Chevron Left
Back to REAL BONES: Adventures in Forensic Anthropology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for REAL BONES: Adventures in Forensic Anthropology by Princeton University

4.7
stars
87 ratings
27 reviews

About the Course

Forensic anthropology involves medico-legal cases where human remains have lost "personhood" (an individual cannot be identified due to decomposition or destruction of unique personal features). We will learn techniques that biological anthropologists apply to these cases to identify certain social attributes. We will also blend both biological and social anthropology to analyze human variation and well-being in urban settings. This course will investigate and discuss the various techniques of analysis that biological anthropologists can apply to forensic cases. Topics include human osteology, the recovery of bodies, the analysis of life history, the reconstruction of causes of death, and various case studies where anthropologists have contributed significantly to solving forensic cases. Discussions will include the limitations of forensic anthropology and the application of DNA recovery to skeletal/mummified materials....

Top reviews

MW
Dec 14, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Learned a lot. The one thing that was off was that some of the quiz questions seemed out of sequence with regard to the information presented.

KD
Oct 2, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, Janet Monge is an excellent tutor and I'm sad it was only six weeks.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 29 Reviews for REAL BONES: Adventures in Forensic Anthropology

By INDU P

Aug 28, 2020

NICE COURSE...

By MIGUEL A A L

Aug 29, 2020

No certificate of course

By juan p d r

Sep 24, 2020

Very interesting: too bad it was so short. It has cost me more work since my knowledge of the English language is very basic, but with Google Translate I have been able to understand the written content of the videos and translate the sentences in the exams.

It's a shame not to be able to have other online courses similar to those to attend, if I could have the same means to translate their content from English.

I was able to make another similar one, from the University of Leiden, called "Osteoarchaeology", and I liked both very much. I wish there were more like them

By Crystal V D A

Sep 21, 2020

This was a wonderful overview of forensics anthropology. I was pleased to learn many of the techniques that are used in accessing personhood as well as identifying patterns in life or possible causes of death. Growth standards and aging were a large part of the course and I gained a lot of knowledge about how bones grow and what indicators can be used to help identify a person from skeletal remains.

By Anezka S

Oct 5, 2020

Thank you for the amazing course! As a non-professional enthusiast in anthropology, I learnt a lot of new stuff and was able to put all things I already knew into a context.

The course is very user friendly. I liked the short quizes in the end of each video-lecture and the recommended reading incl. links to related videos.

By Dr. S B K

Sep 5, 2020

felt very nice,l learnt a lot refreshed my mind. thank you

By Vonnie S

Jan 7, 2021

I can tell you how much I enjoyed this class. I learned so much about the field of Forensic Anthropology. The introduction to the various Standards for dentition, youth growth plates, and skull development. This class was informative and engaging! I really enjoyed Dr. Janet Monet's explanation and examples throughout the class. I will forever be grateful for the information and notes that I was able to take in this class. I hope to be able to look back on this information as I begin working cold cases in my community.

By Brenda G

Jan 17, 2021

This was an excellent introduction to forensic anthropology. As a forensic science teacher at the high school level, I have learned a lot about the nuances of the anthropology side of forensics that I can pass on to my students. I look forward to exploring more of these concepts soon. Thank you!

By Ayşenur B

Dec 31, 2020

I have enjoyed the course. It was detailed and informative. Readings were very beneficial to comprehend the topics. I hope I can find the opportunity to use this information as a forensic scientist after I graduate.

By pooja C

Sep 8, 2020

This was an exvellent course highlighting all the necessary points

By Rachel M

Oct 26, 2020

I think that mmethods of assessment could be more interactive, however despite that the course was well curated with great depth of topics. I would have loved more case studies, but those included were relevant and helped with understanding. Really enjoyed this course!

By Rachel W

Jan 18, 2021

A really interesting and accessible short course. I thoroughly enjoyed it and wish it had run for longer! Thank you Janet Monge, I would love to attend more of your lectures in future.

By Mark W

Dec 15, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Learned a lot. The one thing that was off was that some of the quiz questions seemed out of sequence with regard to the information presented.

By Виктория М

Nov 23, 2020

That was interesting experience in learning forensic anthropology, my first course. So I think I will continue to develop in this area

By Lili V

Dec 3, 2020

Loved it! It was really interesting and educational. I really would love to work in this field now :D

By Katrina D

Oct 3, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, Janet Monge is an excellent tutor and I'm sad it was only six weeks.

By Pamela M

Dec 18, 2020

loved every minute of it and was good to catch up on new things.

By Olena R

Dec 8, 2020

Thank You so much for this interesting and informative course.

By David R

Oct 5, 2020

Excellent course! Thanks so much!!

By AMAL C B

Sep 30, 2020

observations

By Asha R

Nov 21, 2020

nice course

By SARA M R C

Sep 30, 2020

Fantastico

By Laura V G C

Nov 19, 2020

Amazing!

By Angela R S B

Jan 3, 2021

It is a nicely done course but, unfortunately, it does not offer a certificate.