Kuolai S

May 04, 2016

The course assignments is hard and takes lots of hours but are valuable to me as it systematically consolidates rails' components for me.

By vignesh k

May 14, 2017

Thank you once again for this wonderful course

By Irini K P

Mar 12, 2017

I learned a lot from the course.

The instructions of the last exercise could be less detailed, so as it would be more challenging

By Pablo M G

Jan 30, 2017

As good as Course 1, grate learning experience

By Alexander T

Feb 12, 2016

I enjoyed it very much, well explained and guided. Inherits the test-driven grading system of the previous course. Excellent.

By Euclides C C

Apr 10, 2016

Very practical course! Keep the good work.

Thanks for your effort!

By Igor T

Jan 04, 2016

Enough to start I hope:)

By Toby P

Dec 12, 2016

Fantastic presentation material. By far above average.

By Giuseppe V

Feb 28, 2016

Just like the Course about the introduction to ruby this course has helped me to understand more Rails and the active record i really want to say : Thanks! to the professor who give me the opportunity to take this course :D From venezuela! Gracias mi pana :)

By Ramón C D

Apr 11, 2017

Great course! A great help to put you on your feet with Ruby on Rails development!