Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Aerial Robotics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Robotics: Aerial Robotics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
2,628 ratings
674 reviews

About the Course

How can we create agile micro aerial vehicles that are able to operate autonomously in cluttered indoor and outdoor environments? You will gain an introduction to the mechanics of flight and the design of quadrotor flying robots and will be able to develop dynamic models, derive controllers, and synthesize planners for operating in three dimensional environments. You will be exposed to the challenges of using noisy sensors for localization and maneuvering in complex, three-dimensional environments. Finally, you will gain insights through seeing real world examples of the possible applications and challenges for the rapidly-growing drone industry. Mathematical prerequisites: Students taking this course are expected to have some familiarity with linear algebra, single variable calculus, and differential equations. Programming prerequisites: Some experience programming with MATLAB or Octave is recommended (we will use MATLAB in this course.) MATLAB will require the use of a 64-bit computer....

Top reviews

IT
Oct 22, 2017

The course is very good.\n\nThe classes are well taught and show general concepts. It is necessary to do research on the internet, to solve the assignments. This is not a bad thing in my point of view

ST
Jun 8, 2018

I think this is very good course of aerial robotics research. Being a student of robotics, I feel that some of stuffs in this course needs a good background in control and mechanical engineering.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 653 Reviews for Robotics: Aerial Robotics

By Andrey S

Feb 20, 2016

A good lecture material. All is presented step by step and clearly. I would like more exercise on the calculation of the rotation matrix on the transformation and displacement of objects. Thanks Professor Vijay Kumar and support team.

By Fabrizio S

Feb 12, 2016

Very technical course with a mixture of theory and programming. It covers most of the topics related to drone control algorithms and trajectory planning. I would have liked additional topics about PID, quaternions and Kalman filters.

By Fausto S T B

Oct 1, 2017

A good and comprehensive course. However, it could have included some more content in regards to PID tunning which would have helped a lot for the assignments. The coding assingments were great otherwise and very helpfull.

By ASHISH B M

Feb 17, 2016

The course contains a lot of good tools and techniques needed for a robotics enthusiast, but the material is not very well explained. A lot of background knowledge and self-research is expected to keep up with the course.

By Gao Y

Jul 28, 2019

The assignments are very challenging. More explanations and more easier assignments will be very helpful for students to learn this course, and will make current assignments less challenging but better understood.

By Rafael C

Feb 13, 2016

Very interesting course. Pleasant and well explained. The mathematics related are complicated to follow sometimes but it can be done. The assignments also can be completed following the lectures and the handouts.

By Marco K

May 28, 2018

Matlab license expired during the course, this should not happen and it was very annoying. This is why I subtract one star. Beside this, the course did a good job in balancing breadth and depth of the topics.

By Han B L

Sep 27, 2016

Took me more than initial 4 weeks to finish the course. The classmates discussion forum is really helpful. The moderators however are very silent. Not giving enough feedbacks and help most of the time.

By Michael B

Feb 19, 2016

I liked the course and the assignments. I felt that the assignments covered materials which weren't part of the course or not explained well enough. I managed to get through them, but it felt lacking.

By Andrew D

Aug 24, 2016

Great class with lots of wonderful information!

I just wish the homeworks were less of a tedious exercise of controller tuning and more about implementing theory. Other than that, great course!

By Nick D

Sep 18, 2016

Good contents! However, the lectures are long and a bit rushed. This course is definitely not for everyone! Assignment for week 3 definitely need an extra lecture to explain to do PID tuning.

By Laukik M

Jan 7, 2019

A great course for anyone starting out to study robotics. Modelling, transformation, control, etc. are nicely introduced without resorting to mathematical rigour, as it should be in an MOOC.

By Lijing S

Dec 26, 2017

The final coding assignment is hard and time consuming. Need more experience and knowledge before taking this course. However, I got through and learned quite a lot from this course.

By mohit b

Apr 17, 2020

3 D control equations should could be explained better. The video order of the supplementary material for 3 D control should be before discussing the the 3 D control equations.

By Praveen V

Jul 28, 2020

The course is built quite well. However, the math is gone over a bit fast. Maybe it would have been better if a person taking the course has a decent understanding of controls.

By Murat O

Jan 28, 2016

Course material is very dense and requires some background in maths/physics to understand it well. Could be better if it is extended to 5 - 6 weeks having more assignments.

By Ravi B

Jun 1, 2018

A student having knowledge Non- linear control systems and Multi-variable control systems world do far better in this course. Quizzes can be more related to the subject

By Guillermo C

Mar 10, 2017

Very well prepared, clear lectures and doable assignments which are the same time challenging.

The only minus is that it is too hard, if possible, to contact the TAs.

By 张博

Mar 16, 2016

This is a very nice class about the aerial robotics. If the more background materials about the quadrotor are provied in the class content, the class will be better.

By Piotr G

Feb 12, 2016

Very interesting course. Lectures were very informative however

some test questions, especially in first quiz, where not covered directly

in course materials.

By Shehjar K

Mar 18, 2016

A good overview on various fields of Robotics, especially control. Quizzes seemed a little ambiguous but lectures and assignments were very informative!

By Justin C

Feb 15, 2016

TAs should have been more available/active in discussions (especially given the scale of the last assignment), otherwise enjoyable/challenging course

By Cristian A C

Mar 3, 2016

Overall the information provided in the class was very valuable and up to date in describing the kinematics and dynamical control for a Quadrotor.

By balaji R

Aug 10, 2019

Excellent course.. would have been more better if we had more Assignments (hands on) for Non-Linear control, Control of Multiple Robots (swarms)

By Francesc P G

Sep 20, 2016

Very interesting! I really recommend. I don't agree with people who says it's only PD tunning. It entails comprehensions of physics and control.