Chevron Left
Back to Risk, Return & Valuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Risk, Return & Valuation by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
98 ratings
23 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to the notion of risk, its relation to return, and the valuation of projects and companies. This is a capstone course to help you value projects and companies by applying your understanding of time value of money (TVM) and cash flows developed in the first three courses of this specialization. This course is part of a specialization titled “Foundational Finance for Strategic Decision Making” and is helpful if you are interested in applying to an MBA degree program or learning the foundations of finance to be more effective in your career. The pedagogy of the course is applied and problem-based with assignments covering every part of the course that each contain multiple problems that, by design, are introductory and simpler than the more real-world applications you will confront in the real world and more advanced courses. The assignments are all designed by the faculty lead and machine graded....

Top reviews

SK

May 21, 2020

Excellent introduction to corporate finance and some of the basics around the cost of capital and the capital asset pricing model. Professor Kaul was very good and kept things interesting.

SD

May 26, 2020

I would like to thank Professor Gautam Kaul as the content of the videos shows how much pain you took personally so that we can understand it in a better way

Filter by:

1 - 23 of 23 Reviews for Risk, Return & Valuation

By Maria D

Apr 25, 2020

It was the first course that I took in Coursera, having no specific knowledge on finance. But the structure of the course and specially the talented tutor gave me a great knowledge of Risk, Return & Valuation. The professor is excellent and his way of explaining concepts is very comprehensive. Overall, the course is very good for anyone that wants to engage with finance! It is totally!!

P.S. I had some trouble understanding basic statistic concepts in university and in this course I deeply understood them!

By Dr B V

May 15, 2020

Excellent piece of learning.

Hats off to Professor Kaul for his highly influencing style of teaching that makes every impossible concept - a possible asset of knowledge.

Thanks a ton to University and Coursera too for offering such courses that are must in this highly challenging and competitive business environment.

By ARVIND K S

Apr 25, 2019

Loved the way in which key concepts regarding risk statistics and decision-making were taught. I gained a lot even though I've got a background in finance.. Concepts were taught lucidly making them firmly etched in my mind. Thanks a lot!

By Steven K

May 21, 2020

Excellent introduction to corporate finance and some of the basics around the cost of capital and the capital asset pricing model. Professor Kaul was very good and kept things interesting.

By SAHIL D

May 26, 2020

I would like to thank Professor Gautam Kaul as the content of the videos shows how much pain you took personally so that we can understand it in a better way

By Faraz K

Apr 26, 2020

This is the best course I have done in a while, I want to learn more from this professor. This has been better than anything there on Netflix

By Mittapally R

Apr 02, 2020

Mega example in week 3 is the highlight of the entire course it covered every aspect of the course and explained properly.

By Rishabh S

Nov 04, 2019

Awesome course. Has opened up my knowledge towards finance and possibly considering a career in it too.

By RAJEEV K S

May 21, 2020

Very much informative session with a lot of learning about Financial aspects of risk factors.

By João P S F d G

Mar 25, 2020

Very well explained. Covered all the essential topics for a beginner in Finance.

By Austin M

Aug 25, 2019

Nice review of fundamental finance principles with an enjoyable instructor

By Jameel M

Jan 02, 2020

What an awsome course and the lecturer is super cool

By Nikolaos P

Oct 02, 2019

Good insights, passionate professor!

By Bishetti R

May 20, 2020

very good and informative course

By Aman M

Apr 27, 2020

A Great Learning Experience.

By KUNAL K S

Apr 23, 2020

Good Topic to explore....

By Deepak s

Apr 27, 2020

Simply awesome!

By Regina R

Feb 16, 2020

AMAZING

By rishika a

Apr 28, 2020

good

By Jhon M D

Aug 05, 2019

I WOULD LIKE TO DEEP A LITTLE MORE, AND POSSIBLY IF I WOULD HAVE ACHIEVED WITH MORE EXAMPLES

By Dominique H

May 17, 2020

This course was rough. The last two weeks were so conceptual, and so full of tangents from the professor, that you almost had to guess your way through the quizzes. Definitely some valuable information but don't expect to actually learn exclusively through the platform at all.

By SIPRA P

Apr 28, 2020

I really wanted to seek solutions of the questions being asked in the assignment test to know where had I made the mistake.

By Daniel C

Jan 04, 2020

More problems with solutions would be good.